Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Outset Collection by Hilton logo

Outset Collection by Hilton Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingVAFranchising since 2025
CAverageAverage43/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$2.2M – $52.0M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01854FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Outset Collection by Hilton is an upscale boutique hotel franchise of independent, individually branded properties. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing guest services and revenue under Hilton standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Outset Collection by Hilton franchise requires a total initial investment of $2.2M – $52.0M, including a $50K – $100K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2025. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$2.2M – $52.0M
28th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
2 outlets
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
2
11th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$2.2M – $52.0M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $100K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$800K – $1.2M
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
2 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
15 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $2.2M – $52.0M including a $50K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 43/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 6 agreements signed but not yet open against 2 open outlets (Item 20).
  • LEGAL15 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Hilton Franchise Holding LLC
Parent company
Hilton Domestic Operating Company Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and President
Christopher J. Nassetta
CEO experience
2013 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
7930 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 1100, McLean, Virginia 22102
Auditor
Cherry Bekaert LLP (cbh.com)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.6B
vs $1.5B prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

17 other brands on this site name Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Christopher J. Nassetta
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2007
FDD year
2026
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 204% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$2.2M – $52.0MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 44 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 29 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund4.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$800K – $1.2M

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown27 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Application Fee$50K$50K
Property Improvement Plan$0$10K
Market Study——
Environmental Assessment——
Real Property——
Construction and Leasehold Improvements$0$30.4M
Designer & Engineering Fees$0$1.3M
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment$0$5.5M
Inventory & Operating Equipment$720K$1.8M
Signage$2K$77K
Computer Hardware and Software Systems$46K$114K
Guest Internet Access System$51K$73K
Connected Room System$25K$29K
Delphi Sales and Events System$990$41K
Digital Payment System$750$2K
Required Pre-Opening Training$5K$15K
ADA Consultant Fee$6K$15K
Construction/Renovation Extension Fee$0$10K
Insurance——
Organizational Expense$75K$285K
Total initial investment$2.2M$52.0M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$2.2M – $52.0M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$800K – $1.2M
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Outset Collection by Hilton: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Training fee$15K
Transfer fee$100K
Inventory (initial)$720K – $1.8M
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Outset Collection by Hilton makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Outset Collection by Hilton unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $2.2M–$52.0M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $800K–$1.2M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$28.1M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% (near the Lodging median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Outset Collection by Hilton Compares

Metric
Outset Collection by Hilton
Category median
vs median
Investment
$27.1M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
2
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2Verified — printed on page 94 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
6
3.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units
2025
2+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score43/100 (higher is better)
Litigation15 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage43Verdict score 43/100

Outset Collection represents extreme franchise risk: a 2-unit system with active litigation, zero financial disclosure, unprotected territory, and evidence of franchisee financial failure.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3056

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

5 pending actions (including antitrust class actions re hotel pricing algorithms via IDeaS/Amadeus/STR and a franchise termination dispute); 6 concluded actions (2 state AG consumer protection settlements re resort fees, 2 franchise breach/collection suits, 1 antitrust consent decree from 1970, 1 franchisee counterclaim settled); 4 collection suits filed by franchisor against former franchisees in 2025-2026

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Cherry Bekaert LLP (cbh.com)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1560.1MYr 2: $1502.1MNon-royalty: $5.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Per audited consolidated financial statements of Hilton Franchise Holding LLC (Exhibit C), amounts in thousands. Total revenues FY2025 $1,560,067K (royalty fees $1,502,299K, sales/change-of-ownership fees $52,254K, termination fees & other $5,514K); FY2024 $1,502,069K. Auditor signed Tysons Corner, VA, March 18, 2026; firm name not legible in text.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 43 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDExtremely limited unit count (2 units) suggests failed or stalled brand expansion with no disclosed growth trajectory
  2. 02HIGHMultiple active litigations including breach of contract, antitrust claims, and consumer protection settlements indicate systemic operational and legal issues
  3. 03MINORZero financial transparency — no Item 19 average revenue/net income disclosure prevents ROI validation on $2.2M investment
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk and cannibalizes per-unit revenue in thin 5% royalty model
  5. 05MINOR23-year term lock-in with only 2 operating units suggests insufficient proven unit economics and franchisor viability
  6. 06MINORCollection suits against former franchisees indicate poor franchisee financial performance and franchisor-franchisee relationship breakdown
  7. 07HIGHPending antitrust and revenue management software litigation suggests franchisor practices may harm franchisee profitability

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term23 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training109 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term23 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationFairfax County, Virginia (or New York, New York)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawNY
Litigation count15
View Item 3 litigation summary

5 pending actions (including antitrust class actions re hotel pricing algorithms via IDeaS/Amadeus/STR and a franchise termination dispute); 6 concluded actions (2 state AG consumer protection settlements re resort fees, 2 franchise breach/collection suits, 1 antitrust consent decree from 1970, 1 franchisee counterclaim settled); 4 collection suits filed by franchisor against former franchisees in 2025-2026

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
108 hrs
On-the-job training
1 hrs
Training location
Virtual, Online, On-site (varies by program)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee (with franchisor approval)
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
OnQ
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: OnQ

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(500) 115-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Outset Collection by Hilton franchise?

The total investment to open a Outset Collection by Hilton franchise ranges from $2.2M – $52.0M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Outset Collection by Hilton franchise owners earn?

Outset Collection by Hilton makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Outset Collection by Hilton?

Outset Collection by Hilton is franchised by Hilton Franchise Holding LLC. Its parent company is Hilton Domestic Operating Company Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Outset Collection by Hilton FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Outset Collection by Hilton FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Outset Collection by Hilton's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Outset Collection by Hilton (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Outset Collection by Hilton franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Outset Collection by Hilton has 2 total units in the United States, including 2 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Outset Collection by Hilton a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Outset Collection by Hilton as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 43 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Outset Collection by Hilton, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.