Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict

Data Deep-Dive

Highest Revenue Franchises Per Location (FDD Data)

Quick answer

The highest-revenue franchise brands ranked live by Item 19 average gross sales per outlet, with investment, grade and SBA data.

By , founder10 min readReviewed against SBA & FDD data

When people search for the highest-revenue franchise, they expect to see McDonald's or Chick-fil-A at the top. And Chick-fil-A does rank high at $9.3M (outlet subset) per location. But the real surprises are the home services and B2B brands that quietly generate multi-million-dollar gross sales per franchise territory — at a fraction of the investment.

We pulled every brand in our database that discloses average gross sales through Item 19 of their FDD and ranked them by revenue per location. Here are the top 9. Brands whose figure is not a per-location average that can be compared (averaged per franchisee, company-owned units only, or a partial year) follow them, unranked, with the figure as disclosed.

Top 9 franchises by average gross sales

RankBrandCategoryAvg. Gross SalesInvestmentSBA Charge-OffGrade
1Vital CareHealthcare$16.5M$556K – $1.0MN/AA
2AR HomesReal Estate$14.7M$535K – $2.2MN/AB
3City Wide Facility SolutionsBusiness Services$9.8M$230K – $411K0.0%A
4Chick-fil-ARestaurants$9.3MOutlet subset$427K – $2.3MN/AA
5Best Choice RoofingHome Services$7.5MIncl. company outlets$117K – $193KN/AB
6ByriderAutomotive$7.0M$947K – $1.6MN/AB
7Window WorldHome Services$5.8M$123K – $363K0.0%A
8Precision Garage DoorHome Services$5.7MOutlet subset$164K – $360KN/AA
9Giordano'sRestaurants$1.8MOutlet subset$1.6M – $2.1MN/AB
—KeyGleeReal EstateNot disclosed$67K – $257KN/AD
—Closets By DesignHome Services$9.9MPer franchisee, not per outlet$154K – $511K17.1%B
—Estrella InsuranceFinancial ServicesNot disclosed$50K – $84KN/AA
—Always Best CareSenior Care$3.2MPer franchisee, not per outlet$90K – $146K6.2%A
—USA InsulationHome Services$1.6MPer franchisee, not per outletIncl. company outlets$304K – $477K8.3%B
—Design Pro RemodelingHome ServicesNot disclosed$66K – $104KN/AB
—Go PaintingHome Services$509KPer franchisee, not per outlet$137K – $180KN/AB
—Urban AirRecreationNot disclosed$3.1M – $5.8M3.3%A
—First Day HomecareSenior CareNot disclosed$139K – $248KN/AD
—Service ExpertsHome Services$6.3MCompany-owned only$146K – $285KN/AB
—Closet FactoryHome Services$6.1MPer franchisee, not per outlet$393K – $664KN/AA
—SpherionBusiness Services$6.0MPer franchisee, not per outlet$214K – $343KN/AA

Gross sales are not profit.

Home services and restaurants in the ranking

Of the top 9 highest-revenue franchises, 3 are home services brands: Best Choice Roofing ($7.5M (incl. company outlets)), Window World ($5.8M), and Precision Garage Door ($5.7M (outlet subset)).

2 of the top 9 are restaurant concepts (Chick-fil-A, Giordano's). This challenges the assumption that restaurants generate the most revenue. They generate the most recognizable revenue, but home services territories often cover larger geographic areas with multiple crews.

The revenue-to-investment ratio is where it gets interesting

Raw revenue matters less than what you pay for it. Here are the top 5 by revenue-to-investment ratio (comparable average gross sales over the top of the investment range):

  • Best Choice Roofing: $7.5M / $193K = 39.0x
  • City Wide Facility Solutions: $9.8M / $411K = 23.9x
  • Vital Care: $16.5M / $1.0M = 16.4x
  • Precision Garage Door: $5.7M / $360K = 15.9x
  • Window World: $5.8M / $363K = 15.9x

Chick-fil-A has a ratio of 4.0x ($9.3M / $2.3M). For a full analysis of capital efficiency, see the best franchise ROI rankings.

High revenue does not always mean low risk

One brand in this list carries an SBA charge-off rate above the national franchise average of 16.0%: Closets By Design (17.1%). High revenue with high defaults typically indicates that the business model has high fixed costs or seasonal volatility that makes profitability inconsistent despite strong top-line numbers.

The high-revenue brands with the cleanest SBA records combine $5M+ in gross sales with 0% SBA defaults: City Wide Facility Solutions, Window World all achieve this. Check the lowest failure rate rankings for brands that combine revenue with safety.

Why some brands report such high revenue

A quick note on methodology: home services and B2B franchises often report territory-level revenue, which includes all crews, trucks, or salespeople operating under one franchise agreement. A single Precision Garage Door territory might run many service vans generating $5.7M (outlet subset) combined. This is different from a single Chick-fil-A location doing $9.3M (outlet subset) through one kitchen.

Both figures are real and FDD-disclosed, but they measure different things. Territory revenue scales with the number of crews you deploy. Single-location revenue is bounded by physical capacity. Neither is "better" — they are different business models with different scaling mechanics.

The verdict

The highest-revenue franchises are not where most people expect them. Service brands such as home services and B2B facility management rank near the top of the revenue list, often at investment levels well below QSR. If you are optimizing for gross sales per dollar invested, the data points away from restaurants and toward territory-based service businesses.

Explore every brand's revenue data on the franchise screener or browse by category in the directory.

Methodology

Revenue data sourced from Item 19 financial performance representations in each brand's most recent FDD filing (2024-2025). Only brands that disclose average gross sales are included. SBA data from 7(a) loan records. See our full methodology.

Related franchise research

Continue your research with our 7-Eleven franchise analysis, Ace Hardware franchise analysis, and best food franchises guide.

Research this brand further

Frequently Asked Questions

Which franchise has the highest revenue per location?
Based on FDD Item 19 data, the brands in our ranking reporting the highest comparable average gross sales, often as territory-wide figures, are Vital Care ($16.5M), AR Homes ($14.7M), City Wide Facility Solutions ($9.8M). Among the restaurants in the ranking, Chick-fil-A leads at $9.3M (outlet subset). Gross sales are not profit.
Do high-revenue franchises mean high profits?
Not necessarily. Revenue is gross sales before expenses. A franchise with $9M in revenue and 60% cost of goods may yield less profit than one with $2M in revenue and 15% COGS. Always cross-reference revenue with net income disclosure and SBA charge-off rates.
Why do home service franchises have higher revenue than restaurants?
Home service franchises often report territory-wide revenue (multiple trucks or crews) rather than single-location revenue. A single franchise territory can generate $5M+ with multiple service teams.
Where does FranchiseVerdict get franchise revenue data?
All revenue data comes from Item 19 financial performance representations in each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD). These are figures franchisors voluntarily disclose. Not all brands include Item 19 data, and many do not disclose revenue at all.