Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict

Category

Best Retail Franchises (2026)

278 brands analyzed. Average investment: $258K. Average revenue: $920K.

How to evaluate retail franchises

  • Weigh investment against disclosed revenue — high revenue can require high capital.
  • Read the SBA charge-off rate as one risk signal, not the whole picture.
  • Verify figures against each brand's FDD (Item 7 costs, Item 19 revenue) — gross sales are not profit.
  • Shortlist a few, then talk to current and former owners before you commit.
Brands
278
Avg investment
$258K - $553K
Avg revenue
$920K
Median $803K · 54 of 278 disclose Item 19 · 3 rest on fewer than 3 outlets · 8 excluded as company-owned only
Avg SBA charge-off rate
21.6%
mean of 130 brands with adequate SBA coverage
Avg franchise fee
$35K
Avg 3-yr growth
236.0%
System CAGR · median 270.0% · 15 brands
Avg fee load
9.0%
Royalty + ad fund
Avg turnover
8.1%
Franchisee churn
A-rated
30

Investment vs. franchise fee

$800K$1.6M$2.4MTotal Investment (midpoint)$20K$40K$60K$80KFranchise FeeWinzer: $11K investment, $4K feeJDog Junk Removal & Hauling: $109K investment, $10K feeFamily Fare: $602K investment, $10K feeThe Flower Garage: $55K investment, $25K feeACFN: $48K investment, $25K feePearce Bespoke: $86K investment, $29K feeFlower Tent: $65K investment, $30K feeZAGG: $79K investment, $15K feePod Plug: $79K investment, $35K feeDECORATING DEN INTERIORS: $63K investment, $40K feeLittle Medical School: $69K investment, $50K feeEyemazy Kiosk: $117K investment, $11K feeBoxDrop: $91K investment, $15K feeEyemazy: $150K investment, $11K feeCartridge World: $91K investment, $50K feeFauxReal Flowers: $107K investment, $35K feeAmerican Rounds: $110K investment, $30K feePELICAN’S SNOBALLS: $156K investment, $25K feeCBD American Shaman: $136K investment, $10K feeFruitfull Snacks: $154K investment, $25K feeTHE JUNKLUGGERS: $228K investment, $50K feePoolwerx: $124K investment, $50K feeSlime Kitchen: $138K investment, $35K feePower Locker: $110K investment, $35K feeSimple Plan Foods: $128K investment, $40K feeTown Pride: $159K investment, $30K feeSea Love: $201K investment, $50K feePro Image Sports: $358K investment, $30K feeThe K9 Shop: $139K investment, $45K feeThe Great Frame Up: $162K investment, $30K feeDASH IN: $400K investment, $25K feePurchase Green: $354K investment, $25K feeMiracle-ear: $261K investment, $30K feeStreet Corner Express: $362K investment, $30K feeFOOT SOLUTIONS: $160K investment, $40K feePayMore: $194K investment, $35K feeWateria: $169K investment, $30K feeDoc Popcorn: $244K investment, $15K feeFASTFRAME: $191K investment, $35K feeCasalinea: $363K investment, $30K feeAPRICOT LANE BOUTIQUE: $246K investment, $40K feeCountry Visions: $246K investment, $40K feeThe Closet Trading Co.: $264K investment, $60K feeAuntie Anne's: $497K investment, $36K feeCOOKIES BY DESIGN: $253K investment, $30K feeDaaBIN Store: $219K investment, $35K feeBobbles & Lace: $232K investment, $25K feeFM2050: $223K investment, $40K feeCrown Trophy: $184K investment, $35K feeHalloween Express: $219K investment, $10K feeJust A Buck: $237K investment, $25K feeInterstate All Battery Center: $309K investment, $38K feeAwakenings: $245K investment, $30K feeFlip Flop Shops: $266K investment, $30K feeSeason 2: $232K investment, $50K feeRELAX THE BACK: $307K investment, $30K feeGame Kastle: $307K investment, $48K fee212 Contender eSports Gaming Center: $301K investment, $39K fee101 MOBILITY: $239K investment, $74K feeSnooze Mattress Co.: $340K investment, $50K feeRaceway: $391K investment, $25K feeMainstream Boutique: $280K investment, $40K feeLearning Express: $295K investment, $40K feeSoccer Post: $327K investment, $30K