Analysis
Best Senior Care Franchises: Revenue, Cost and SBA Data
Quick answer
Senior care franchise brands ranked by Verdict Score (higher is better), with live revenue, investment, and SBA loan data, and the demographic case behind the category.
SBA charge-off rate by franchise category
The best senior care franchises in 2026 combine multi-million-dollar revenue with some of the lowest failure rates in all of franchising. Based on FranchiseVerdict's analysis of FDD data and SBA loan performance for every senior care franchise brand in our database, standout performers include Home Instead ($2.8M avg gross sales, 2.7% SBA charge-off rate on 194 loans), BrightStar Care ($2.4M, 4.6% SBA charge-off rate on 145 loans), and Griswold Home Care ($2.0M per franchisee revenue on a $100K – $186K investment; 15 SBA loans on file, no published charge-off rate). These averages are measured on the basis shown beside each figure, and we do not convert between bases, so the three are not comparable with each other and the order above is not a revenue ranking. The senior care category carries a 8.2% SBA charge-off rate — below the franchise-wide average of 16.0% and one of the lowest charge-off rates of any franchise category.
The demographic tailwind
The senior care industry is driven by an unstoppable demographic shift:10,000 Americans turn 65 every single day as the Baby Boomer generation ages.By 2030, all Baby Boomers will be over 65, creating demand for in-home care, assisted living referral, and medical staffing at a scale the industry has never seen.
This is not a trend that reverses. Unlike fitness crazes, food fads, or retail concepts that cycle in and out, the aging of the American population is a demographic certainty. Franchise brands positioned to serve this demand have a structural advantage that will compound for the next 20 years.
Top 15 senior care franchises by Verdict Score
The following table ranks senior care franchise brands by FranchiseVerdict's composite Verdict Score (higher is better), with revenue, investment, and SBA data.
| Brand | Avg. Gross Sales | Investment | Royalty | SBA Charge-Off | Loans | Verdict Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Right at Home | $1.8MPer office, not per outlet | $94K – $176K | 5.0% | 3.4% | 158 | 100 |
| Comfort Keepers | $1.3M | $120K – $191K | 5.0% | 3.9% | 116 | 100 |
| SYNERGY HomeCare | $2.1MPer franchisee, not per outlet | $52K – $164K | 5.0% | 9.8% | 71 | 100 |
| FirstLight Home Care | $1.5MPer territory, not per outlet | $151K – $256K | 5.0% | N/A | 63 | 100 |
| Home Instead | $2.8M | $93K – $351K | 5.0% | 2.7% | 194 | 91 |
| Home Helpers Home Care | $1.7M | $113K – $162K | 6.0% | 0.0% | 39 | 90 |
| Visiting Angels | Not disclosed | $125K – $171K | 3.5% | 0.0% | 138 | 88 |
| CareBuilders At Home | $1.9MOutlet subset | $111K – $167K | 9.0% | — | — | 85 |
| Amada Senior Care | $1.6M | $118K – $430K | 5.0% | N/A | 34 | 83 |
| Griswold | $2.0MPer franchisee, not per outlet | $100K – $186K | 5.0% | N/A | 15 | 83 |
| BrightStar Care | $2.4M | $103K – $220K | 5.3% | 4.6% | 145 | 80 |
| Hallmark Homecare | Not disclosed | $110K – $135K | 6.0% | N/A | 13 | 69 |
| Caring Senior Service | $953KPer office, not per outlet | $97K – $149K | 5.0% | N/A | 3 | 64 |
| A Place At Home | $999KOutlet subset | $91K – $166K | 5.5% | N/A | 15 | 59 |
| HomeWell Care Services | $1.3M | $54K – $234K | 5.0% | 25.0% | 34 | 40 |
The three-way standoff on revenue
Three brands are worth reading closely in the senior care category on revenue and franchisee economics — two of them (Home Instead and BrightStar) also carry some of the largest SBA loan samples in the category. Read the three figures separately rather than against each other wherever the qualifier beside a figure says it is not per outlet; we do not convert between bases.
- Home Instead — the largest home care franchise with $2.8M average gross sales (2.7% SBA charge-off rate on 194 loans). The sheer volume of loans with low defaults makes this one of the most statistically validated senior care franchises.
- BrightStar Care — $2.4M average gross sales, 4.6% SBA charge-off rate on 145 loans. BrightStar differentiates with a medical staffing component alongside non-medical home care, creating two revenue streams and a Joint Commission accreditation that few competitors match.
- Griswold — $2.0M per franchisee revenue on a $100K – $186K investment, at a 5.0% royalty rate. Griswold's Item 19 average is not a per-outlet figure, so it is not comparable with the two figures above. Note also that Griswold's 15 SBA loans do not support a published charge-off rate, so it is reported as N/A rather than a validated low rate.
The business model you are actually buying
Senior care franchising sounds like healthcare, but the day-to-day reality is closer to a staffing agency. The core operations are:
- Recruiting caregivers — hiring, screening, background-checking, and training care workers. This is the bottleneck. Caregiver turnover in the home care industry exceeds 60% annually, so recruiting is a constant activity.
- Matching caregivers to clients — scheduling, managing care plans, and handling the logistics of getting the right caregiver to the right home at the right time.
- Building referral relationships — establishing connections with hospitals, physicians, elder law attorneys, geriatric care managers, and discharge planners who refer clients.
