Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Steak Escape Sandwich Grill logo

Steak Escape Sandwich Grill Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsOHFranchising since 2012
CAverageAverage39/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$240K – $829K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02444FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Steak Escape is a quick-service franchise serving grilled cheesesteaks, sandwiches, and fresh-cut fries. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service, often in food courts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Steak Escape Sandwich Grill franchise requires a total initial investment of $240K – $829K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$240K – $829K
34th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
23
51st pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$240K – $829K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
23 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
21.7%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $240K – $829K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 39/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -4 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 5 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -20.8% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Escape Enterprises, Ltd.
Parent company
Escape Enterprises, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 11 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Interim President
Kyle Turner
Incorporated in
Ohio
HQ
1099 Sullivant Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43223
Auditor
Holbrook & Manter
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.1M
vs $1.0M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • companies

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 11

1 other brand on this site name Escape Enterprises, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Kyle Turner
Headquarters
OH
Founded
1996
FDD year
2025
States available
7

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 10% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$240K – $829KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $30K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$25K$25K
Initial Training Expenses$2K$4K
Initial Inventory of Food, Paper Products and Misc. Supplies$5K$10K
Space Lease (Security Deposit and First Three Months' Rent)$6K$24K
Construction and Leasehold Improvements$75K$475K
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment$77K$140K
Signs and Graphics$7K$37K
POS System$4K$15K
Lease Negotiation Legal Expenses$2K$10K
Architectural Services$8K$35K
Insurance$2K$8K
Uniforms$1K$2K
Pre-Opening Advertising$4K$10K
Utility Deposits, Business Licenses, and Prepaid Expenses$2K$4K
Additional Funds - Three Months$20K$30K
Total initial investment$240K$829K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$240K – $829K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Steak Escape Sandwich Grill: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.5% of gross sales
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $10K
Total fee load7.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Steak Escape Sandwich Grill makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Steak Escape Sandwich Grill unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $240K–$829K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$559K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.5% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -20.8% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Steak Escape Sandwich Grill Compares

Metric
Steak Escape Sandwich Grill
Category median
vs median
Investment
$534K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
23
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units23Verified — printed on page 37 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-20.8% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate21.7% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
23
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
5
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
21.7%
Company-owned
4
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
83%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-20.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-20.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
1
Transfer rate
10.5%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
79.2%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
10.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
21.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
24
Franchised units
2023
23-1
Franchised units
2024
19-4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 7 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

7

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$111K
Median loan
$111K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score39/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage39Verdict score 39/100

One Item 3 royalty-collection suit (routine), no Item 19, and a sharp -20.8% net unit decline (23 units, 21% turnover). Franchisor is barely profitable at $6,726 net income on $1.07M revenue though net worth is solid at $1.2M and audited.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
2949

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (plaintiff).

Escape Enterprises, Ltd. v. SESHMS Inc., et al. (22CV001626, Court of Common Pleas, Franklin County, Ohio, 2022) - suit to collect royalty payments

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Holbrook & Manter

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.1MYr 2: $1.0MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Revenue = royalty fees $997,193 + franchise/transfer fees $69,744 = $1,066,937 (2024); $1,032,948 (2023). Net income $6,726 (2024), $208,322 (2023).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 39 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNet decline -20.8% in units
  2. 02HIGHOne royalty-collection litigation matter
  3. 03MINORMarginal net income $6,726
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training212 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ3 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ15
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFranklin County, Ohio
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawOhio
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Escape Enterprises, Ltd. v. SESHMS Inc., et al. (22CV001626, Court of Common Pleas, Franklin County, Ohio, 2022) - suit to collect royalty payments

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
70 hrs
On-the-job training
142 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
joint
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Escape-approved POS vendor (not named)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Escape-approved POS vendor (not named)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

7 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 7 contacts · $49
Free preview
(614) 813-••••
Unlock all 7 contacts
601-898-••••
419-344-••••
304-253-••••
612-804-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Steak Escape Sandwich Grill franchise?

The total investment to open a Steak Escape Sandwich Grill franchise ranges from $240K – $829K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Steak Escape Sandwich Grill franchise owners earn?

Steak Escape Sandwich Grill makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Steak Escape Sandwich Grill?

Steak Escape Sandwich Grill is franchised by Escape Enterprises, Ltd.. Its parent company is Escape Enterprises, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Steak Escape Sandwich Grill FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Steak Escape Sandwich Grill FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Steak Escape Sandwich Grill's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Steak Escape Sandwich Grill (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Steak Escape Sandwich Grill franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Steak Escape Sandwich Grill has 23 total units in the United States, including 19 franchised units and 4 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Steak Escape Sandwich Grill a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Steak Escape Sandwich Grill as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 39 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Steak Escape Sandwich Grill, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.