Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Blank Mason logo

Blank Mason Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailILFranchising since 2024
DBelow averageBelow average35/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$231K – $596K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00322FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent91%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Blank Mason is a creative studio franchise offering a custom candle-bar experience where guests pour their own candles. Franchisees run the studios, managing candle-making sessions, retail, and events.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Blank Mason franchise requires a total initial investment of $231K – $596K, including a $28K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$231K – $596K
27th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
7.0%
29th pct Retail
Units
1
1st pct Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$231K – $596K
Median $336K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$28K – $28K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$45K – $60K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 61 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 3.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $231K – $596K including a $28K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports gross sales and expense breakdown rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 35/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports gross sales and expense breakdown rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Blank Mason Development LLC
CEO title
Manager
Sara Jennetten
CEO experience
6 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
IL
HQ
8712 Callie Avenue, Morton Grove, Illinois 60053
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Sara Jennetten
Headquarters
IL
Founded
2023
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 23% above the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$231K – $596KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$28,000Verified — printed on page 7 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$45K – $60K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$28K$28K
Travel and Living Expenses and Employee Wages During Training$4K$8K
Initial Inventory$15K$45K
Lease Security Deposit and Utility Deposits$4K$14K
Rent (Initial 3 months)$15K$36K
Leasehold Improvements$60K$300K
POS & Computer Equipment$3K$5K
Office Equipment & Supplies$500$2K
Tools and Equipment$10K$15K
Furniture & Fixtures$28K$35K
Signage$3K$6K
Business Licenses & Permits$500$2K
Design and Architect Fees$10K$28K
Professional Fees$2K$3K
Business Insurance$2K$8K
Grand Opening Marketing$2K$3K
Fees for Background Check and Candidate Evaluation for Two Personsnot refundable$350$350
Additional Funds for First 3 Months$45K$60K
Total initial investment$231K$596K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$231K – $596K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$45K – $60K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$28K – $28K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Blank Mason: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$2K
Training fee$300
Transfer fee$21K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$15K – $45K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales and expense br…
Sample sizeNot extracted

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Blank Mason is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Blank Mason unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $231K–$596K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $45K–$60K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$466K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 reports gross sales and expense breakdown rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. We omit it from rankings.

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Retail median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports gross sales and expense breakdown rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Multi-unit rate

Only 7% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail medians

How Blank Mason Compares

Metric
Blank Mason
Category median
vs median
Investment
$414K
$336Kmiddle half $198K–$495K · n=128
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$803Kmiddle half $529K–$1.1M · n=54
N/A
Unit Count
1
61middle half 14–208 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 37 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
7.1%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • IL 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score35/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average35Verdict score 35/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
2248

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor (Blank Mason Development LLC) reported $0 operating revenue for FY2024; it commenced franchising in 2024 and received no initial franchise fees that year. FY2024 net loss of $(40,450); audited opinion covers the year ended Dec 31, 2024 only.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 35 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 1 unit operating — severe lack of system validation; impossible to assess replicability or franchisee success patterns
  2. 02MEDNet Income not disclosed — unable to evaluate actual profitability; $494K revenue tells nothing about margins or sustainability
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($231K–$596K) without clear cost breakdown — suggests inconsistent site requirements or undefined buildout standards
  4. 04MINOR7% royalty on gross sales (not net) — franchisees pay royalties even during unprofitable periods; combined with unknown margins, creates cash flow risk
  5. 05MINORSingle unit with unknown growth trajectory — no evidence of system expansion, replication success, or franchisee satisfaction
  6. 06MEDLimited franchise term (5 years) — shorter commitment window suggests franchisor uncertainty or higher exit risk at renewal

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training80 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ3
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Territory population50,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ15 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationSkokie/Chicago, Illinois
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawIL
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
38 hrs
On-the-job training
42 hrs
Training location
Skokie, Illinois
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
7 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Square
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Square

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(312) 574-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Blank Mason franchise?

The total investment to open a Blank Mason franchise ranges from $231K – $596K, with an initial franchise fee of $28K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Blank Mason franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Blank Mason FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Blank Mason?

Blank Mason is franchised by Blank Mason Development LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Blank Mason FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Blank Mason FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Blank Mason's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Blank Mason (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Blank Mason franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Blank Mason has 1 total units in the United States.

Is Blank Mason a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Blank Mason as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 35 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Blank Mason, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.