Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort logo

Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMIFranchising since 1970
AStrongest tierStrongest tier80/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$324K – $2.4M
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
4.3%
on 35 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-03023FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park is a family-camping franchise operating themed campground resorts with RV sites, cabins, pools, and activities. Franchisees own and operate a park managing reservations, grounds, amenities, and seasonal staff.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort franchise requires a total initial investment of $324K – $2.4M, including a $75K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 4.3% charge-off rate across 35 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$324K – $2.4M
18th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subsetProjection
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
78
42nd pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
4.3%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$324K – $2.4M
Median $8.9M
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$75K – $75K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$100K – $150K
Median $312K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
4.3%
35 loans · Median 3.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
78 units
Median 60 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
6.4%
Median 0.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $324K – $2.4M including a $75K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports Averages and Medians (per camper night) rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 80/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 4.3% across 35 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 1 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports Averages and Medians (per camper night) rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Camp Jellystone, LLC
Parent company
Sun Jellystone Holding, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Sun Communities, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Leisure Systems, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Robert E. Schutter, Jr.
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
27777 Franklin Road, Ste. 300, Southfield, Michigan 48034
Auditor
Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$12.6M
vs $11.1M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • entities

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Robert E. Schutter, Jr.
Headquarters
MI
Founded
1969
FDD year
2025
States available
27

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 85% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$324K – $2.4MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$75,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$100K – $150K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$75K$75K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$100K$150K
Equipment, build-out, other$149K$2.1M
Total initial investment$324K$2.4M

Source: Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$324K – $2.4M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$100K – $150K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$75K – $75K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$30K – $75K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeper-transaction figures
Sample size55

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $324K–$2.4M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $100K–$150K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.5M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Reported per transaction, not per outlet

Item 19 type
per-transaction figures
Sample size
55
vs category median 98
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
3 / 10
vs category median 0 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank18th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank53th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank42th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank3th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Lodging median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports Averages and Medians (per camper night) rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System expanding at 5.4% CAGR over 3 years across 78 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Compares

Metric
Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.3M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
78
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units78Verified — printed on page 51 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+5.4% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate6.4% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
78
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
6.4%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+5.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+5.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
1
Transferred
3
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
5.1%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2022
78
Franchised units
2023
78±0
Franchised units
2024
78±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 29 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 29 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

74 current owners across 29 states.

  • NY 6
  • TX 6
  • WI 6
  • IN 5
  • OH 5
  • PA 5
  • NC 4
  • MI 3
  • AL 2
  • DE 2
  • IA 2
  • IL 2
  • +17 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 4.3% charge-off
Total loans
35
Loan volume
$49.9M
Median loan
$1.4M
average
Charge-off rate
4.3%
on 35 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
95.7%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
20
Defaults
1
Typical loan rate
6.3%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
23%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 19 vintages from 1993 to 2025. Rates range from 0.0% to 50.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%'93'99'03'09'15'18'25

Top lenders financing Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort franchisees

Citizens Community Federal National Association8 loans16.7%
Customers Bank4 loans0.0%
First Guaranty Bank3 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 20 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
12
Loan volume
$21.0M
Charge-off rate
12.5%
Jobs created
128

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Avg interest rate
6.35%
Lender concentration
22.9%

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 23% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Citizens Community Federal National Association8$20.7M16.7%
2Customers Bank4$2.1M0.0%
3First Guaranty Bank3$6.2M0.0%
4The Huntington National Bank3$1.8MN/A
5Newtek Small Business Finance, Inc.2$1.7M0.0%
6First National Community Bank1$408KN/A
7JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association1$256K0.0%
8The Park National Bank1$235K0.0%
9Farmers State Bank1$200K0.0%
10Unity Bank1$500K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
MIMichigan600.0%
INIndiana400.0%
MOMissouri400.0%
NYNew York400.0%
WIWisconsin400.0%
TXTexas300.0%
VAVirginia200.0%
ILIllinois100.0%
KYKentucky100.0%
LALouisiana11100.0%

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 4.3% — 73% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off4.3% · 35 loans
Verdict score80/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier80Verdict score 80/100
High confidence±4 pts
7684

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $12.6MYr 2: $11.1MTotal: $11.1MNon-royalty: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures taken from the Item 21 / Exhibit C financial statements of Camp Jellystone, LLC (CJS, franchisor). Balance-sheet figures come from the Sun-TLP (Consolidated) internal GL summary as of Jun 2024 and reflect intercompany parent structure (Sun Communities, Inc. is parent): Total Assets $27,500,150; Total Equity is a deficit of -$24,890,448 (driven by ~$8.9M investment owed to Parent and negative member equity); implied Total Liabilities & Equity $27,500,150, so liabilities ~= $52,390,598. Net worth is negative on a consolidated intercompany basis and does not represent standalone solvency. Income-statement figures: Total Income (revenue) $4,795,370 most recent period and $5,949,760 prior; Net Income $321,268 (current) / $364,217 (prior); Other/Interest Income $11,496. Auditor CPA firm name not present in extractable text (audited statements pages appear as non-text/scanned). Item 19 (per-camper-night tables) and Item 7 development/POS/audit fees were image-based or absent, so left null.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 80 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNegative net worth -$24.9M (parent-level, brand equity not disclosed)
  2. 02MINORPositive parent net income $321,268, revenue $11.07M
  3. 03MINORNo litigation, no bankruptcy, no going-concern
  4. 04MEDHealthy 5.4% net growth, audited, Item 19 disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term7 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training54 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term7 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius25 mi
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ7
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Governing lawMichigan
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
34 hrs
On-the-job training
20 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee proposes, CJS approves
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Campspot
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Campspot

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

75 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 75 contacts · $49
Free preview
(812) 824-••••IN
Unlock all 75 contacts
(319) 465-••••IA
(270) 773-••••IA
(605) 332-••••SD
(709) 335-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort franchise?

The total investment to open a Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort franchise ranges from $324K – $2.4M, with an initial franchise fee of $75K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort?

Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort is franchised by Camp Jellystone, LLC. Its parent company is Sun Jellystone Holding, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Sun Communities, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort has a charge-off rate of 4.3% across 35 loans, meaning 4.3% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort has 78 total units in the United States, including 78 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 80 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.