Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Raceway logo

Raceway Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailGAFranchising since 2017
AStrongest tierStrongest tier76/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$198K – $585K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02086FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Raceway is a convenience-store and fuel franchise operating gas-station retail sites. Franchisees run extended-hour stores managing fuel, in-store merchandise, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Raceway franchise requires a total initial investment of $198K – $585K, including a $25K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$198K – $585K
23rd pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
236
36th pct Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$198K – $585K
Median $336K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $40K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 8.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
236 units
Median 61 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
1.3%
Median 3.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $198K – $585K including a $25K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 76/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +8 franchised outlets in the latest year (11 opened, 3 closed); 2 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 15.7% CAGR over 3 years with 236 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
RW Venture Holdings, Inc.
Ultimate parent
RaceTrac, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Natalie Morhous
Incorporated in
Georgia
HQ
200 Galleria Parkway, SE, Suite 900, Atlanta, Georgia 30339
Auditor
Grant Thornton LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$6.1M
vs $5.2M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Natalie Morhous
Headquarters
GA
Founded
2017
FDD year
2025
States available
11

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 17% above the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$198K – $585KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$20K – $40K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown11 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$25K$25K
Rentnot refundable$21K$120K
Security Deposit$25K$100K
Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$5K$40K
Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipmentnot refundable$30K$125K
Signagenot refundable$3K$5K
Opening Inventory and Suppliesnot refundable$50K$100K
Training Expensesnot refundable$2K$5K
Grand Opening Advertisingnot refundable$3K$5K
Miscellaneous Opening Costsnot refundable$15K$20K
Additional Funds - 3 monthsnot refundable$20K$40K
Total initial investment$198K$585K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$198K – $585K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$1,000 per month
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Raceway: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$1,000 per month
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$500
Transfer fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$50K – $100K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Raceway makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Raceway unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $198K–$585K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$421K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 127 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 15.7% CAGR over 3 years across 236 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 14% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail medians

How Raceway Compares

Metric
Raceway
Category median
vs median
Investment
$391K
$336Kmiddle half $198K–$495K · n=128
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$803Kmiddle half $529K–$1.1M · n=54
N/A
Unit Count
236
61middle half 14–208 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units236Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+15.7% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate1.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
236
Opened
11
Last reporting year
Closed
3
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.3%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
13.6%
Net growth (3-yr)
+15.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+15.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
0
Transferred
5
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
9
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
2.1%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
0.9%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
1.7%
Units that stopped operating
2022
213
Franchised units
2023
228+15
Franchised units
2024
236+8
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 10 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 10 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

16 current owners across 10 states.

  • VA 4
  • FL 2
  • GA 2
  • NJ 2
  • AL 1
  • AR 1
  • CA 1
  • LA 1
  • PA 1
  • TN 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 2 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$110K
Median loan
$55K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (2)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (2)
Verdict score76/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier76Verdict score 76/100

One minor concern: Item 19 not disclosed. Financially strong otherwise - net worth $14,638,000, net income $4,423,000 on $6,103,000 revenue, audited, no litigation or bankruptcy, 236 units all franchised with 15.7% growth.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
6389

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Grant Thornton LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $6.1MYr 2: $5.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

RaceTrac, Inc. received rent payments from franchisees of $21,142,628 in 2024; franchisor received $1,010,986 from vendors on account of franchisee purchases in 2024.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 76 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDItem 19 not disclosed
  2. 02MINORNo litigation, no bankruptcy, no going-concern
  3. 03MINORStrong net worth $14,638,000, net income $4,423,000

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 127 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training64 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ3 mi
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawGeorgia
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
40 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
RaceTrac, Inc. (affiliate) selects the site and leases it to franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Radiant POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Radiant POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

17 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 17 contacts · $49
Free preview
(770) 431-••••GA
Unlock all 17 contacts
(256) 417-••••AL
(434) 917-••••VA
(904) 556-••••FL
(318) 707-••••LA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Raceway franchise?

The total investment to open a Raceway franchise ranges from $198K – $585K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Raceway franchise owners earn?

Raceway makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Raceway?

Raceway is franchised by RW Venture Holdings, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is RaceTrac, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Raceway FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Raceway FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Raceway's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Raceway (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Raceway franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Raceway has 236 total units in the United States, including 236 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 11 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Raceway a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Raceway as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 76 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Raceway, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.