Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
7-Eleven logo

7-Eleven Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailTexasFranchising since 1964
AStrongest tierStrongest tier78/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$142K – $1.6M
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Limited · 16 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00036FDD 2025Data QualityStandard67%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

7-Eleven is the largest convenience-store franchise, selling fresh and hot food, proprietary drinks like the Slurpee, private-label goods, and fuel at many sites. Franchisees run extended-hour stores managing inventory, staffing, and daily retail operations.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A 7-Eleven franchise requires a total initial investment of $142K – $1.6M. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$142K – $1.6M
15th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Tiered by sales volume
Units
8,254
45th pct Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$142K – $1.6M
Median $336K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$0 – $690K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$66K – $198K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.0%
Ongoing Fees
1.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 16 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 16 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
8,254 units
Median 61 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
3.8%
Median 3.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
34 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $142K – $1.6M.
  • RETURNSItem 19 discloses only state-by-state historic averages/medians of total sales and gross profit in a separate Exhibit H not captured in this extracted text; no consolidated system-wide figures given in narrative.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 78/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -16 franchised outlets in the latest year (300 opened, 316 closed) (Item 20).
  • LEGAL34 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Of the 15 listed on this page, 15 name the franchisor itself. Pending claims are allegations, not findings.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
7-Eleven, Inc.
Parent company
SEJ Asset Management & Investment Company
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Seven & i Holdings Co., Ltd.
CEO title
Chairman of the Board (7-Eleven, Inc.); CEO/President of Seven & i Holdings
Stephen Dacus
Incorporated in
Texas
HQ
3200 Hackberry Road, Irving, Texas 75063
Auditor
KPMG LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$52.6B
vs $56.8B prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Stephen Dacus
Headquarters
Texas
Founded
1961
FDD year
2025
States available
14

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 164% above the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$142K – $1.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 36 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise feeNot extracted
RoyaltyTiered by sales volume
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 27 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$66K – $198K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Fee$0$1.1M
Training expenses$0$14K
Down Payment for opening inventory$20K$20K
Additional opening inventory$42K$240K
Cash Register Fund$3K$15K
Store supplies$1K$4K
Licenses and permits$7K$11K
Real estate and equipment——
Insurance$2K$36K
Grand Opening Fee$8K$8K
Goodwill——
Additional funds during first 3 months$60K$180K
Total initial investment$142K$1.6M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$142K – $1.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$66K – $198K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Paid to franchisor at signing
Royalty
Variable "7-Eleven Charge" royalty based on Gross Profit …
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
1.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

7-Eleven: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)Variable percentage of Gross Profit via tiered base-plus-marginal-rate formula; not a single flat rate.
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Renewal fee$50K
Inventory (initial)$53K – $258K
Total fee load1.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeHistoric state-level avera…
Sample size241 outlets

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for 7-Eleven is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one 7-Eleven unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $142K–$1.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $66K–$198K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.0M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 discloses only state-by-state historic averages/medians of total sales and gross profit in a separate Exhibit H not captured in this extracted text; no consolidated system-wide figures given in narrative.

Item 19 type
Historic state-level averages/medians of total sales, gross profit, gross profit % and consigned gasoline commissions for franchised stores, provided per-state in Exhibit H (not included in extracted text)
Sample size
241 outlets
vs category median 46 · large
Range (low → high)
$525K→$4.5MNot cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
3 / 10
vs category median 3 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank15th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank
No comparison data
Unit count rank45th
vs Retail peers
Risk score rank7th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 278 Retail brands

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 1.0% — below the Retail median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports revenue alongside profit figures rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+0.4% 3-year CAGR) with 8,254 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail medians

How 7-Eleven Compares

Metric
7-Eleven
Category median
vs median
Investment
$885K
$336Kmiddle half $198K–$495K · n=128
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$803Kmiddle half $529K–$1.1M · n=54
N/A
Unit Count
8,254
61middle half 14–208 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units8,254Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 67 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+0.4% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate3.8% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
8,254
Opened
300
Last reporting year
Closed
316
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.8%
Company-owned
1,025
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
88%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Reacquired
240
Franchisor bought back
Ceased ops
37.9%
Units that stopped operating
2022
7,218
Franchised units
2023
7,245+27
Franchised units
2024
7,229-16
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1,142 current owners across 7 states.

