Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Curio Collection by Hilton logo

Curio Collection by Hilton Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingVAFranchising since 2014
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$4.0M – $140.5M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00684Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Curio Collection by Hilton is an upscale hotel franchise of independent, individually branded boutique properties. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing guest services and food and beverage while meeting Hilton's brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Curio Collection by Hilton franchise requires a total initial investment of $4.0M – $140.5M, including a $85K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$4.0M – $140.5M
31st pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
67
39th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$4.0M – $140.5M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$85K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$1.3M – $1.8M
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
67 units
Median 60 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
3.0%
Median 0.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
8 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $4.0M – $140.5M including a $85K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +5 franchised outlets in the latest year (5 opened, 1 closed); 24 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 39.6% CAGR over 3 years with 67 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Hilton Franchise Holding LLC
Parent company
Hilton Domestic Operating Company Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2023 FDD
Ultimate parent
Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2023 FDD
Predecessor
Hilton Worldwide (offered Curio July 2, 2014 to October 14, 2014)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and President
Christopher J. Nassetta
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
7930 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 1100, McLean, Virginia 22102
Auditor
CohnReznick LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.2B
vs $883.3M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

17 other brands on this site name Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2023 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Christopher J. Nassetta
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2007
FDD year
2023
States available
32

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 712% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$4.0M – $140.5MNot cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Franchise fee$85,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$1.3M – $1.8M

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Curio Collection by Hilton: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$85K$85K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$1.3M$1.8M
Equipment, build-out, other$2.6M$138.6M
Total initial investment$4.0M$140.5M

Source: Curio Collection by Hilton 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$4.0M – $140.5M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$1.3M – $1.8M
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$85K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Curio Collection by Hilton: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$6K
Renewal fee$85K
Inventory (initial)$1.6M – $3.5M
Total fee load9.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

This FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation - a voluntary item - so unit sales aren't disclosed.

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeNo financial performance r…
Sample sizeNot extracted

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Curio Collection by Hilton makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Curio Collection by Hilton unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $4.0M–$140.5M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $1.3M–$1.8M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$73.8M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 138 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% (near the Lodging median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 39.6% CAGR over 3 years across 67 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Curio Collection by Hilton Compares

Metric
Curio Collection by Hilton
Category median
vs median
Investment
$72.3M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
67
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units67Verified — printed on page 85 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+39.6% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate3.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
67
Opened
5
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+39.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+39.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
24
0.36 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
3.0%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
1.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
1.5%
Units that stopped operating
2020
48
Franchised units
2021
62+14
Franchised units
2022
67+5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 32 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 32 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

44 current owners across 32 states.

  • NY 4
  • CA 3
  • TX 3
  • FL 2
  • GA 2
  • MI 2
  • NM 2
  • TN 2
  • AL 1
  • AZ 1
  • CO 1
  • CT 1
  • +20 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation8 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Curio Collection presents moderate-to-high risk due to missing financial transparency (no Item 19), active multi-category litigation, slow unit growth, and unprotected territory—unsuitable for franchisees requiring clear return projections.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Low confidence±16 pts
4072

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Pending: (1) State of Nebraska v. Hilton re mandatory resort fee disclosure; (2) Destin Platinum LLC v. Hampton Inns re franchise termination. Concluded: (3) Portland Hotel Ownership counterclaim re exclusivity fraud, settled 2022; (4) San Pedro Inn re wrongful termination NJ, settled 2020; (5) Kathleen Soule Hawaii class action re resort fees, settled 2015 for $178K; (6) US v. HWI ADA Consent Decree, expired 2015; (7) Starwood v. HHC trade secret misappropriation, settled 2010 for $75M; (8) US v. Hilton Hotels Corp Sherman Act (1970), injunction entered 1971.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · CohnReznick LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1229.5MYr 2: $883.3MNon-royalty: $4.8M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 audited financials are for Hilton Franchise Holding LLC (the franchisor), audited consolidated statements as of Dec 31, 2022/2021, in thousands (scaled x1000). Total revenues FY2022 $1,229,465K = franchise royalty fees $1,184,827K + franchise sales/change-of-ownership fees $39,881K + franchise termination fees and other $4,757K (reported as other_revenue). Net income FY2022 $1,233,442K. Balance sheet reconciles: assets $1,163,908K = liabilities $501,845K + member's equity $662,063K. Auditor firm name not printed in extracted text (report signed Tysons Corner, VA, March 16, 2023).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo financial performance disclosure (Item 19) prevents ROI validation and creates opacity on average unit economics
  2. 02HIGHActive litigation across multiple categories (consumer protection, ADA compliance, trade secrets) suggests systemic operational and legal vulnerabilities
  3. 03MINORModest unit growth of 8.1% YoY in a 67-unit system indicates slower expansion than premium hotel franchises; no going concern statement raises sustainability questions
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other Curio properties within same market
  5. 05MEDHigh capital requirement ($3.98M+) paired with 5% royalty and undisclosed profitability creates significant downside risk

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 138 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term23 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training160 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term23 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationFairfax County, VA (Puerto Rico only)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawNY
Litigation count8
View Item 3 litigation summary

Pending: (1) State of Nebraska v. Hilton re mandatory resort fee disclosure; (2) Destin Platinum LLC v. Hampton Inns re franchise termination. Concluded: (3) Portland Hotel Ownership counterclaim re exclusivity fraud, settled 2022; (4) San Pedro Inn re wrongful termination NJ, settled 2020; (5) Kathleen Soule Hawaii class action re resort fees, settled 2015 for $178K; (6) US v. HWI ADA Consent Decree, expired 2015; (7) Starwood v. HHC trade secret misappropriation, settled 2010 for $75M; (8) US v. Hilton Hotels Corp Sherman Act (1970), injunction entered 1971.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
159 hrs
On-the-job training
1 hrs
Training location
Virtual / Online / On-site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
36 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee (franchisor not obligated to assist with site selection)
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
OnQ (Hilton Property Management System)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: OnQ (Hilton Property Management System)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

45 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 45 contacts · $49
Free preview
(405) 601-••••OK
Unlock all 45 contacts
(605) 342-••••SD
(706) 737-••••GA
(805) 295-••••CA
(816) 221-••••MO

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Curio Collection by Hilton franchise?

The total investment to open a Curio Collection by Hilton franchise ranges from $4.0M – $140.5M, with an initial franchise fee of $85K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Curio Collection by Hilton franchise owners earn?

Curio Collection by Hilton makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Curio Collection by Hilton?

Curio Collection by Hilton is franchised by Hilton Franchise Holding LLC. Its parent company is Hilton Domestic Operating Company Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Curio Collection by Hilton FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Curio Collection by Hilton FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Curio Collection by Hilton's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Curio Collection by Hilton (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Curio Collection by Hilton franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Curio Collection by Hilton has 67 total units in the United States, including 67 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Curio Collection by Hilton a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Curio Collection by Hilton as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Curio Collection by Hilton, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.