Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Wahlburgers logo

Wahlburgers Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsMIFranchising since 2014
DBelow averageBelow average30/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.5M – $2.8M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02918FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Wahlburgers is a casual-dining franchise serving burgers, sandwiches, and shakes, founded by the Wahlberg family. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, bar, and dining service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Wahlburgers franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.5M – $2.8M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$1.5M – $2.8M
36th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
25th pct Service Resta…
Units
25
22nd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.5M – $2.8M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $100K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.5% of rev
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
25 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
82.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.5M – $2.8M including a $50K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 30/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -85 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 87 closed); 2 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
NativeWahl LLC (Subfranchisor); Wahlburgers Franchising LLC (Franchisor)
Parent company
Native Source Restaurant Group, LLC (NativeWahl); Wahlburgers Holding Company LLC (WF)
Ultimate parent
Wahlburgers Holding Company LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer (WF)
Randall K. Sharpe
Incorporated in
Michigan (NativeWahl LLC)
HQ
2608 Government Center Drive, Manistee, Michigan 49660
Auditor
Midwest Professionals, P.L.L.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$5.1M
vs $5.7M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Wahlburgers Franchising International

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Randall K. Sharpe
Headquarters
MI
Founded
2011
FDD year
2025
States available
12

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 218% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.5M – $2.8MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$50K – $100K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$50K$50K
Grand Opening Advertising$15K$15K
Real Estate——
Architectural Design Services$25K$55K
Construction/Leasehold Improvements$900K$1.8M
Travel and Living Expenses While Training$25K$80K
Furnishing, Fixtures, Equipment$350K$450K
Signage$25K$35K
Smallwares$20K$50K
Initial Inventory$10K$20K
Liquor Licenses——
Miscellaneous Opening Costs$30K$60K
Register or Point of Sale System$30K$70K
Additional Funds -- 3 months$50K$100K
Total initial investment$1.5M$2.8M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.5M – $2.8M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Wahlburgers: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$20K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $20K
Total fee load8.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Wahlburgers makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Wahlburgers unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.5M–$2.8M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$2.2M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.5% — above the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Wahlburgers Compares

Metric
Wahlburgers
Category median
vs median
Investment
$2.2M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
25
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units25Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 50 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Turnover rate82.1% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
25
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
87
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
82.1%
Company-owned
4
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
84%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
0.08 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
19.6%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
50.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2022
92
Franchised units
2023
106+14
Franchised units
2024
21-85
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 22 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 22 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Washington

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

94 current owners across 22 states.

  • IA 23
  • MN 15
  • NE 9
  • IL 8
  • MO 8
  • OH 5
  • CA 4
  • KS 4
  • MA 4
  • NV 2
  • AL 1
  • CT 1
  • +10 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score30/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average30Verdict score 30/100

Wahlburgers posted a net loss of -$1,079,718 on $5,147,762 revenue with a thin net worth of $927,892, and system units fell 74.2% net. One concluded fiduciary-duty suit (Leonard v. Wahlberg, settled 2019 for $900,000) plus no Item 19 disclosure add concerns. Stacked financial weakness and sharp unit contraction drive the mid-range score.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
1743

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Leonard v. Wahlberg (Mass. Superior Ct., filed 2017): minority owners of WB Holding sued Mark/Donnie/Paul Wahlberg and affiliates alleging breach of fiduciary duty and misrepresentation; settled June 2019 (Closest to the Burger, LLC paid $900,000 to acquire plaintiff's interest); dismissed with prejudice July 31, 2019.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Midwest Professionals, P.L.L.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $5.1MYr 2: $5.7MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Wahlburgers Franchising LLC; fiscal year ends on the Sunday closest to December 31; Exhibit G: audited statements for fiscal years ending January 1, 2023, December 31, 2023 and December 29, 2024, plus unaudited statements as of May 25, 2025.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 30 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNegative net income -$1,079,718 on revenue $5,147,762
  2. 02MINORThin franchisor net worth $927,892
  3. 03MINORNet unit growth -74.2% (steep contraction)
  4. 04HIGHOne concluded litigation matter (settled $900k)
  5. 05MINORNo Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training84 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ2 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ3
Curable defaultsℹ6
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationAAA office nearest to NativeWahl's (or WF's, if named party) principal offices; subfranchise agreement disputes first go through tribal peacemaking
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMichigan
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Leonard v. Wahlberg (Mass. Superior Ct., filed 2017): minority owners of WB Holding sued Mark/Donnie/Paul Wahlberg and affiliates alleging breach of fiduciary duty and misrepresentation; settled June 2019 (Closest to the Burger, LLC paid $900,000 to acquire plaintiff's interest); dismissed with prejudice July 31, 2019.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
5 hrs
On-the-job training
79 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
NCR Aloha
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: NCR Aloha

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

94 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 94 contacts · $49
Free preview
(515) 986-••••IA
Unlock all 94 contacts
(617) 927-••••MA
(816) 476-••••MO
(319) 378-••••IA
(323) 798-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Wahlburgers franchise?

The total investment to open a Wahlburgers franchise ranges from $1.5M – $2.8M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Wahlburgers franchise owners earn?

Wahlburgers makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Wahlburgers?

Wahlburgers is franchised by NativeWahl LLC (Subfranchisor); Wahlburgers Franchising LLC (Franchisor). Its parent company is Native Source Restaurant Group, LLC (NativeWahl); Wahlburgers Holding Company LLC (WF). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Wahlburgers Holding Company LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Wahlburgers FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Wahlburgers FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Wahlburgers's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Wahlburgers (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Wahlburgers franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Wahlburgers has 25 total units in the United States, including 21 franchised units and 4 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Wahlburgers a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Wahlburgers as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 30 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Wahlburgers, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.