Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Amato's logo

Amato's Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsMEFranchising since 2002
AStrongest tierStrongest tier75/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$435K – $738K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00114FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Amato's is a New England quick-service franchise known as the home of the original Italian sandwich, plus pizza and deli fare. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Amato's franchise requires a total initial investment of $435K – $738K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$435K – $738K
69th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
53
66th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$435K – $738K
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
53 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $435K – $738K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 75/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +5 franchised outlets in the latest year (5 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 24.2% CAGR over 3 years with 53 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Reali Holdings Company, Inc. d/b/a Amato's
Ultimate parent
Amato's Sandwich Shops Inc. (ASSI)
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Amato's Sandwich Shops Inc. (ASSI)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President & Owner
Dominic Reali
CEO experience
50 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
ME
HQ
312 St. John Street, Portland, Maine 04102
Auditor
McLeod Ascanio (McLeod | Ascanio, Certified Public Accountants)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.0M
vs $980K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Dominic Reali
Headquarters
ME
Founded
2002
FDD year
2025
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 21% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$435K – $738KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $30K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Fee$25K$25K
Real Estate/Rent$35K$70K
Utility Deposits$4K$5K
Leasehold Improvements$150K$250K
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment$125K$250K
Initial Inventory$15K$25K
Insurance$7K$9K
Signage$25K$35K
Office Equipment & Supplies$11K$15K
Grand Opening$5K$8K
Training$10K$12K
Legal/Accounting/Licenses/Permits$3K$4K
Additional Funds (3 months)$20K$30K
Total initial investment$435K$738K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$435K – $738K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Amato's: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$15K – $25K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Amato's makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Amato's unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $435K–$738K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$612K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 24.2% CAGR over 3 years across 53 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Amato's Compares

Metric
Amato's
Category median
vs median
Investment
$587K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
53
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units53Verified — printed on page 43 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+24.2% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
53
Opened
5
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
12
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
77%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+24.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+24.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
33
Franchised units
2023
36+3
Franchised units
2024
41+5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

8 current owners across 4 states.

  • ME 4
  • VT 2
  • MA 1
  • OH 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$197K
Median loan
$197K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score75/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier75Verdict score 75/100

Amato's presents CAUTION-level risk due to absent financial disclosures, unprotected territories, unclear going concern status, and wide cost variance that obscures true profitability potential.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
6288

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Disclosure Document.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · McLeod Ascanio (McLeod | Ascanio, Certified Public Accountants)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.0MYr 2: $1.0MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited financials are for Reali Holding Company, Inc. d/b/a Amato's. FY2024 total income $1,012,830 = royalties $975,330 + franchise fees $37,500. Interest and dividend income of $33,971 is reported separately as other income (excluded from total income). Auditor opinion dated July 15, 2025, Cumberland Foreside, Maine.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 75 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial performance data disclosed — impossible to validate ROI claims or break-even timelines
  2. 02MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; multiple franchisees could cannibalize same market
  3. 03MINOR13.9% YoY growth is modest for a growing franchise; does not offset lack of financial transparency
  4. 04MINORShort 5-year term limits franchisee upside and creates uncertainty for multi-year payback models

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training160 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ3
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population50,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationPortland, Maine
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawME
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Disclosure Document.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
20 hrs
On-the-job training
140 hrs
Training location
Portland, Maine
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
40 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

8 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 8 contacts · $49
Free preview
(802) 272-••••VT
Unlock all 8 contacts
(617) 631-••••MA
(207) 791-••••ME
(207) 743-••••ME
(802) 655-••••VT

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Amato's franchise?

The total investment to open a Amato's franchise ranges from $435K – $738K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Amato's franchise owners earn?

Amato's makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Amato's?

Amato's is franchised by Reali Holdings Company, Inc. d/b/a Amato's. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Amato's Sandwich Shops Inc. (ASSI). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Amato's FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Amato's FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Amato's's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Amato's (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Amato's franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Amato's has 53 total units in the United States, including 41 franchised units and 12 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Amato's a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Amato's as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 75 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Amato's, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.