Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Shilo Inns logo

Shilo Inns Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingORFranchising since 2001
DBelow averageBelow average33/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$7.4M – $67.6M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02301Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Shilo Inns is a hotel franchise operating midscale, full and limited-service properties. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing front desk, housekeeping, and revenue under brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Shilo Inns franchise requires a total initial investment of $7.4M – $67.6M, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$7.4M – $67.6M
36th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
65th pct Lodging
Units
18
27th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$7.4M – $67.6M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
N/A
Median $312K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
5.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
18 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
13 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $7.4M – $67.6M including a $25K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 33/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGBankruptcy history disclosed in the FDD. Review Item 4 for details before proceeding.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Shilo Inns, Franchise, LLC
Parent company
Shilo Franchise International, LLC (affiliate)
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2023 FDD
Predecessor
Shilo Inns Suites Hotels Franchise, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Founder/Manager
Mark S. Hemstreet
Incorporated in
OR
HQ
11707 NE Airport Way, Portland, Oregon 97220
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$256K
vs $23K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Mark S. Hemstreet
Headquarters
OR
Founded
1974
FDD year
2023
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 321% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$7.4M – $67.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 27 of the 2023 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2023 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capitalNot extracted

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Shilo Inns: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Equipment, build-out, other$7.3M$67.6M
Total initial investment$7.4M$67.6M

Source: Shilo Inns 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$7.4M – $67.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
N/A
Cash you must have on hand
Franchise fee
$25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
No separate advertising fund fee disclosed; advertising c…
Total fee load
5.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Shilo Inns: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$300 – $1K
Total fee load5.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Shilo Inns makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Shilo Inns unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $7.4M–$67.6M (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy, other operating costs and working capital, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
—
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.0% — below the Lodging median of 8.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Shilo Inns Compares

Metric
Shilo Inns
Category median
vs median
Investment
$37.5M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
18
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units18Verified — printed on page 46 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
18
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
12
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
33%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
5
Franchised units
2021
6+1
Franchised units
2022
6±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 8 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 8 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

21 current owners across 8 states.

  • OR 12
  • ID 3
  • AZ 1
  • CA 1
  • MT 1
  • NV 1
  • TX 1
  • WA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 2 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$5.9M
Median loan
$2.9M
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (2)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (2)
Verdict score33/100 (higher is better)
Litigation13 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average33Verdict score 33/100
Low confidence±14 pts
1947

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Extensive history of creditor/lender litigation (bank defaults, foreclosures, judgments) against Mark Hemstreet, Shilo Management Corporation, and various Shilo Company Entities arising from real estate/commercial loan defaults during the 2008 downturn and COVID-19. Most cases settled or dismissed via property sale or negotiated settlement; one case (Cathay Bank) is ongoing as of the FDD date.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: the company or an affiliate. Disclosed (Item 4 covers the last 10 years)

Shilo Inn, Newberg, LLC 501 Sitka Avenue, Newberg, OR, 97132 11600 SW Shilo Lane, Portland, OR, 97225 5/1/2013 Plan filed 6/5/2015 Property Sold to Third Party and matter dismissed as a result of settlement In re. Shilo Inn, Newberg, LLC; United States Bankruptcy Court, Central District of California – Los Angeles Division 2:13-bk- 21605 ... Shilo Inn, Boise Airport, LLC 4111 Broadway Avenue, Boise, ID, 83705 11600 SW Shilo Lane, Portland, OR, 97225 5/1/2013 Plan Filed 6/5/2015 Dismissed by Settlement In re. Shilo Inn, Boise Airport, LLC; United States Bankruptcy Court, Central District of California – Los Angeles Division 2:13-bk- 21603 ... Shilo Inn, Seaside East, LLC 900 S Holladay, Seaside, OR, 97138 11600 SW Shilo Lane, Portland, OR, 97225 5/1/2013 Plan Filed 6/5/2015 Dismissed by Settlement In re: Shilo Inn, Seaside East, LLC; United States Bankruptcy Court, Central District of California – Los Angeles Division 2:13-bk- 21606 ... Shilo Inn, Casper, LLC 739 Luker Lane, Evansville, WY, 82636 7/24/2013 5/8/2014 4/23/2014 Property Sold to Third Party and matter dismissed as a result of settlement In re: Shilo Inn, Casper, LLC; United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of ...

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.3MYr 2: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 33 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGH12 litigation matters (creditor/foreclosure history)
  2. 02MINORMultiple 2013 affiliate Chapter 11 bankruptcies (resolved ~2015)
  3. 03MINORSmall/shrinking system: 18 units, 6 franchised
  4. 04MINORNo going-concern note

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training16 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹ20,000 to 60,000 persons
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawOregon
Litigation count13
View Item 3 litigation summary

Extensive history of creditor/lender litigation (bank defaults, foreclosures, judgments) against Mark Hemstreet, Shilo Management Corporation, and various Shilo Company Entities arising from real estate/commercial loan defaults during the 2008 downturn and COVID-19. Most cases settled or dismissed via property sale or negotiated settlement; one case (Cathay Bank) is ongoing as of the FDD date.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
10 hrs
On-the-job training
6 hrs
Training location
On-site and franchisor location
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee (franchisor approves but does not locate or negotiate site)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
SkyTouch Hotel Property Management System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: SkyTouch Hotel Property Management System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

21 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 21 contacts · $49
Free preview
(541) 389-••••OR
Unlock all 21 contacts
(520) 782-••••AZ
(254) 699-••••TX
(406) 442-••••MT
(503) 861-••••OR

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Shilo Inns franchise?

The total investment to open a Shilo Inns franchise ranges from $7.4M – $67.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Shilo Inns franchise owners earn?

Shilo Inns makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Shilo Inns?

Shilo Inns is franchised by Shilo Inns, Franchise, LLC. Its parent company is Shilo Franchise International, LLC (affiliate). Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Shilo Inns FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Shilo Inns FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Shilo Inns's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Shilo Inns (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Shilo Inns franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Shilo Inns has 18 total units in the United States, including 6 franchised units and 12 company-owned units.

Is Shilo Inns a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Shilo Inns as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 33 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Shilo Inns, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.