Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Cartridge World logo

Cartridge World Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailNCFranchising since 2003
CAverageAverage38/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$75K – $107K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
22.8%
on 198 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00474Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Cartridge World is a retail franchise selling printer ink and toner cartridges, including refills and remanufactured supplies, to businesses and consumers. Franchisees run a store managing cartridge sales, refills, and business accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Cartridge World franchise requires a total initial investment of $75K – $107K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 22.8% charge-off rate across 198 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$75K – $107K
5th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
34th pct Retail
Units
109
30th pct Retail
SBA charge-off
22.8%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$75K – $107K
Median $336K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$2K – $15K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
12.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
22.8%
198 loans · Median 14.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
109 units
Median 61 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
8.4%
Median 3.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $75K – $107K including a $50K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 38/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 22.8% across 198 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -28 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 18 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -35.5% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
CWE America, LLC
Predecessor
Cartridge World USA, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Gregory J. Carafello
Incorporated in
NC
HQ
445 S. Main Street, 4th Floor, Davidson, North Carolina 28036
Auditor
Reese CPA LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.2M
vs $159K prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Won Life Holdings
  • is associated with multiple brands
  • maintains a pr
  • Holiday Park Partners

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Gregory J. Carafello
Headquarters
NC
FDD year
2024
States available
35

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 73% below the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$75K – $107KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$2K – $15K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$50K$50K
Construction and Leasehold Improvements$0$5K
Lease Deposits - Three Months$2K$3K
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment$0$500
Signage$0$500
Computer, Software and Business Management System$750$2K
Opening Launch$18K$18K
Initial Inventory$500$500
Utility Deposits$0$500
Insurance Deposits - Three Months$600$2K
Travel for Initial Training$500$2K
Professional Fees$1K$8K
Licenses and Permits$300$800
Additional Funds - Three Months$2K$15K
Total initial investment$75K$107K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$75K – $107K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$2K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
12.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Cartridge World: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$70
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$500 – $500
Total fee load12.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Cartridge World makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Cartridge World unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $75K–$107K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $2K–$15K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$99K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 12.0% — above the Retail median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -35.5% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail medians

How Cartridge World Compares

Metric
Cartridge World
Category median
vs median
Investment
$91K
$336Kmiddle half $198K–$495K · n=128
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$803Kmiddle half $529K–$1.1M · n=54
N/A
Unit Count
109
61middle half 14–208 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units109Verified — printed on page 57 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth-35.5% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate8.4% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
109
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
18
Turnover rate
8.4%
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
98%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-35.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-35.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transferred
1
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
9
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
0.8%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
0.6%
Units that stopped operating
2021
166
Franchised units
2022
135-31
Franchised units
2023
107-28
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 35 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

35

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

D
SBA Lending Health
Below-average SBA lending record · 22.8% charge-off
Total loans
198
Loan volume
$25.2M
Median loan
$120K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
22.8%
on 198 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
77.2%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
88
Defaults
39
Typical loan rate
6.5%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
12.1%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
595
2.7 per loan
Lender concentration
7%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 14% went to startups / new businesses, 86% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in office supplies and stationery, franchised businesses charge off at 12.1% vs 20.1% for independents — franchising is associated with 40% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Cartridge World charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Cartridge World charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 11 vintages from 2004 to 2016. Rates range from 0.0% to 66.7%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%'04'06'08'10'14'16

Shaded area: recent vintages with few resolved loans; rates may change as loans mature.

Top lenders financing Cartridge World franchisees

Community West Bank12 loans58.3%
Popular Bank10 loans60.0%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association7 loans28.6%

Showing 3 of 88 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Cartridge World from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
15.1%
Avg SBA guarantee
73%
Avg interest rate
6.51%
Avg chargeoff amount
$86K
Lender concentration
6.7%
Job velocity
2.7 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
22.8%
NAICS 453210
Jobs supported
595

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 7% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Community West Bank12$1.8M58.3%
2Popular Bank10$934K60.0%
3Wells Fargo Bank National Association7$870K28.6%
4First National Bank of Pennsylvania7$1.2M42.9%
5The Huntington National Bank6$647K20.0%
6JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association5$374K20.0%
7PNC Bank, National Association5$537K40.0%
8Comerica Bank5$806K0.0%
9TD Bank, National Association5$528K0.0%
10First Commonwealth Bank4$425K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
TXTexas19526.3%
MNMinnesota14323.1%
CACalifornia12758.3%
OKOklahoma1119.1%
PAPennsylvania10220.0%
FLFlorida9444.4%
GAGeorgia8240.0%
MOMissouri8112.5%
NCNorth Carolina8337.5%
MTMontana700.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2004
20
2005
50
2006
20
2007
32
2008
13
2009
3
2010
8
2011
1
2012
6
2013
2
2014
5
2015
9
2016
3
2017
1
2018
2
2021
1
2022
1
2023
2
2024
1

Borrower profile

Ownership change3 (43%)
Existing (2+ yr)2 (29%)
Unanswered1 (14%)
New (< 2 yr)1 (14%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

A 22.8% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 4 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 22.8% — 42% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off22.8% · 198 loans
Verdict score38/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage38Verdict score 38/100

Cartridge World presents extreme risk: a contracting franchise system (down 20.7% YoY to 109 units) with no financial transparency, unprotected territory, and potential franchisor financial instability, making investor recovery unlikely.

High confidence±6 pts
3244

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Reese CPA LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.2MYr 2: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY ended Dec 31, 2023 (yr1) and the stub period Dec 1, 2022 through Dec 31, 2022 (yr2); franchisor CWE America LLC was established Oct 13, 2022 and has fewer than three years of audited statements. 2023 revenue: royalty fees 949,660; franchise fees 17,922; administrative services 448,842; advertising fees 579,180; rebate fees 176,348.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 38 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORSystem declining rapidly: 20.7% unit contraction YoY indicates shrinking franchise base and potential market saturation or model failure
  2. 02MINORNo financial disclosure: Absence of Item 19 (Average Financial Performance) makes ROI analysis impossible; cannot validate investment viability
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory: Franchisees face cannibalization risk from company-owned or competing franchisee locations within their market
  4. 04MINORHigh minimum royalty burden: 8% or monthly minimum creates fixed overhead even during low-revenue periods; unsustainable during downturns
  5. 05MINOROnly 109 remaining units: Severely diminished system size limits brand recognition, supply chain leverage, and peer support network
  6. 06MED10-year commitment: Long lock-in period with no exit clause mentioned; risky given market decline trajectory

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 12.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training80 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹ3,000 businesses
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMecklenburg County, North Carolina
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNC
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
40 hrs
Training location
Virtual/Online (Remote) and in-store location (New York, NY)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Fusion Platform
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Fusion Platform

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

146 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 146 contacts · $49
Free preview
614.532.••••
Unlock all 146 contacts
(864) 286-••••
816-741-••••
(269) 342-••••
(614) 889-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Cartridge World franchise?

The total investment to open a Cartridge World franchise ranges from $75K – $107K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Cartridge World franchise owners earn?

Cartridge World makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Cartridge World?

Cartridge World is franchised by CWE America, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Cartridge World FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Cartridge World FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Cartridge World's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Cartridge World has a charge-off rate of 22.8% across 198 loans, meaning 22.8% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Cartridge World franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Cartridge World has 109 total units in the United States, including 107 franchised units and 2 company-owned units.

Is Cartridge World a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Cartridge World as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 38 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Cartridge World, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.