Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Happy Lemon logo

Happy Lemon Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2018
BAbove averageAbove average69/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$298K – $587K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (4)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01156FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Happy Lemon is a quick-service bubble-tea franchise known for its salted-cheese-topped teas, fruit teas, and boba drinks. Franchisees run compact shops managing drink prep, POS, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Happy Lemon franchise requires a total initial investment of $298K – $587K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$298K – $587K
48th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
90th pct Service Resta…
Units
115
78th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$298K – $587K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $80K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (4)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 4 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
115 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
8.7%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $298K – $587K including a $30K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 69/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (10 opened, 10 closed); 9 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 16.5% CAGR over 3 years with 115 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Yummy-town USA LLC
Parent company
Yummy-town Holding Corporation (YTHC)
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Yummy Town (Cayman) Holdings Corporation
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Andy Chiang
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
1801 Highland Avenue, Unit G, Duarte, California 91010
Auditor
JTC Accountancy Corp
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$8.3M
vs $6.8M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Andy Chiang
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2017
FDD year
2025
States available
13

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 9% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$298K – $587KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$20K – $80K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$30K$30K
Technology Set-Up Fee$20K$20K
Store Pre-Opening Fee$30K$30K
Your Initial Training Expenses for Your Personnel$12K$16K
Rent & Deposit$4K$10K
Architects Fees, Engineering Plans, Construction, Remodeling, Decorating, Signage, Leasehold Improvements, Fixtures and Furniture$100K$250K
Equipment$40K$65K
Opening Inventory and Supplies$15K$45K
Insurance$8K$12K
Security and Utility Deposits, Licenses, Permits, Certificates and other Prepaid Expenses$10K$15K
Legal, Accounting Costs$5K$8K
Computers, Point of Sale System and Related Software$4K$6K
Additional Funds for 3 months$20K$80K
Total initial investment$298K$587K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$298K – $587K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $80K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Happy Lemon: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$20K
Training fee$400
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$30K
Inventory (initial)$15K – $45K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Happy Lemon makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Happy Lemon unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $298K–$587K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$80K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$492K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

7.0% royalty + 0.0% ad fund — higher than the category average of 5.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 16.5% CAGR over 3 years across 115 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Happy Lemon Compares

Metric
Happy Lemon
Category median
vs median
Investment
$442K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
115
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units115Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+16.5% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate8.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
115
Opened
10
Last reporting year
Closed
10
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
5
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
8.7%
Company-owned
9
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
92%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+16.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+16.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
5
Transferred
15
Reacquired
3
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
9
0.08 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
17
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
13.0%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
4.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
3.5%
Units that stopped operating
2022
91
Franchised units
2023
106+15
Franchised units
2024
106±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 13 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 13 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

66 current owners across 13 states; 22 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • WA 19
  • CA 18
  • TX 13
  • FL 3
  • CO 2
  • HI 2
  • NY 2
  • OR 2
  • AZ 1
  • GA 1
  • IL 1
  • MA 1
  • +1 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 4 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
4
Loan volume
$1.3M
Median loan
$350K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (4)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 4 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (4)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (4)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
3
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (4)
Verdict score69/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average69Verdict score 69/100
Moderate confidence±10 pts
5979

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

Two California DFPI consent orders in April 2021: (1) against Yummy-town USA LLC for failing to disclose former California franchisees of affiliate HL Hong Kong ($7,500 penalty); (2) against Happy Lemon HK Limited for offering/selling franchises before properly registering in California ($13,000 penalty)

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · JTC Accountancy Corp

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $8.3MYr 2: $6.8MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2024 consolidated audited statements of Yummy-town USA LLC and its subsidiary (HL West). Net loss of $(102,879) consolidated; net loss attributable to Yummy Town USA LLC was $(171,538). Audited by JTC Accountancy Corp (December 31, 2024 and 2023).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No
Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training143 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationLos Angeles County, California
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawCA
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two California DFPI consent orders in April 2021: (1) against Yummy-town USA LLC for failing to disclose former California franchisees of affiliate HL Hong Kong ($7,500 penalty); (2) against Happy Lemon HK Limited for offering/selling franchises before properly registering in California ($13,000 penalty)

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
128 hrs
Training location
Training facilities in the United States, on-site at your store, or online
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
128 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
5 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Point of Sale (POS) system
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Point of Sale (POS) system

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

88 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 88 contacts · $49
Free preview
832-513-••••TX
Unlock all 88 contacts
408-813-••••CA
479-461-••••TX
575-571-••••CA
253-327-••••WA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Happy Lemon franchise?

The total investment to open a Happy Lemon franchise ranges from $298K – $587K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Happy Lemon franchise owners earn?

Happy Lemon makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Happy Lemon?

Happy Lemon is franchised by Yummy-town USA LLC. Its parent company is Yummy-town Holding Corporation (YTHC). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Yummy Town (Cayman) Holdings Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Happy Lemon FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Happy Lemon FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Happy Lemon's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Happy Lemon (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Happy Lemon franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Happy Lemon has 115 total units in the United States, including 106 franchised units and 9 company-owned units. 10 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Happy Lemon a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Happy Lemon as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 69 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Happy Lemon, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.