- Billing and collections — some care is private-pay (families paying directly), some is Medicaid/VA-funded, and some is long-term care insurance. The reimbursement mix affects margins significantly.
If you have experience managing people, building relationships, and running a service business, senior care will feel familiar. If you are coming from a product-oriented background, the pure-service nature of the business will require adjustment.
The hidden advantage: under $200K entry
Perhaps the most compelling aspect of senior care franchising is the price of entry. Every brand in the top 10 can be started for under $200K in total investment. Compare that to a restaurant franchise ($500K–$3M+) or a fitness concept ($300K–$5M). The low entry cost means:
- Less SBA debt, resulting in lower monthly payments and less financial pressure
- Faster path to breakeven because fixed costs are minimal
- More working capital available for the ramp-up period
- Lower risk if the business underperforms in year one
The revenue-to-investment ratios stand out: HomeWell Care Services does $1.3M on a starting investment as low as $54,401. That is 5.6x the top of its investment range ($234K). Gross sales are not profit.
What to watch out for
- Caregiver recruitment is the number-one challenge. Ask existing franchisees about caregiver turnover, recruiting costs, and whether the franchisor provides effective recruiting support.
- Reimbursement rates matter. Medicaid-heavy markets may have lower margins than private-pay markets. Understand the payer mix in your target territory.
- Licensing varies by state. Home care licensing requirements range from minimal to extensive depending on the state. Check FDD Item 15 and your state's health department requirements before investing.
- SYNERGY HomeCare has strong revenue ($2.1M per franchisee, so not comparable with the per-outlet figures in this list) but a 9.8% SBA charge-off rate across 71 loans. That rate is below the franchise-wide 16.0% average; it still warrants deeper investigation.
How to evaluate a senior care franchise
- Use the franchise investment screener to filter senior care brands by investment, revenue, and risk grade.
- Prioritize SBA loan volume. Home Instead (194 loans), Right at Home (158 loans), BrightStar Care (145 loans), and Visiting Angels (138 loans) have the largest statistical samples in the table above. Brands with fewer than 10 SBA loans have less predictable outcomes.
- Understand the service model. Some brands focus on non-medical companionship care, others include medical staffing, and some offer senior living referral services. Match the model to your skills and your market's needs.
- Call at least 15 franchisees. Senior care has enough brands and locations that you can get a thorough sample. Use FDD Item 20 or our contacts product to reach current owners.
Methodology
Revenue figures are from FDD Item 19 disclosures. Investment ranges are from FDD Item 7. SBA charge-off rates are from SBA 7(a) loan data obtained through FOIA. Brands categorized as "Senior Care" in our database are included. Rankings are by FranchiseVerdict's composite Verdict Score (higher is better). For the full methodology, see the methodology page.
The bottom line
The demographics driving senior care demand are not speculative — they are census data.Ten thousand Americans turning 65 every day is the most predictable demand driver in all of franchising. Combined with the category's 8.2% SBA charge-off rate and sub-$200K entry costs, senior care is the rare category where growth, affordability, and the lending record all point in the same direction. The only real operational risk is caregiver recruitment, and that challenge is manageable with the right franchisor support.
Related franchise research
Continue your research with our 7-Eleven franchise analysis, Ace Hardware franchise analysis, and best food franchises guide.
Research this brand further
- 📄 Get the Full FDD Report for any brand — $19 per brand
- 📞 Get FDD-listed franchisee contacts — $49 per brand. Call real owners before you sign.
- 📊 How to read profit in an FDD — free. Most FDDs disclose gross sales, not profit.
Frequently Asked Questions
- What is the best senior care franchise to own?
- The top senior care franchises by Verdict Score (higher is better, 0–100) include Right at Home (100), Comfort Keepers (100), SYNERGY HomeCare (100), and FirstLight Home Care (100). Home Instead ($2.8M revenue, 194 SBA loans) and BrightStar Care ($2.4M, 145 SBA loans) carry some of the largest SBA loan samples in the category. Verdict Scores are an editorial assessment, not investment advice.
- How much does a senior care franchise cost?
- Among the senior care franchises in our ranking, total investment runs from $52K (SYNERGY HomeCare) to $430K (Amada Senior Care). SYNERGY HomeCare starts at $52,495, Right at Home at $94,330, HomeWell at $54,401, and Home Instead at $92,640. That is far less than a typical restaurant franchise, since senior care operates from a small office.
- Are senior care franchises profitable?
- Most senior care franchises do not disclose profit, and gross sales are not profit. The category has a 8.2% SBA charge-off rate, below the 16.0% franchise-wide average. Among the ranked brands that disclose a comparable per-outlet average, average gross sales run from $999K to $2.8M; brands that average per franchisee, territory or office are left out of that span, since we do not convert between them. The demographic tailwind of 10,000 Americans turning 65 daily drives demand.
- Do I need medical experience to own a senior care franchise?
- No. Most senior care franchises provide non-medical home care (companionship, meals, housekeeping) requiring no medical credentials. You manage caregivers, not patients. BrightStar Care hires licensed nurses but the owner needs no clinical background. Licensing varies by state.
- How hard is it to recruit caregivers for a senior care franchise?
- Caregiver recruitment is the #1 challenge. Industry turnover exceeds 60% annually, so hiring is constant.