Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
No Grease! Barbershop logo

No Grease! Barbershop Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Personal Care & BeautyNCFranchising since 2017
BAbove averageAbove average46/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$157K – $303K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01786FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

No Grease! Barbershop is a men's grooming franchise offering haircuts, shaves, and grooming services. Franchisees run the shops, managing barbers, scheduling, and retail.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A No Grease! Barbershop franchise requires a total initial investment of $157K – $303K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$157K – $303K
13th pct Personal Care…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
12th pct Personal Care…
Units
12
19th pct Personal Care…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Personal Care & Beauty · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$157K – $303K
Median $402K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $40K
Median $34K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.9%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
12 units
Median 40 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
8.3%
Median 0.8%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Personal Care & Beauty median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $157K – $303K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 46/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Knights of the Razor Inc.
CEO title
President
Damian Johnson
Incorporated in
NC
HQ
333 East Trade Street, Suite D, Charlotte, North Carolina 28202
Auditor
BRC CPA
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$202K
vs $197K prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • No Grease

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Damian Johnson
Headquarters
NC
Founded
2017
FDD year
2025
States available
4

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 43% below the typical personal care & beauty franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$157K – $303KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $40K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

No Grease! Barbershop: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$40K
Equipment, build-out, other$117K$238K
Total initial investment$157K$303K

Source: No Grease! Barbershop 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$157K – $303K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

No Grease! Barbershop: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$225
Training fee$200
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $8K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Grease! Barbershop makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one No Grease! Barbershop unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $157K–$303K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$258K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 153 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Personal Care & Beauty median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -14.3% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Personal Care & Beauty medians

How No Grease! Barbershop Compares

Metric
No Grease! Barbershop
Category median
vs median
Investment
$230K
$402Kmiddle half $261K–$677K · n=112
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$527Kmiddle half $402K–$892K · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
12
40middle half 8–151 · n=111
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Personal Care & Beauty brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units12Verified — printed on page 52 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+14.3% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate8.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
12
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
8.3%
Company-owned
6
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
50%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+14.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-14.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
85.7%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
14.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2022
7
Franchised units
2023
7±0
Franchised units
2024
6-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 4 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

4

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score46/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average46Verdict score 46/100

A contracting barbershop franchise (down 14% YoY) with recent regulatory violations, missing financial disclosures, and unclear profitability metrics presents HIGH RISK unsuitable for most retail franchisees.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3359

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Consent Order from Maryland Securities Division (Case No. 2024-0474, January 22, 2025): Knights of the Razor Inc. offered and sold a franchise in Maryland prior to effective registration. Respondent admitted allegations, paid administrative penalty, and offered full rescission to the franchisee unit owner.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · BRC CPA

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.2MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenue for FY2024 of $202,154 comprises Franchise sales $20,180, Royalty fees and services $177,588, and Late fees $4,386 (Statements of Income, Knights of the Razor, Inc.).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 46 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 14.3% YoY (13 units) — significant contraction suggesting system-wide challenges or closures
  2. 02MINORRecent Maryland Securities Division Consent Order (January 2025) for unregistered franchise offering — regulatory compliance failure and legal exposure
  3. 03MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income (missing Item 19) — inability to assess profitability or ROI, major due diligence gap
  4. 04MEDHigh initial investment ($157K-$303K) with 6% royalty burden on undisclosed revenue base — unclear unit economics
  5. 05MINORShrinking franchise system with declining momentum — increases risk of inadequate support and franchisor viability

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 153 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term7 yrs
Renewal term7 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training63 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term7 years
Renewal term7 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window10 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMecklenburg County, North Carolina
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawNC
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Consent Order from Maryland Securities Division (Case No. 2024-0474, January 22, 2025): Knights of the Razor Inc. offered and sold a franchise in Maryland prior to effective registration. Respondent admitted allegations, paid administrative penalty, and offered full rescission to the franchisee unit owner.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
37 hrs
On-the-job training
26 hrs
Training location
Corporate headquarters in Charlotte, North Carolina
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
not specified
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: not specified

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

9 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 9 contacts · $49
Free preview
714-957-••••
Unlock all 9 contacts
(704) 957-••••
(980) 355-••••
608-261-••••
(704) 650-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a No Grease! Barbershop franchise?

The total investment to open a No Grease! Barbershop franchise ranges from $157K – $303K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do No Grease! Barbershop franchise owners earn?

No Grease! Barbershop makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns No Grease! Barbershop?

No Grease! Barbershop is franchised by Knights of the Razor Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the No Grease! Barbershop FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the No Grease! Barbershop FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is No Grease! Barbershop's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for No Grease! Barbershop (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many No Grease! Barbershop franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, No Grease! Barbershop has 12 total units in the United States, including 6 franchised units and 6 company-owned units.

Is No Grease! Barbershop a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates No Grease! Barbershop as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 46 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent No Grease! Barbershop, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Personal Care & Beauty franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Personal Care & Beauty category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.