Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Street Corner Express logo

Street Corner Express Franchise Cost & 2026 FDD Data

RetailDelawareFranchising since 1995

39/100

Middle tier

39 this brand54 Retail medianlikely 24–54: narrower with more SBA loans (low confidence)

Higher is better · an editorial assessment, not investment advice

#2,548 of 3,068 graded brands

Why a C: Helped by financial health. Held back by unit growth, scale, legal record and transparency. See all six factors

Total investment
$128K – $596K
excl. real estate
Avg gross sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched
2026 FDD4 of 4 figures cite a filing pageOwner must run itProtected territory

Data from the FDD filing. Analysis by FranchiseVerdict · Methodology · Website · Report an error · Franchisor? Claim this listing

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026 FDD

Per the 2026 FDD, a Street Corner Express franchise requires a total initial investment of $128K – $596K, excluding real estate, including a $30K franchise fee. Once open, the ongoing royalty is 5.0%. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Verdict grade: C (Middle tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice.

Sources: 2026 FDD · What one unit could make and lose →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low (issued within the last 12 months)

Evidence for the headline figures: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✗ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Bottom line

  • RETURNSThe FDD makes no financial performance representation in Item 19, so it discloses no revenue or earnings figures; Item 19 is voluntary, and the Financial performance section explains what that does and does not mean.
  • GROWTHIn the latest Item 20 year, the number of franchised outlets fell by 4 (0 opened, 4 closed).
  • FLAGItem 4 discloses a bankruptcy of an officer or of a company an officer ran, not of the franchisor. Review Item 4 for details.

AT STAKEOne unit at the Item 7 midpoint: $47K a year in payments on assumed SBA 7(a)-style terms.You put in about $72K of your own cash and personally guarantee a $290K loan. Assumptions are labeled in Sales; not investment advice.See what one unit could make and lose

Things to check before you sign (3)

  • The franchisor keeps the right to compete inside your territory (Item 12, territory).
  • The franchisor receives rebates or payments from suppliers you buy from (Item 8, required suppliers).
  • An owner must run the business personally (Item 15, owner participation). Ask whether a trained manager can ever stand in.

Checked and clear: no auditor doubt that the franchisor can keep operating, no pending lawsuit naming the franchisor and the full filing on file. Not on file here, so ask: unit trend, SBA charge-off rate against the category median and jury-trial waiver.

What to do next

  1. Step 1: Read the FDD itself.

    Free: the franchisor must give it to you at least 14 days before you sign or pay. Or look it up in a state registry (Wisconsin, Minnesota, California). What to read first.

  2. Step 2: Talk to current and former owners.

    Free: Item 20 of the FDD lists every current owner and those who left last year, most with a phone number. Questions to ask.

  3. Step 3: Talk to an SBA lender.

    Free: the SBA's Lender Match. Ask what you would personally guarantee and what the monthly payment would be. If you plan to use retirement savings, ask a CPA about the rules for that first.

  4. Step 4: Have a franchise attorney review the FDD and agreement.

    Free: your state bar's lawyer referral service can name franchise lawyers, and many offer a short first consultation. Bring the checks listed above.

Research steps, not investment or legal advice.

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost (the Item 7 midpoint) is 17% above the Retail median ($309K).

Total investment$128K – $596K
2026 FDD p.21, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 21, Item 7… services and/or goods necessary for the operation of your Store. TOTAL $128,199 - $595,699 (Franchise Agreement - Express) B. …Quoted from the franchisor's filing; the figure on this page is rounded. Table text, cells in reading order; column headings may sit outside the quoted lines.
Excludes real estate (p.25)
Franchise fee$30,000
Verified · 2026 FDD p.12, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 12, Item 5Agreement you will pay to us a non-refundable (except in the limited circumstances described below) initial franchise fee in the amount of $30,000 (the “Initial Franchise Fee”). …Quoted from the franchisor's filing.
Royalty5.0%
2026 FDD p.13, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 13, Item 6… specific to your Store. ITEM 6 OTHER FEES Type of Fee (Note 1) Amount Due Date Remarks Royalty (Notes 2 and 3) 5% of Gross Sales Due …Quoted from the franchisor's filing. Table text, cells in reading order; column headings may sit outside the quoted lines.
Ad fund1.0%
2026 FDD p.13, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 13, Item 6Brand Development Fund (Note 4) 1%Quoted from the franchisor's filing.
Working capital$20K – $50K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7 (fees and startup costs)

