Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
NexGen Fitness logo

NexGen Fitness Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessTXFranchising since 2018
BAbove averageAbove average61/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$209K – $856K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01769FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

NexGen Fitness is a gym franchise offering memberships, personal training, and group fitness classes. Franchisees run the clubs, managing staff, equipment, memberships, and personal training.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A NexGen Fitness franchise requires a total initial investment of $209K – $856K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$209K – $856K
39th pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
37th pct Health & Fitn…
Units
18
50th pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$209K – $856K
Median $392K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $90K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
18.3% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
18 units
Median 17 units
near median
Turnover Rate
5.6%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $209K – $856K including a $35K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 61/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 1 closed); 6 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
NexGen Fitness Franchising Corporation
Predecessor
NexGen Fitness Corporation
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Bryan Whatley
Incorporated in
TX
HQ
130 N Preston Rd, Suite 108 Prosper TX 75078
Auditor
Velez & Hardy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$675K
vs $388K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Bryan Whatley
Headquarters
TX
FDD year
2025
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 36% above the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$209K – $856KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$34,900Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.3%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$30K – $90K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

NexGen Fitness: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$35K$35K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$30K$90K
Equipment, build-out, other$144K$732K
Total initial investment$209K$856K

Source: NexGen Fitness 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$209K – $856K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $90K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.3%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
18.3%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

NexGen Fitness: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.3% of gross sales
Technology fee$10
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$500 – $10K
Total fee load18.3% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

NexGen Fitness makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one NexGen Fitness unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $209K–$856K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$90K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$592K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 18.3% — above the Health & Fitness median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 21.4% CAGR over 3 years across 18 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How NexGen Fitness Compares

Metric
NexGen Fitness
Category median
vs median
Investment
$532K
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
18
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Near median

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units18Verified — printed on page 53 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+21.4% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate5.6% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
18
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.6%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
94%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+21.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+21.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
1
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
6
0.33 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
14
Franchised units
2023
17+3
Franchised units
2024
17±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

22 current owners across 7 states.

  • TX 12
  • OK 4
  • CA 2
  • AZ 1
  • KS 1
  • MO 1
  • NY 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score61/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average61Verdict score 61/100

NexGen Fitness presents meaningful investment risk due to complete lack of financial transparency (no Item 19), tiny system size with unclear growth, and aggressive royalty structure relative to undisclosed unit economics.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4874

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Velez & Hardy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.7MYr 2: $0.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 61 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 (Average Revenue/Net Income) disclosed - impossible to assess actual profitability or ROI
  2. 02MINOROnly 18 units systemwide with unknown growth trajectory - suggests struggling or very early-stage system
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($208.5K-$856.4K) indicates unclear cost structure or high variability in build-out
  4. 04MINORMinimum royalty of $1,750/month ($21K annually) creates break-even pressure on low-revenue locations
  5. 05MEDNo litigation disclosed but 18-unit size makes this less meaningful than established brands
  6. 06MINORHigh royalty rate (7%) combined with unknown average revenue creates unpredictable profitability

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 18.3% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training26 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius3 mi
Territory population7,500
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window90 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationCollin County, Texas (AAA mediation before litigation)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawTX
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
26 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Prosper, Texas
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
10 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
MindBody Online; NexGen Ignite; Ikizmet; NexGen Nutrition; Camera System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: MindBody Online; NexGen Ignite; Ikizmet; NexGen Nutrition; Camera System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

23 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 23 contacts · $49
Free preview
(941) 404-••••CA
Unlock all 23 contacts
(323) 982-••••CA
(972) 672-••••TX
(972) 373-••••TX
(469) 862-••••TX

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a NexGen Fitness franchise?

The total investment to open a NexGen Fitness franchise ranges from $209K – $856K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do NexGen Fitness franchise owners earn?

NexGen Fitness makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns NexGen Fitness?

NexGen Fitness is franchised by NexGen Fitness Franchising Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the NexGen Fitness FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the NexGen Fitness FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is NexGen Fitness's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for NexGen Fitness (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many NexGen Fitness franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, NexGen Fitness has 18 total units in the United States, including 17 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is NexGen Fitness a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates NexGen Fitness as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 61 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent NexGen Fitness, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.