Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Mossy Oak Properties logo

Mossy Oak Properties Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateMississippiFranchising since 2002
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$20K – $72K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01691Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Mossy Oak Properties is a real-estate brokerage franchise specializing in rural land, hunting, farm, and recreational properties. Franchisees run offices recruiting land agents and marketing rural listings, earning from commissions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Mossy Oak Properties franchise requires a total initial investment of $20K – $72K, including a $15K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$20K – $72K
8th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
24th pct Real Estate
Units
87
45th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$20K – $72K
Median $133K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$15K – $15K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $15K
Median $22K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
87 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
11.5%
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $20K – $72K including a $15K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -6 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 10 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG6 units terminated last reporting year (6.9% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Mossy Oak Properties, Inc.
Parent company
Haas Outdoors, Inc. (affiliate, common control)
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and President
Chris Hawley
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
6015 Highway 45 Alt South, West Point, Mississippi 39773
Auditor
Taylor, Powell, Wilson & Hartford, P.A.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$4.7M
vs $4.6M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Chris Hawley
Headquarters
Mississippi
Founded
2001
FDD year
2024
States available
30

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 65% below the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$20K – $72KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$15,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$5K – $15K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown11 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$5K$15K
Mossy Oak Properties Advertising Campaign (MOPAC)not refundable——
Other Advertisingnot refundable$0$3K
Office Set-up / Improvementsnot refundable$3K$10K
Signsnot refundable$1K$5K
Furniture Fixtures and Equipmentnot refundable$3K$12K
Inventory and Suppliesnot refundable$200$2K
Trainingnot refundable$500$4K
Insurancenot refundable$300$2K
Miscellaneous Opening Costnot refundable$3K$5K
Additional Funds - 3 monthsnot refundable$5K$15K
Total initial investment$20K$72K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$20K – $72K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$15K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Mossy Oak Properties: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Technology fee$100
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$500
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$200 – $2K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Mossy Oak Properties makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Mossy Oak Properties unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $20K–$72K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$15K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$56K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 141 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Real Estate median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -6.3% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How Mossy Oak Properties Compares

Metric
Mossy Oak Properties
Category median
vs median
Investment
$46K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
87
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units87Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth-6.3% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate11.5% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
87
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
10
Terminated
6
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
2
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.5%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-6.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-6.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
6
Not renewed
2
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
8
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
1.1%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
2.3%
Units that stopped operating
2021
98
Franchised units
2022
89-9
Franchised units
2023
83-6
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 25 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 25 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

74 current owners across 25 states.

  • MS 9
  • TX 8
  • AR 7
  • AK 4
  • AL 4
  • MO 4
  • CA 3
  • GA 3
  • MI 3
  • MT 3
  • OH 3
  • VA 3
  • +13 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Mossy Oak Properties presents material risk due to contracting unit base, absent financial disclosures, and multiple litigations involving the franchisor, warranting careful validation before $20-72K investment.

Low confidence±15 pts
4171

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

3 concluded actions: (1) MOP v. Agrirec Land Company (franchisor as plaintiff, breach of franchise agreements, settled 2017); (2) Kerry Johnson v. MOP et al (franchisee plaintiff, breach of area development agreement and other claims, settled $85,000 in 2013); (3) Richard Cross v. Haas et al (former employee/shareholder plaintiff, breach of employment agreement and fiduciary duty, settled 2009 with MOP purchasing Cross's stock)

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Taylor, Powell, Wilson & Hartford, P.A.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $4.7MYr 2: $4.6MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor income statement for FY ended Dec 31, 2022; total revenues comprise franchise/expanded area fees $49,000, royalty and MOPAC fees $4,546,696, and other fees $66,763.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count declining 9.2% YoY (93 units) indicates shrinking franchise system and potential franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 financial disclosure (Avg Revenue and Net Income not disclosed) prevents validation of income claims and profitability
  3. 03HIGHThree litigation cases including two against franchisor by former franchisee and shareholder suggest operational/contractual disputes and governance issues
  4. 04MED6% royalty on gross commissions (real estate model) creates revenue volatility and incentivizes aggressive sales practices

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 141 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training14 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population150,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeNo
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ5
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationAmerican Arbitration Association Regional Office nearest West Point, Mississippi
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMississippi
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

3 concluded actions: (1) MOP v. Agrirec Land Company (franchisor as plaintiff, breach of franchise agreements, settled 2017); (2) Kerry Johnson v. MOP et al (franchisee plaintiff, breach of area development agreement and other claims, settled $85,000 in 2013); (3) Richard Cross v. Haas et al (former employee/shareholder plaintiff, breach of employment agreement and fiduciary duty, settled 2009 with MOP purchasing Cross's stock)

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
14 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
West Point, Mississippi
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

74 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 74 contacts · $49
Free preview
(940) 549-••••TX
Unlock all 74 contacts
(580) 326-••••OH
(417) 859-••••MO
(724) 678-••••OR
(601) 362-••••MS

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Mossy Oak Properties franchise?

The total investment to open a Mossy Oak Properties franchise ranges from $20K – $72K, with an initial franchise fee of $15K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Mossy Oak Properties franchise owners earn?

Mossy Oak Properties makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Mossy Oak Properties?

Mossy Oak Properties is franchised by Mossy Oak Properties, Inc.. Its parent company is Haas Outdoors, Inc. (affiliate, common control). Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Mossy Oak Properties FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Mossy Oak Properties FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Mossy Oak Properties's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Mossy Oak Properties (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Mossy Oak Properties franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Mossy Oak Properties has 87 total units in the United States, including 83 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Mossy Oak Properties a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Mossy Oak Properties as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Mossy Oak Properties, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.