Do you qualify? The filing states no minimum net worth or liquid capital. Ask McColla Enterprises, LTD. (Item 1: 3 Germay Drive, Unit 4 #2561, Wilmington, Delaware 19804) and your lender what they require, and keep living costs for the first year outside the deal.

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$30K$30K
Construction and Leasehold Improvements$25K$163K
Design Fee$10K$30K
Food Service Fee$0$10K
Prepaid Marketing$899$899
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment$4K$170.9K
Signs Type of$3K$9K
Computer, Software and Point of Sales System$2.5K$20K
Initial Inventory$10K$60K
Prepaid Rent and Lease Deposits$10K$23K
Utility Deposits$500$1.2K
Insurance Deposits$800$1.2K
Travel for Initial Training$3K$5K
Grand Opening Marketing Expense$4K$4K
Professional Fees$3K$7.5K
Business Licenses and Permits$750$5K
Printing, Stationary and Office Supplies Type of$750$5K
Additional Funds – Initial Period of Three Months$20K$50K
Total initial investment$128K$596K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. The total row is the total as printed in Item 7. Actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 6 · what you pay once you are open

Ongoing fees

Street Corner Express: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology feeTechnology Fee up to $800/month depending on programs/applications/subscriptions used, debited monthly on the 5th$800/month
Transfer fee$7,500
Renewal fee$5,000
Total fee loadbelow the Retail median of 7.0% (lean)6.0% of sales

What do units actually make?

This FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation - a voluntary item - so unit sales aren't disclosed.

Avg gross salesNot disclosed
Median gross salesNot disclosed
Item 19 typeNot disclosed
Sample sizeNot disclosed

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19 (sales and earnings)

Items 6 (other fees), 7 (startup costs) and 19 (sales and earnings) · assumptions labeled

What you could make and lose: one unit

What one Street Corner Express unit would ask of you, from the filing's Item 7 total and labeled assumptions.

How these figures are worked out
  • Loan (assumption): 80% of the $362K Item 7 midpoint is a $290K loan, paid over 10 years at 10.5%: $47K a year. SBA 7(a)-style terms on a long-term rate; your lender sets yours.

What you put at risk

Your own cash in: about $72K Assumption (the part the loan does not cover of the $362K Item 7 midpoint), plus whatever anything Item 7 leaves out (its notes say what). The loan is $290K.

Personal guarantee. SBA 7(a) loans require a personal guarantee from anyone who owns 20% or more of the business. If the unit cannot pay, the lender can collect from you personally, which can include your savings and your home. The worst case is losing the cash you put in and still owing the rest of the loan.

Gross sales are not profit, and none of these figures is take-home pay until tax and every operating cost are paid. The assumptions are ours, not the filing's. Not investment advice.

Returns modelOne unit · several units · editable

Street Corner Express makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. The return models need one gross sales figure to start from, plus the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions; nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · one unit

What would one Street Corner Express unit leave you each year after the loan payment?

FDDFrom the filingNot set: this brand's filing does not supply it and we will not substitute one. Enter your ownYou overrode an FDD valueAssumed: our stated assumption, edit it
Gross sales · per unit, per year

Not disclosed in Item 19. Enter your own gross sales assumption

Gross sales, not profit: the costs below decide what is left.

Franchisor take · royalty + ad fund
Operating costs · you supply them

No Item 19 figures are on file for this brand. Enter your own costs from a lease quote, a payroll plan and calls with current owners.

