Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Buff City Soap logo

Buff City Soap Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailTXFranchising since 2018
BAbove averageAbove average59/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$395K – $1.3M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 23 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00412FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Buff City Soap is a retail franchise selling handmade, plant-based soaps and bath and body products made fresh in-store. Franchisees run soap makeries producing and selling products on the retail floor, plus online.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Buff City Soap franchise requires a total initial investment of $395K – $1.3M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$395K – $1.3M
39th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
20th pct Retail
Units
260
36th pct Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$395K – $1.3M
Median $336K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$63K – $96K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 23 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 23 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
260 units
Median 61 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
5.8%
Median 3.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $395K – $1.3M including a $50K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 59/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -11 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 15 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 55.0% CAGR over 3 years with 260 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Buff City Soap Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Buff City Soap Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Buff City Soap InvestCo, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Dorvin Lively
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
5294 Beltline Road, Suite 100, Dallas, Texas 75254
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$12.9M
vs $9.8M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • owned Makeries

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Dorvin Lively
Headquarters
TX
Founded
2018
FDD year
2025
States available
35

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 149% above the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$395K – $1.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$63K – $96K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown22 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$50K$50K
Construction and Leasehold Improvements$43K$310K
Rental Expenses$40K$200K
Interior and Exterior Signs$18K$30K
Furniture and Fixtures$63K$150K
Equipment$7K$50K
Smallwares$2K$4K
Architects and Engineering$6K$20K
Other Professional Fees (Accountant/Lawyers/Business Advisors)$1K$20K
Opening Inventory$20K$120K
Opening Supplies$9K$15K
Computers, Software, Telecommunication, Networking, Security$6K$20K
Training and Pre-Opening Expenses$21K$34K
Pre-Opening Labor$19K$26K
Insurance$8K$9K
Deposits and Permits$2K$25K
Market Introduction Budget$15K$40K
Utility Deposits$0$5K
Security System$1K$5K
Lease Deposit$2K$25K
Total initial investment$395K$1.3M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$395K – $1.3M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$63K – $96K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Buff City Soap: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of net sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of net sales
Technology fee$500
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$13K
Renewal fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$20K – $120K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Buff City Soap makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Buff City Soap unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $395K–$1.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $63K–$96K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$916K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 153 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Retail median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 55.0% CAGR over 3 years across 260 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail medians

How Buff City Soap Compares

Metric
Buff City Soap
Category median
vs median
Investment
$837K
$336Kmiddle half $198K–$495K · n=128
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$803Kmiddle half $529K–$1.1M · n=54
N/A
Unit Count
260
61middle half 14–208 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units260Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 64 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+55.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate5.8% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
260
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
15
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.8%
Company-owned
9
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+55.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+55.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
0
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
6.8%
Units that stopped operating
2022
252
Franchised units
2023
262+10
Franchised units
2024
251-11
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 33 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 33 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

252 current owners across 33 states; 5 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • TN 32
  • TX 28
  • FL 24
  • KY 17
  • GA 15
  • NC 12
  • IA 10
  • AL 9
  • NY 9
  • OH 9
  • AR 8
  • IN 8
  • +21 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
23
Loan volume
$8.5M
Median loan
$350K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 23 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 23 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 23 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 23 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
12
Defaults
2
Typical loan rate
6.5%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
28.6%
NAICS 325611
Jobs supported
406
4.8 per loan
Lender concentration
26%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 87% went to startups / new businesses, 13% to established operators

Top lenders financing Buff City Soap franchisees

Live Oak Banking Company6 loans—
Bank OZK3 loans—
Southwest Heritage Bank2 loans100.0%

Showing 3 of 12 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Buff City Soap from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
6.1%
Avg SBA guarantee
80%
Avg interest rate
6.47%
Avg chargeoff amount
$261K
Lender concentration
26.1%
Job velocity
4.8 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
28.6%
NAICS 325611
Jobs supported
406

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 26% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Live Oak Banking Company6$2.1MN/A
2Bank OZK3$1.2MN/A
3Southwest Heritage Bank2$650K100.0%
4Pinnacle Bank2$627KN/A
5Stearns Bank National Association2$431K0.0%
6Old National Bank2$508K0.0%
7U.S. Bank, National Association1$199K0.0%
8Wells Fargo Bank National Association1$300KN/A
9Sonata Bank1$100KN/A
10Readycap Lending, LLC1$350KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
NYNew York60--
TXTexas40--
TNTennessee300.0%
AZArizona22100.0%
FLFlorida200.0%
MSMississippi200.0%
COColorado100.0%
DEDelaware10--
GAGeorgia100.0%
MNMinnesota10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2019
4
2020
5
2021
11
2022
1
2023
1
2024
1

Borrower profile

Startup11 (48%)
New (< 2 yr)9 (39%)
Existing (2+ yr)2 (9%)
Unanswered1 (4%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 23 loans
Verdict score59/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average59Verdict score 59/100

Buff City Soap presents moderate-to-cautionary risk due to opaque unit economics, minimal growth trajectory, and absence of performance disclosure (Item 19), making ROI validation impossible without direct franchisee verification.

High confidence±4 pts
5563

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $12.9MYr 2: $9.8MNon-royalty: $2.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenues comprise franchise and other revenue ($10,036K) and brand fund revenue ($2,887K) for fiscal 2023; amounts reported in thousands.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 59 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 (Average Unit Volume) disclosed — impossible to assess ROI or payback period
  2. 02MINORSlow unit growth of only 4.0% YoY suggests market saturation or franchisee struggles
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($395K–$1.28M) indicates inconsistent unit economics or unclear cost structure
  4. 04MEDHigh franchise fee ($50K) relative to disclosed financial transparency — high barrier without proven returns
  5. 05MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income creates information asymmetry favoring franchisor

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 153 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training66 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ4
Curable defaultsℹ12
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationDallas, Texas
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawTX
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
18 hrs
On-the-job training
48 hrs
Training location
Dallas, TX (corporate office and/or BCS Makery location)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee (with franchisor approval)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Revel POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Revel POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

257 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 257 contacts · $49
Free preview
(407) 251-••••FL
Unlock all 257 contacts
(606) 552-••••KY
(517) 708-••••MI
(901) 317-••••TN
(303) 627-••••CO

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Buff City Soap franchise?

The total investment to open a Buff City Soap franchise ranges from $395K – $1.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Buff City Soap franchise owners earn?

Buff City Soap makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Buff City Soap?

Buff City Soap is franchised by Buff City Soap Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Buff City Soap Holdings, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Buff City Soap InvestCo, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Buff City Soap FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Buff City Soap FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Buff City Soap's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Buff City Soap (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Buff City Soap franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Buff City Soap has 260 total units in the United States, including 251 franchised units and 9 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Buff City Soap a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Buff City Soap as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 59 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Buff City Soap, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.