feeEdible Arrangements: $400K investment, $30K feeThe UPS Store: $414K investment, $40K feeWILD BIRDS UNLIMITED: $303K investment, $40K feeChildren’s Orchard: $281K investment, $25K feeBlank Mason: $414K investment, $28K feeAPLUS: $483K investment, $15K feeMobility City: $390K investment, $48K feeFiiZ Drinks: $512K investment, $40K feeLovely Bride: $425K investment, $25K feeMiniso: $370K investment, $30K fee1-800-Flowers: $596K investment, $30K fee1-800-Flowers|Conroy’s: $596K investment, $30K fee1-800-Flowers.com: $596K investment, $30K feeProject LeanNation: $328K investment, $60K feeThe Good Feet Store: $452K investment, $25K feeSuperior Play Systems: $292K investment, $40K feeConDecor Superstore: $326K investment, $60K feeMagnolia Soap and Bath Co.: $385K investment, $60K feeRobotLAB: $411K investment, $55K feeBen & Jerry’s: $456K investment, $40K feeCork and Candles: $331K investment, $50K feeBatteries Plus: $411K investment, $45K feeStreet Corner: $495K investment, $30K feeThe Sweat Shack: $426K investment, $45K feeMONKEE’S: $416K investment, $60K feeDisc Replay: $520K investment, $13K feeVerlo Mattress: $525K investment, $50K feeMy Eyelab: $451K investment, $35K feeBricks & Minifigs: $451K investment, $40K feeBricks And Minifigs: $451K investment, $40K feeAaron's: $573K investment, $35K feeClothes Mentor: $370K investment, $25K feeMobility Plus: $391K investment, $60K feeScout & Molly’s: $354K investment, $60K feeHobbyTown: $393K investment, $50K feeMusic Go Round: $390K investment, $25K feePlay It Again Sports: $403K investment, $25K feePlato’s Closet®: $412K investment, $25K feeOnce Upon A Child: $421K investment, $25K feeBUDDY’S HOME FURNISHINGS: $587K investment, $40K feeBuff City Soap: $837K investment, $50K feeMetal Supermarkets: $534K investment, $45K feeBoConcept: $649K investment, $30K feeWireless Zone: $885K investment, $25K feeFRENCHIES: $511K investment, $50K feeThe Vitamin Shoppe: $734K investment, $40K feeGamers Heaven: $715K investment, $45K feeAMERICAN FREIGHT: $720K investment, $50K feeShipley Do-Nuts: $764K investment, $40K feeGenerator Supercenter: $702K investment, $50K feeBahama Buck’s: $865K investment, $35K feeTRUE SOCIETY: $674K investment, $30K feeWoodcraft: $665K investment, $50K feeBody Energy Club: $792K investment, $50K feeZEISS VISION CENTER: $851K investment, $25K feeAce Hardware: $1.3M investment, $5K feeJeni’s Splendid Ice Creams: $826K investment, $40K feeDo it Best: $1.2M investment, $9K feeCircle K: $2.1M investment, $25K feeMidwest Shooting Center: $2.7M investment, $40K fee
ABCDF

Top Retail franchises

View Auntie Anne's details
Auntie Anne's logoAStrongest tier

Auntie Anne's

976 contacts
Investment
$158K – $836K
Item 19 (Reported)
$792K
Outlet subset
Units
1,247+7%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
4.7%(n=78)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View Woodcraft details
Woodcraft logoAStrongest tier

Woodcraft

Investment
$574K – $756K
Item 19 (Reported)
$1.8M
Units
65
SBA 7(a) charge-off
0.0%(n=29)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View Plato’s Closet® details
Plato’s Closet® logoAStrongest tier

Plato’s Closet®

535 contacts
Investment
$356K – $468K
Item 19 (Reported)
$1.3M
Units
526+4%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
2.1%(n=229)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View Once Upon A Child details
Once Upon A Child logoAStrongest tier

Once Upon A Child

453 contacts
Investment
$356K – $486K
Item 19 (Reported)
$1.3M
Units
441+6%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
3.6%(n=228)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View Metal Supermarkets details
Metal Supermarkets logoAStrongest tier