  • TX 628
  • IL 256
  • MI 186
  • MO 38
  • IN 18
  • KS 15
  • WI 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
16
Loan volume
$5.0M
Median loan
$315K
average
Charge-off rate
Limited · 16 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 16 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 16 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 16 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
0
Defaults
0

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 16 loans
Verdict score78/100 (higher is better)
Litigation34 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier78Verdict score 78/100

7-Eleven presents moderate-to-high risk due to shrinking unit base, extensive litigation, opaque profitability metrics, unprotected territories, and unclear royalty calculations despite strong revenue averages.

Why this reads harsher than the A grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

High confidence±6 pts
7284

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Numerous franchisee-initiated suits (wrongful termination, breach of contract, misrepresentation, FTC Franchise Rule/state franchise-act claims) and franchisor-initiated trademark/post-termination enforcement suits; also two FTC antitrust/consent-order matters (Sunoco divestiture Consent Order and Speedway acquisition Order), with a 2025 stipulated judgment requiring a $4.5M civil penalty for a Consent Order violation.

Largest disclosed settlement: $325,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · KPMG LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $52603.0MYr 2: $56823.0MNon-royalty: $97.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 78 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-0.2% YoY) signals system contraction despite massive franchise base
  2. 02HIGHSignificant litigation history involving wrongful termination, breach of contract, fraudulent inducement, and FTC actions suggests systemic franchisor-franchisee relationship issues
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; franchisees may cannibalize each other's sales in overlapping areas
  4. 04MEDVariable royalty structure tied to Gross Profit (not Net) is opaque and difficult to forecast; actual percentage rates not disclosed
  5. 05MEDHigh initial investment ceiling ($1.6M+) combined with undisclosed profitability creates severe ROI uncertainty
  6. 06MINOR15-year term is lengthy with no clear exit strategy articulated, locking franchisees into declining system

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail34 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Pending (12)

  • Monceny Mendoza and Convenience Store 33004 Inc. v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2025-02-13 · United States District Court, Middle District of Florida (removed from the Circuit Court of the Twentieth Judicial Circuit in and for Collier County, Florida) · 2:25-cv-00206 (state: 11-2025-CA-000282-0001-01)

    “Monceny Mendoza and Convenience Store 33004 Inc. v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 2:25-cv-00206, United States District Court, Middle District of Florida) (removed in March 2025 from the Circuit Court of the Twentieth Judicial Circuit in and for Collier County, Florida, Case No. 11-2025-CA-000282-0001-01).”Page 14 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“As of this writing, we have not yet responded to the complaint. This action is not yet set for trial.”

  • 7-Eleven, Inc. v. Gurtar Sandhu and SSS Realm Corporation

    pending

    Brought against a franchisee · filed 2024-03-06 · United States District Court, Central District of California · 8:24-cv-00490

    “7-Eleven, Inc. v. Gurtar Sandhu and SSS Realm Corporation (Case No. 8:24-cv-00490, United States District Court, Central District of California). On March 6, 2024, we sued former franchisee SSS Realm Corporation, and its owner, Gurtar Sandhu (“Defendants”), for trademark infringement and to enforce post- termination obligations in the franchise agreements.”Page 15 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“This matter is set for trial on November 10, 2025.” (page 16)

  • 7-Eleven, Inc. v. Rajwinder Atwal and S.S.S. Atwal, Inc.

    pending

    Brought against a franchisee · filed 2024-03-08 · United States District Court, Central District of California · 8:24-cv-00506

    “7-Eleven, Inc. v. Rajwinder Atwal and S.S.S. Atwal, Inc. (Case No. 8:24-cv-00506, United States District Court, Central District of California). On March 8, 2024, we sued former franchisee S.S.S. Atwal, Inc., and its owner, Rajwinder Atwal (“Defendants”), for trademark infringement and to enforce post-termination obligations in the franchise agreements.”Page 15 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“This matter is set for trial on November 10, 2025.”

