Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
DASH IN logo

Dash In Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailMDFranchising since 2003
BAbove averageAbove average65/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$120K – $680K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00707Data QualityStandard71%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Dash In is a convenience store franchise, part of the Wills Group, operating c-stores with fuel and made-to-order food across the Mid-Atlantic. Franchisees run the stores, managing fuel, foodservice, inventory, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A DASH IN franchise requires a total initial investment of $120K – $680K, including a $25K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$120K – $680K
11th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
54
22nd pct Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$120K – $680K
Median $336K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $50K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.0%
Ongoing Fees
30.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
54 units
Median 61 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
3.7%
Median 3.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $120K – $680K including a $25K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 65/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -9.3% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Dash In Food Stores, Inc.
Parent company
The Wills Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2024 FDD
Incorporated in
MD
HQ
102 Centennial Street, La Plata, Maryland 20646
Auditor
Grant Thornton LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$485.5M
vs $523.0M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Independent Franchisee Association

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Julian B. Wills, III
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1986
FDD year
2024
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 19% above the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$120K – $680KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$10K – $50K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown9 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$25K$25K
Site Fee$25K$475K
Initial Deposit$10K$10K
Initial Inventory, Cash Register Fund and Store Supply Items$44K$107K
Training Expenses$3K$5K
Insurance$900$2K
Professional Fees$1K$5K
Business Licenses$1K$2K
Additional Funds (for first three months)$10K$50K
Total initial investment$120K$680K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$120K – $680K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
DASH IN Charge of 30% of Gross Profit, payable monthly, w…
Ad fund
-n/d
Total fee load
30.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

DASH IN: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)30% of Gross Profit (called DASH IN Charge); increases to 35% if state/local law restricts collection on alcoholic beverages sold at a 24-hour store
Transfer fee$13K
Renewal fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$40K – $100K
Total fee load30.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

DASH IN makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one DASH IN unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $120K–$680K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$430K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 117 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 30.0% — above the Retail median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -9.3% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail medians

How Dash In Compares

Metric
Dash In
Category median
vs median
Investment
$400K
$336Kmiddle half $198K–$495K · n=128
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$803Kmiddle half $529K–$1.1M · n=54
N/A
Unit Count
54
61middle half 14–208 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units54Verified — printed on page 33 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-9.3% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate3.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
54
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Turnover rate
3.7%
Company-owned
15
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
72%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-9.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-9.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
0.2%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
95.1%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
0.1%
Units that stopped operating
2021
43
Franchised units
2022
40-3
Franchised units
2023
39-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 3 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

3

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

2 current owners across 1 state.

  • MD 2

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score65/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average65Verdict score 65/100

DASH IN presents HIGH RISK due to declining unit count, predatory 30% profit royalty, complete absence of financial performance data, and unprotected territory—unsuitable for prospective franchisees unable to verify profitability claims.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Low confidence±18 pts
4783

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Grant Thornton LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $485.5MYr 2: $523.0MTotal: $423.6MNon-royalty: $0.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated financial statements of Dash In Food Stores, Inc. and Subsidiaries (a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Wills Group, Inc.). FY2023 net sales = petroleum products $374,824,527 + merchandise $116,107,746 less sales royalty sites merchandise revenue $5,425,702. Net income shown is total consolidated ($9,606,457); net income attributable to Dash In Food Stores, Inc. was $5,845,654 after $3,760,803 noncontrolling interests. Auditor for FY2023 was Grant Thornton LLP (FY2022/2021 audited by a different firm).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 65 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDSystem contracting: -2.5% YoY unit decline with only 55 locations indicates shrinking franchise network and potential market saturation or operational challenges
  2. 02MINORExtreme royalty burden: 30% of gross profit is exceptionally high and leaves minimal margin for franchisee profitability after operating expenses
  3. 03MEDZero financial transparency: No disclosed average revenue or net income makes ROI impossible to validate; franchisor refusing Item 19 is major red flag
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory: Lack of territorial exclusivity creates cannibalization risk and direct competition from other franchisees in same market
  5. 05MINORWide investment range: $119.6K–$680.3K spread suggests inconsistent startup costs and unclear capital requirements

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 117 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 30.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training84 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ1 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice5 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland (principal place of business of franchisor)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMD
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
48 hrs
On-the-job training
36 hrs
Training location
La Plata, Maryland and/or a nearby company-owned DASH IN Store
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisor
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Verifone, NCR or Gilbarco
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Verifone, NCR or Gilbarco

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2 contacts · $49
Free preview
(703) 848-••••MD
Unlock all 2 contacts
(703) 847-••••MD

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a DASH IN franchise?

The total investment to open a DASH IN franchise ranges from $120K – $680K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do DASH IN franchise owners earn?

DASH IN makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns DASH IN?

DASH IN is franchised by Dash In Food Stores, Inc.. Its parent company is The Wills Group, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the DASH IN FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the DASH IN FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is DASH IN's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for DASH IN (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many DASH IN franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, DASH IN has 54 total units in the United States, including 39 franchised units and 15 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is DASH IN a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates DASH IN as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 65 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent DASH IN, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.