Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential logo

Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMAFranchising since 2021
BAbove averageAbove average55/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.9M – $5.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (9)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02388Data QualityStandard76%Pre-openingFDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Sonesta Select and Sonesta Essential are select-service hotel franchise brands for the midscale and upper-midscale segments. Franchisees own and operate the properties, managing guest services, housekeeping, and revenue under Sonesta standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.9M – $5.2M, including a $45K – $65K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$1.9M – $5.2M
26th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
61
37th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.9M – $5.2M
Median $8.9M
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$45K – $65K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$300K – $600K
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
17.5% of rev
Median 8.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (9)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 9 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
61 units
Median 60 units
near median
Turnover Rate
6.3%
Median 0.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
19 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.9M – $5.2M including a $45K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 55/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (16 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • LEGAL19 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising Inc.
Parent company
Red Lion Hotels Corporation (RLHC)
Ultimate parent
Sonesta Holdco Corporation
Predecessor
companies
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and Director
John Murray
Incorporated in
Washington
HQ
400 Centre Street, Newton, Massachusetts 02458
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$55.6M
vs $54.0M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1

6 other brands on this site name Sonesta Holdco Corporation as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
John Murray
Headquarters
MA
Founded
1986
FDD year
2024
States available
12

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 60% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.9M – $5.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 37 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$45,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 38 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$300K – $600K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$45K$45K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$300K$600K
Equipment, build-out, other$1.5M$4.6M
Total initial investment$1.9M$5.2M

Source: Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.9M – $5.2M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$300K – $600K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $65K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
17.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$9
Transfer fee$45K
Renewal fee$45K
Total fee load17.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.9M–$5.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $300K–$600K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$4.0M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 17.5% — above the Lodging median of 8.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +14.3% over 3 years (16 opened, 1 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential Compares

Metric
Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential
Category median
vs median
Investment
$3.6M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
61
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Near median

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units61Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth+14.3% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate6.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
61
Opened
16
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
6.3%
Company-owned
45
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
26%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+14.3%
Net unit change over 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
4
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
2021
0
Franchised units
2022
14+14
Franchised units
2023
16+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 13 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 13 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Michigan
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

17 current owners across 13 states.

  • TX 4
  • GA 2
  • AL 1
  • AZ 1
  • CA 1
  • DE 1
  • IA 1
  • IL 1
  • IN 1
  • MA 1
  • MD 1
  • NC 1
  • +1 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 9 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
9
Loan volume
$43.6M
Median loan
$4.8M
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (9)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 9 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (9)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (9)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
3
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (9)
Verdict score55/100 (higher is better)
Litigation19 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average55Verdict score 55/100

56-unit lodging system with 19 litigation matters (1 pending shareholder class action, mostly concluded merger/franchisor-plaintiff suits). Financials are parent-level ($81.1M net worth, +$1.48M net income) so the brand's own equity is not disclosed. No Item 19 and no bankruptcy disclosed.

Moderate confidence±11 pts
4466

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

1 pending shareholder class action re TravelCenters/BP merger against director Adam Portnoy (unrelated to franchise operations); 8 concluded federal merger-disclosure suits re RLHC-Sonesta merger (settled, $240K attorneys fees paid); 10 other concluded suits, mostly franchisor-as-plaintiff actions against former franchisees/guarantors for unpaid fees/breach of guaranty (settlements ranging $10,500-$500,000), plus one competitor tortious-interference suit settled for $500,000.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $55.6MYr 2: $54.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor-level (Red Lion Hotels Corporation) consolidated revenue, not unit-level franchisee revenue

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 55 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHlitigation_count=19 (mostly concluded)
  2. 02MINORno Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINORparent net income positive +$1,477,000

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 17.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term20 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training31 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term20 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationWithin 50 miles of franchisor's then-current principal business address (currently Newton, Massachusetts)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMassachusetts
Litigation count19
View Item 3 litigation summary

1 pending shareholder class action re TravelCenters/BP merger against director Adam Portnoy (unrelated to franchise operations); 8 concluded federal merger-disclosure suits re RLHC-Sonesta merger (settled, $240K attorneys fees paid); 10 other concluded suits, mostly franchisor-as-plaintiff actions against former franchisees/guarantors for unpaid fees/breach of guaranty (settlements ranging $10,500-$500,000), plus one competitor tortious-interference suit settled for $500,000.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
31 hrs
Training location
On-site and franchisor location
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Oracle OPERA Cloud
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Oracle OPERA Cloud

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

17 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 17 contacts · $49
Free preview
281-987-••••TX
Unlock all 17 contacts
701-838-••••ND
707-469-••••CA
(205) 967-••••AL
(301) 441-••••MD

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential franchise?

The total investment to open a Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential franchise ranges from $1.9M – $5.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential franchise owners earn?

Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential?

Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential is franchised by Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising Inc.. Its parent company is Red Lion Hotels Corporation (RLHC). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Sonesta Holdco Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential has 61 total units in the United States, including 16 franchised units and 45 company-owned units. 16 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 55 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.