  • Derrick Brown v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2024-12-02 · United States District Court, District of Colorado · 1:24-cv-03343-RTG

    “Derrick Brown v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 1:24-cv-03343-RTG, United States District Court, District of Colorado). On December 2, 2024, pro se Plaintiff Derrick Brown filed a lawsuit against us alleging that he and his family members had been repeatedly exposed to unsanitary conditions at 7-Eleven locations in Colorado, we failed to adequately train franchisees”Page 14 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3
  • Ingeet Jetalpuria v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2024-03-05 · Superior Court, Orange County, California · 2024-01384263

    “Ingeet Jetalpuria v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 2024-01384263, Superior Court, Orange County, California). On March 5, 2024, Plaintiff Ingeet Jetalpuria, who is a current franchisee, sued us under the California Labor Code, §§ 2775, 2785-87, alleging that we had misclassified Plaintiff as an independent contractor and that Plaintiff should be classified as an employee.”Page 16 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3
  • Quick Biz LLC v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2024-07-08 · United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia (removed from the Circuit Court for the City of Chesapeake, Virginia) · 2:24-cv-00472-AWA-RJK (state: CL-24-4006)

    “Quick Biz LLC v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 2:24-cv-00472-AWA-RJK, United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia) (removed on August 1, 2024 from the Circuit Court for the City of Chesapeake, Virginia, Case No. CL-24-4006). On July 8, 2024, former franchisee Quick Biz LLC sued us for wrongful termination of its franchise agreement and for fraud.”Page 15 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“This action is set for trial September 9, 2025.”

  • Federal Trade Commission v. Seven & I Holdings, Co., LTD, et al.

    pending

    Government or regulatory action · filed 2023-12-04 · United States District Court for the District of Columbia · 23-cv-03600

    “Federal Trade Commission v. Seven & I Holdings, Co., LTD, et al. (Case No. 23-cv-03600, United States District Court for the District of Columbia). On December 4, 2023, the Federal Trade Commission ("FTC") filed a complaint against us and our parent company Seven & i Holdings Co., Ltd. (collectively, "7E and 7i") for violation of a Consent Order”Page 23 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“As of this writing, 7E and 7i have filed a motion to dismiss the FTC’s complaint. If 7E and 7i are required to answer the FTC’s complaint, 7E and 7i intend to deny liability and vigorously defend against the FTC’s action. This case is not yet set for trial.”

  • Rehan Hashmi, et al., v. 7 Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2023-06-09 · United States District Court, Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division (removed from Circuit Court of the Eighteenth Judicial Circuit, Dupage County, Illinois) · 23-cv-03776 (state: 2023CH000125)

    “Rehan Hashmi, et al., v. 7 Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 23-cv-03776, United States District Court, Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division (removed in June 2023 from Circuit Court of the Eighteenth Judicial Circuit, Dupage County, Illinois Case No. 2023CH000125)).”Page 16 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3
  • Sasha 786 Corporation v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2023-12-13 · United States District Court, District of Nevada (removed from Eighth Judicial District, Clark County, Nevada) · 24-cv-00101-RFB-BNW (state: A-23-883376-C)

    “Sasha 786 Corporation v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 24-cv-00101-RFB-BNW, United States District Court, District of Nevada) (removed in January 2024 from Eighth Judicial District, Clark County, Nevada, Case No. A- 23-883376-C). On December 13, 2023, Syed Asghar Shaheen, who is known to us as Syed Shaheen Asghar, sued us for breach of contract and other claims”Page 16 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3
  • Aysan Guvenal, et al. v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2019-04-08 · United States District Court, Western District of Pennsylvania · 2:19-cv-00391-RCM

    “Aysan Guvenal, et al. v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 2:19-cv-00391-RCM, United States District Court, Western District of Pennsylvania). On April 8, 2019, former franchisee Guvenal Incorporated and its owner, Aysan Guvenal, sued us for tortious interference with contracts and prospective contracts, breach of contract, and defamation.”Page 18 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“This matter is set for trial on March 24, 2025.”

  • Sat Agiyar, LLC v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2019-10-03 · United States District Court, District of New Jersey (removed from Superior Court, New Jersey, Mercer County) · 3:19-cv-19994 (state: MER-L-001934-19)

    “Sat Agiyar, LLC v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 3:19-cv-19994, United States District Court, District of New Jersey (removed on November 8, 2019 from Superior Court, New Jersey, Mercer County, Case No. MER-L- 001934-19)). On October 3, 2019, former franchisee Sat Agiyar, LLC sued us for breach of contract, declaratory judgment, injunctive relief, fraudulent misrepresentation”Page 17 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On August 27, 2024, and January 9, 2025, Plaintiff and Nash Patel appealed the court’s summary judgment rulings to the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.” (page 18)

  • Bassell Khorchid v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2018-04-28 · United States District Court, District of New Jersey · 1:18-cv-08525

    “Bassell Khorchid v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 1:18-cv-08525, United States District Court, District of New Jersey). On April 28, 2018, Plaintiff, a former franchisee, sued us for breach of the covenant of good faith and fair dealing, breach of contract, and violation of the New Jersey Franchise Practices Act, N.J.S.A. 56:10-1.”Page 18 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The assigned judge then stayed the remainder of the case pending arbitration. Plaintiff has not yet instituted any arbitration proceedings.”

