Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Motto by Hilton logo

Motto by Hilton Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingVAFranchising since 2018
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$19.4M – $93.8M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01693FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Motto by Hilton is a micro-hotel franchise offering affordable, design-forward rooms in urban locations. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing front desk, housekeeping, and revenue under Hilton standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Motto by Hilton franchise requires a total initial investment of $19.4M – $93.8M, including a $100K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$19.4M – $93.8M
59th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
6
18th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$19.4M – $93.8M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$100K – $100K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$800K – $1.2M
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
6 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
15 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $19.4M – $93.8M including a $100K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 7 agreements signed but not yet open against 6 open outlets (Item 20).
  • LEGAL15 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Hilton Franchise Holding LLC
Parent company
Hilton Domestic Operating Company Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and President
Christopher J. Nassetta
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
7930 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 1100, McLean, Virginia 22102
Auditor
Cherry Bekaert LLP (cbh.com)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.6B
vs $1.5B prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

17 other brands on this site name Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Christopher J. Nassetta
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2007
FDD year
2026
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 536% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$19.4M – $93.8MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 44 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$100,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 30 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$800K – $1.2M

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown25 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Application Fee$100K$100K
Property Improvement Plan$0$10K
Market Study——
Environmental Assessment——
Real Property——
Construction and Leasehold Improvements$9.1M$67.9M
Designer and Engineering Fees$364K$2.7M
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment$6.2M$9.2M
Inventory and Operating Equipment$1.2M$2.0M
Signage$37K$80K
Computer Software and Hardware Systems$104K$225K
Guest Internet Access System$84K$123K
Connected Room System$40K$48K
Delphi Sales and Events System$990$33K
Required Pre-Opening Training$5K$18K
ADA Consultant Fee$3K$15K
Construction/Renovation Extension Fees$0$10K
Insurance——
Organization Expense$50K$130K
Permits and Licenses$137K$1.0M
Total initial investment$19.4M$93.8M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$19.4M – $93.8M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$800K – $1.2M
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$100K – $100K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Motto by Hilton: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Training fee$18K
Transfer fee$150K
Inventory (initial)$1.2M – $2.0M
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Motto by Hilton makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Motto by Hilton unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $19.4M–$93.8M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $800K–$1.2M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$57.6M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 135 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Lodging median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +50.0% over 3 years (1 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Motto by Hilton Compares

Metric
Motto by Hilton
Category median
vs median
Investment
$56.6M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
6
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units6Verified — printed on page 93 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+50.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
6
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+50.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+50.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
7
1.17 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
33.3%
Owners selling to other franchisees
2023
4
Franchised units
2024
5+1
Franchised units
2025
6+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 5 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

5

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

2 current owners across 2 states.

  • MN 1
  • RI 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation15 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Motto by Hilton is an extremely early-stage, litigation-plagued brand with only 6 units, zero financial transparency, and unresolved legal/regulatory disputes that create substantial operational and financial risk for new franchisees.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4369

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Multiple cases including franchisee breach of contract suits against Hilton (Bow Hospitality), antitrust class actions (In re Extended Stay, Dai/SAS, Amadeus, Portillo/CoStar), concluded franchisee disputes (AAAA Property, Texas AG resort fees, Nebraska AG resort fees, Portland Hotel, San Pedro Inn), historic antitrust consent decree (U.S. v. HHC 1970), and collection suits against former franchisees (ML Plaza, Unique Crowne, Empower Metro, In re 177 BFP).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Cherry Bekaert LLP (cbh.com)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1560.1MYr 2: $1502.1MNon-royalty: $5.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenues of the franchisor entity (Hilton Franchise Holding LLC) comprise franchise royalty fees ($1,502,299K in 2025), franchise sales and change of ownership fees ($52,254K), and franchise termination fees and other ($5,514K). Figures are consolidated and stated in thousands; these reflect the entire Hilton franchise system, not the Motto by Hilton brand specifically.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 6 units systemwide with minimal growth trajectory (20% YoY = 1.2 new units) indicates nascent, unproven brand with no economies of scale
  2. 02MINORMultiple class action antitrust lawsuits plus state attorney general investigations into mandatory fees create regulatory/legal liability exposure and reputational risk
  3. 03MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income (missing Item 19) prevents prospective franchisees from validating unit economics or ROI projections
  4. 04MINORContract disputes with former franchisees regarding termination and brand standards suggest operational/enforcement issues and franchise relationship friction
  5. 05MINORUnprotected territory combined with ultra-long 22-year term locks franchisee into potentially uncompetitive position without geographic exclusivity
  6. 06MINOR5% royalty on Gross Rooms Revenue (not Net) means fees apply regardless of profitability, increasing downside risk in market downturns

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 135 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term22 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training104 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term22 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Termination groundsℹ17
Curable defaultsℹ4
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationFairfax County, Virginia (Puerto Rico franchisees only; standard agreement uses litigation)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNY
Litigation count15
View Item 3 litigation summary

Multiple cases including franchisee breach of contract suits against Hilton (Bow Hospitality), antitrust class actions (In re Extended Stay, Dai/SAS, Amadeus, Portillo/CoStar), concluded franchisee disputes (AAAA Property, Texas AG resort fees, Nebraska AG resort fees, Portland Hotel, San Pedro Inn), historic antitrust consent decree (U.S. v. HHC 1970), and collection suits against former franchisees (ML Plaza, Unique Crowne, Empower Metro, In re 177 BFP).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
103 hrs
On-the-job training
1 hrs
Training location
Virtual, Online, On-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
OnQ
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: OnQ

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

3 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 3 contacts · $49
Free preview
(763) 710-••••MN
Unlock all 3 contacts
(401) 562-••••RI
(500) 103-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Motto by Hilton franchise?

The total investment to open a Motto by Hilton franchise ranges from $19.4M – $93.8M, with an initial franchise fee of $100K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Motto by Hilton franchise owners earn?

Motto by Hilton makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Motto by Hilton?

Motto by Hilton is franchised by Hilton Franchise Holding LLC. Its parent company is Hilton Domestic Operating Company Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Motto by Hilton FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Motto by Hilton FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Motto by Hilton's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Motto by Hilton (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Motto by Hilton franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Motto by Hilton has 6 total units in the United States, including 6 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Motto by Hilton a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Motto by Hilton as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Motto by Hilton, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.