Illustrative category typicals, not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to open

Item 7 midpoint of $128K to $596K

Item 7's $20K to $50K additional funds are already in the total

Financing · assumed SBA 7(a)-style loan

Left after the loan payment · per year

The unit's EBITDA minus the assumed loan payment. Before tax, depreciation and any cost your inputs leave out (insurance, accounting and legal, licenses, technology fees): not take-home pay.

Gross sales are not profit. Neither the filing nor a stated assumption on this page supplies annual revenue, direct costs, labor, rent / occupancy and other operating costs. Enter your own (a lease quote, owner calls) and the model runs on it.


Store EBITDA · annual
Needs the inputs above
EBITDA margin
Needs the inputs above
Total invested
$362K
Your cash in
$72K
Loan payment · assumed
$47K/yr
Return on invested capital
Needs the inputs above
Payback
Needs the inputs above

Loan of $290K at 10.5% over 10 years, an assumption, not a quote. Return and payback are before tax, depreciation and the costs above. The loan usually needs your personal guarantee.

One unit only. An owner of several units also pays for shared services (managers, accounting, a head office), which the multi-unit model adds on top of these figures.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD · filed by McColla Enterprises, LTD.

Financial performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

System figures: see Street Corner

System figures: see Street Corner

Government records

SBA loan data

Matched to this brand from SBA 7(a) and 504 FOIA loan records.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What are the risks?

Main risk in the grade: unit growth, then scale, legal and transparency. The reasons are below.

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before your own operating costs.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial trainingNot extracted

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12 (territory), 15 (owner participation) and 17 (renewal, termination and disputes)

Contract and territory detail

Allowed renewals2
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Territory radius2 mi
Franchisor can competeYes
Who runs it (Item 15)Owner must run it
Non-compete (years)1.25 years
Non-compete (miles)15 mi
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaricopa County, Phoenix, Arizona (or nearest suitable location to franchisor headquarters)
Governing lawKansas

Items 10 (financing), 11 (training and support)

Training and operations

On-the-job training
16 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Aures
Operating tech stack

Items 5 (initial fees) & 11 (training and support)

Franchisor support

Yes: Site selection assistance
Yes: Grand opening support
No: Lease negotiation help

Franchisee contacts

We hold no owner list for this brand. Item 20 of the FDD lists the current and former owners; the free FDD is the source.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to open a Street Corner Express franchise?

Per the 2026 FDD, the total investment to open a Street Corner Express franchise ranges from $128K to $596K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This is the Item 7 total in the Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD): the startup costs the franchisor lists, such as build-out, equipment, inventory and working capital. The filing says these totals do not include real estate.

What do Street Corner Express franchise owners earn?

Street Corner Express makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Street Corner Express?

Street Corner Express is franchised by McColla Enterprises, LTD. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Street Corner Express FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. The Street Corner Express FDD does not make an Item 19 financial performance representation, so this page shows no earnings figure.

What is Street Corner Express' franchise failure rate?

There is no published franchise failure rate, and Street Corner Express has too few resolved SBA 7(a) loans on file (fewer than 10) to show an SBA charge-off rate that would mean anything. The SBA charge-off rate is the share of a brand's resolved SBA 7(a) loans to its franchisees that the SBA wrote off, including purchased guarantees. Resolved means paid in full or charged off; active loans are excluded because their outcome is not yet known. It is a lending outcome, not a count of closed businesses. Review the turnover and closure figures in Item 20 of the FDD and speak with current and former franchisees.

Is Street Corner Express a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict gives Street Corner Express a C Verdict grade (Middle tier) with a verdict score of 39 out of 100 (higher is better), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Helped by financial health. Held back by unit growth (turnover 16.7%), scale (franchising since 1995), legal record (2 matters naming the franchisor among the Item 3 matters we list) and transparency (Item 19 declines to disclose financial performance). The “Why a C” section on this page lists all six dimensions and any adjustment. Speak with current franchisees before making any investment decision.

Other Retail franchises

Similar investment first, then by grade

This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.