Concluded (3)

  • Padmja Retails Inc. v. 7-Eleven, Inc.

    settled

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2024-08-01 · United States District Court, District of Maryland · 1:24-CV-02245-ABA

    “Padmja Retails Inc. v. 7-Eleven, Inc. (Case No. 1:24-CV-02245-ABA, United States District Court, District of Maryland). On August 1, 2024, Plaintiff Padmja Retails Inc., a former franchisee, sued us alleging violations of the Maryland Franchise Registration and Disclosure Law based on alleged improper financial performance representations”Page 18 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On February 19, 2025, the parties entered into a settlement agreement pursuant to which we agreed to pay Plaintiff and Dinesh Shukla $325,000 in exchange for mutual releases of all claims and the dismissal of the lawsuit with prejudice.”

  • In the Matter of Seven & i Holdings Co., Ltd., 7-Eleven, Inc., and Marathon Petroleum Corporation

    concluded

    Government or regulatory action · filed 2021-06-25 · Federal Trade Commission · Docket No. C-4748

    “In the Matter of Seven & i Holdings Co., Ltd., 7-Eleven, Inc., and Marathon Petroleum Corporation (Federal Trade Commission, Docket No. C-4748). On June 25, 2021, the Federal Trade Commission (“FTC”)”Page 23 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“After the public comment and notice period expired, the FTC issued a Final Order (the “Order”) on November 10, 2021 approving 7-Eleven’s acquisition of SPEEDWAY-branded facilities subject to certain required divestitures and other requirements.” (page 24)

  • Matter with no printed caption

    concluded

    Government or regulatory action · filed 2018 · Federal Trade Commission

    “Regarding the 2018 Consent Order referenced above, in 2018, 7E and 7i proposed to acquire approximately 1,100 retail fuel outlets with convenience stores from Sunoco LP. The FTC investigated this proposed acquisition and claimed it would violate the federal antitrust laws. 7E and 7i agreed to resolve the FTC’s claims by the 2018 Consent Order.”Page 23 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The 2018 Consent Order required us to divest (or Sunoco to retain) certain fuel outlets in 76 local markets. In addition, it prohibited us from acquiring certain fuel outlets without prior notice to the FTC.”

This list shows 15 of the 34 matters Item 3 discloses; the rest are in the filing.

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 1.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term15 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training300 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term15 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window15 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice2 days
Termination groundsℹ18
Curable defaultsℹ14
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationTexas (mediation at mutually accessible neutral location in market area; other actions in Texas courts)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawTexas
Litigation count34
View Item 3 litigation summary

Numerous franchisee-initiated suits (wrongful termination, breach of contract, misrepresentation, FTC Franchise Rule/state franchise-act claims) and franchisor-initiated trademark/post-termination enforcement suits; also two FTC antitrust/consent-order matters (Sunoco divestiture Consent Order and Speedway acquisition Order), with a 2025 stipulated judgment requiring a $4.5M civil penalty for a Consent Order violation.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
280 hrs
Training location
Store Support Center (Irving, TX) and a 7-Eleven Training Store
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Store Information System (SIS)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Store Information System (SIS)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1,142 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1,142 contacts · $49
Free preview
(512) 388 ••••TX
Unlock all 1,142 contacts
(972) 530 ••••TX
(682) 831 ••••TX
(734) 282 ••••MI
(214) 352 ••••TX

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a 7-Eleven franchise?

The total investment to open a 7-Eleven franchise ranges from $142K – $1.6M. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do 7-Eleven franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the 7-Eleven FDD discloses outlet figures from $525K to $4.5M but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns 7-Eleven?

7-Eleven is franchised by 7-Eleven, Inc.. Its parent company is SEJ Asset Management & Investment Company. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Seven & i Holdings Co., Ltd.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the 7-Eleven FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the 7-Eleven FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is 7-Eleven's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for 7-Eleven (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many 7-Eleven franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, 7-Eleven has 8,254 total units in the United States, including 7,229 franchised units and 1,025 company-owned units. 300 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is 7-Eleven a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates 7-Eleven as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 78 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent 7-Eleven, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.