Metal Supermarkets

97 contacts
Investment
$398K – $671K
Item 19 (Reported)
$2.2M
Units
99+18%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
14.3%(n=70)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View Wild Birds Unlimited details
WILD BIRDS UNLIMITED logoAStrongest tier

Wild Birds Unlimited

362 contacts
Investment
$227K – $379K
Item 19 (Reported)
$858K
Units
341+3%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
4.0%(n=161)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View Monkee’s details
MONKEE’S logoAStrongest tier

Monkee’s

14 contacts
Investment
$297K – $535K
Item 19 (Reported)
$1.1M
Outlet subset
Units
57+58%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View Poolwerx details
Poolwerx logoAStrongest tier

Poolwerx

46 contacts
Investment
$105K – $143K
Item 19 (Reported)
$1.2M
Per franchisee
Units
95+53%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Limited · 19 loans
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View Play It Again Sports details
Play It Again Sports logoAStrongest tier

Play It Again Sports

321 contacts
Investment
$346K – $460K
Item 19 (Reported)
$1.2M
Units
309+5%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
6.0%(n=114)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View The UPS Store details
The UPS Store logoAStrongest tier

The UPS Store

5555 contacts
Investment
$222K – $606K
Item 19 (Reported)
$724K
Units
5,503+5%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
9.9%(n=3,051)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View 7-Eleven details
7-Eleven logoAStrongest tier

7-Eleven

1142 contacts
Investment
$142K – $1.6M
Item 19 (Reported)
Partial, no average
Units
8,254+0%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Limited · 16 loans
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View The Vitamin Shoppe details
The Vitamin Shoppe logoAStrongest tier

The Vitamin Shoppe

26 contacts
Investment
$484K – $985K
Item 19 (Reported)
$1.5M
Company-owned only
Units
671
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Not SBA-matched
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '24
View Zagg details
ZAGG logoAStrongest tier

Zagg

84 contacts
Investment
$49K – $109K
Item 19 (Reported)
Partial, no average
Units
98+0%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View Shipley Do-Nuts details
Shipley Do-Nuts logoAStrongest tier

Shipley Do-Nuts

394 contacts
Investment
$503K – $1.0M
Item 19 (Reported)
$928K
Units
366+9%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Limited · 27 loans
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View Raceway details
Raceway logoAStrongest tier

Raceway

17 contacts
Investment
$198K – $585K
Item 19 (Reported)
Not disclosed
Units
236+16%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View Miniso details
Miniso logoAStrongest tier

Miniso

9 contacts
Investment
$256K – $485K
Item 19 (Reported)
Not disclosed
Units
275+19%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Not SBA-matched
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View Magnolia Soap and Bath Co. details
Magnolia Soap and Bath Co. logoAStrongest tier

Magnolia Soap and Bath Co.

1 contacts
Investment
$272K – $499K
Item 19 (Reported)
$356K
Units
50+150%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
0.0%(n=24)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View Family Fare details
Family Fare logoAStrongest tier

Family Fare

106 contacts
Investment
$30K – $1.2M
Item 19 (Reported)
Partial, no average
Units
104+2%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
Not SBA-matched
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '25
View Soccer Post details
Soccer Post logoAStrongest tier

Soccer Post

25 contacts
Investment
$202K – $452K
Item 19 (Reported)
$656K
Units
72+13%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
~10.0%(n=10)
Retail
Report data issue
FDD '26
View My Eyelab details
My Eyelab logoAStrongest tier

My Eyelab

11 contacts
Investment
$300K – $601K
Item 19 (Reported)
$1.1M
Units
142+155%
SBA 7(a) charge-off
14.3%(n=31)
Retail
Report data issue
4+ yrsFDD '22

All 128 retail franchises, A-Z

Every brand in this category with an FDD on file, with its verdict grade and Item 7 investment range. Brands without a filing (SBA lending data only) are on the browse page.

0-9

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

L

M

O

P

R

S

T

V

W

Z

Browse all 278 retail franchises

Filter and sort by investment range, revenue, SBA risk, and more.

Browse all 278 retail franchises →

Get franchisee phone numbers for any brand

Talk to real franchise owners before you invest. Verified contact lists starting at $49 per brand.

View pricing →