Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
CBD American Shaman logo

CBD American Shaman Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailMOFranchising since 2018
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$88K – $184K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00480Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

CBD American Shaman is a retail franchise selling hemp-derived CBD wellness products, tinctures, edibles, and topicals. Franchisees run storefronts managing inventory, customer education, and compliance with CBD regulations.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A CBD American Shaman franchise requires a total initial investment of $88K – $184K, including a $10K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$88K – $184K
7th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Set by a formula
Units
212
35th pct Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$88K – $184K
Median $336K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $10K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$16K – $32K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.0%
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
212 units
Median 61 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
20.8%
Median 3.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $88K – $184K including a $10K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -38 franchised outlets in the latest year (6 opened, 44 closed); 3 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -29.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
American Shaman Franchise System, LLC
Parent company
SVS Enterprises, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
President
Stephen Vincent Sanders
Incorporated in
NV
HQ
1501 Iron Street, North Kansas City, Missouri 64116
Auditor
Marr and Company, P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$3.5M
vs $2.8M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Stephen Vincent Sanders
Headquarters
MO
Founded
2017
FDD year
2024
States available
23

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 59% below the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$88K – $184KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltySet by a formula
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$16K – $32K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$10K$10K
Franchise Agreement Reserve Deposit$5K$5K
Real Property Lease Security Deposit and One Month's Rent$2K$10K
Franchise Location Build Out and Leasehold Improvements$25K$75K
Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment$4K$10K
Signage$4K$10K
Opening Inventory$20K$25K
Training Period Payroll and Travel and Living Expenses$2K$4K
Governmental Permits and Licenses$500$2K
Utility Deposits$100$300
Insurance Premiums (three months)$600$2K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$16K$32K
Total initial investment$88K$184K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$88K – $184K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$16K – $32K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Currently $0; franchisor may impose up to 6% of Gross Rev…
Ad fund
$800 per month flat fee (National Marketing Fund); may in…
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

CBD American Shaman: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$200
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$2K
Inventory (initial)$20K – $25K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

CBD American Shaman makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one CBD American Shaman unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $88K–$184K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $16K–$32K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$160K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Retail median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -29.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail medians

How CBD American Shaman Compares

Metric
CBD American Shaman
Category median
vs median
Investment
$136K
$336Kmiddle half $198K–$495K · n=128
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$803Kmiddle half $529K–$1.1M · n=54
N/A
Unit Count
212
61middle half 14–208 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units212Verified — printed on page 54 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-29.9% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate20.8% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
212
Opened
6
Last reporting year
Closed
44
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
20.8%
Company-owned
43
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
80%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-29.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-29.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
9
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
3
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
14
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
3.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
21.1%
Units that stopped operating
2021
241
Franchised units
2022
207-34
Franchised units
2023
169-38
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 23 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

23

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

High-risk franchise with documented regulatory violations, shrinking unit base, unresolved franchisee litigation, and absence of financial transparency, signaling operational deterioration and potential franchisor instability.

Low confidence±18 pts
2258

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

1 pending AAA arbitration by former franchisee Vitality/Johancsik seeking $500K-$1M claiming FTC Rule violations, fraud, and various contract/statutory claims. 3 government actions: Wisconsin Consent Order (May 2021) for selling franchise after expired registration and failing to disclose officer bankruptcy; Washington State charges (June 2021) for same; California Consent Desist and Refrain Order (February 2022) for same. FDA Warning Letter to affiliate CBDAS (November 2022) for CBD-infused edible marketing.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Marr and Company, P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $3.5MYr 2: $2.8MTotal: $2.9MNon-royalty: $0.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21/Exhibit E states audited financial statements for FY2023, FY2022, FY2021 plus unaudited statements as of March 31, 2024 are attached, but the Exhibit E statement pages (E-3 to E-29) are scanned images and contain no extractable numeric data; no figures or CPA firm name are present in the document text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 18.4% year-over-year (212 units), indicating franchisee attrition and contraction
  2. 02MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income data (Item 19) prevents validation of ROI claims and profitability assessment
  3. 03MINORMultiple regulatory actions: FDA warning letter on CBD edibles, state consent orders in Wisconsin, Washington, and California for disclosure/registration failures
  4. 04MINORArbitration demand from former franchisees (Johancsik case) suggests operational or contractual disputes affecting unit viability
  5. 05MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk and cannibalization within franchise network
  6. 06MED6% royalty on undisclosed revenue with $88K–$184K upfront investment presents unclear payback timeline and profitability floor

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training58 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ15 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice60 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationKansas City, Missouri
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMO
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

1 pending AAA arbitration by former franchisee Vitality/Johancsik seeking $500K-$1M claiming FTC Rule violations, fraud, and various contract/statutory claims. 3 government actions: Wisconsin Consent Order (May 2021) for selling franchise after expired registration and failing to disclose officer bankruptcy; Washington State charges (June 2021) for same; California Consent Desist and Refrain Order (February 2022) for same. FDA Warning Letter to affiliate CBDAS (November 2022) for CBD-infused edible marketing.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
34 hrs
On-the-job training
24 hrs
Training location
Shaman Office (North Kansas City, Missouri) and designated training store in Overland Park, Kansas or Kansas City metropolitan area
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
10 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor reviews and must approve based on site selection criteria
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
CBD American Shaman POS System (proprietary)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: CBD American Shaman POS System (proprietary)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

169 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 169 contacts · $49
Free preview
817-601-••••
Unlock all 169 contacts
269-599-••••
515-967-••••
573-317-••••
913-490-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a CBD American Shaman franchise?

The total investment to open a CBD American Shaman franchise ranges from $88K – $184K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do CBD American Shaman franchise owners earn?

CBD American Shaman makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns CBD American Shaman?

CBD American Shaman is franchised by American Shaman Franchise System, LLC. Its parent company is SVS Enterprises, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the CBD American Shaman FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the CBD American Shaman FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is CBD American Shaman's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for CBD American Shaman (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many CBD American Shaman franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, CBD American Shaman has 212 total units in the United States, including 169 franchised units and 43 company-owned units. 6 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is CBD American Shaman a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates CBD American Shaman as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent CBD American Shaman, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.