Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Storage Authority logo

Storage Authority Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Formerly known as Authority Brands

Business ServicesFLFranchising since 2015
CAverageAverage39/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$7.0M – $9.8M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (9)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02456FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Storage Authority is a self-storage franchise that develops and operates storage facilities. Franchisees run local operations, managing leasing, tenants, pricing, and facility maintenance.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Storage Authority franchise requires a total initial investment of $7.0M – $9.8M, including a $69K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$7.0M – $9.8M
65th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
2 outlets
Royalty
6.0%
9th pct Business Serv…
Units
2
6th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$7.0M – $9.8M
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$69K – $69K
Median $48K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $315K
Median $23K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
8.5% of rev
Median 9.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (9)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 9 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
2 units
Median 39 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
50.0%
Median 3.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $7.0M – $9.8M including a $69K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 39/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 27 agreements signed but not yet open against 2 open outlets (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Storage Authority, LLC
CEO title
President & Co-Founder
Marc Goodin
CEO experience
20 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Florida
HQ
677 N. Washington Blvd., Sarasota, FL 34236
Auditor
Muhammad Zubairy, CPA PC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$616K
vs $514K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Marc Goodin
Headquarters
FL
Founded
2014
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 6200% above the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$7.0M – $9.8MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$69,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.5%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$30K – $315K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$69K$69K
Land Acquisition Costs$800K$2.0M
Design, Testing, Market Study, Phase 1 Enviro, Site Development & Building(s)$5.7M$7.1M
Costs/expenses associated with attending training in Sarasota, FL$6K$10K
Office equipment, furniture, supplies, computer system, equipment$15K$30K
Initial Website and Management Software Set Up Fee$3K$6K
Signage & Logo Inventory$80K$150K
Initial Inventory$5K$20K
Permits, Licenses, Insurance, Utility deposits, Professional fees$50K$100K
Additional Funds and Working Capital for 18 Months (new facility)$225K$315K
Total initial investment$7.0M$9.8M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$7.0M – $9.8M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $315K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$69K – $69K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Storage Authority: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$100
Training fee$150
Transfer fee$20K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $20K
Total fee load8.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Storage Authority makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Storage Authority unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $7.0M–$9.8M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$315K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$8.5M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.5% (near the Business Services median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Storage Authority Compares

Metric
Storage Authority
Category median
vs median
Investment
$8.4M
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
2
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Turnover rate50.0% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
50.0%
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
1
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
27
13.50 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
6
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
50.0%
Units that stopped operating
2022
1
Franchised units
2023
1±0
Franchised units
2024
0-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 9 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
9
Loan volume
$13.6M
Median loan
$576K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (9)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 9 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (9)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (9)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$984K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
2

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (9)
Verdict score39/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage39Verdict score 39/100

Negative franchisor net worth of -$527,984 despite positive net income of $144,624 on $615,889 revenue, plus no Item 19 disclosure. Only 2 company-owned units, no franchised units currently open. No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern; audited.

High confidence±6 pts
3345

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Muhammad Zubairy, CPA PC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.6MYr 2: $0.5MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total Revenue FY2024 $615,889 (Royalties $3,260; Franchise fees $522,795; Marketing fees $1,635; Referral fees $87,460; Other income $739); FY2023 $514,199.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 39 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNegative net worth -$527,984
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINOR0 franchised units open (2 company-owned)
  4. 04MINORPositive net income $144,624 (mitigating)

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term12 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training49 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term12 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius3 mi
Territory population10,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice45 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFlorida (franchisor's home state)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawFlorida
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
49 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves within 30 days of submission
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
SiteLink
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: SiteLink

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

35 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 35 contacts · $49
Free preview
813-625-••••
Unlock all 35 contacts
313-478-••••
(949)-485-••••
609-781-••••
(860) 830-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Storage Authority franchise?

The total investment to open a Storage Authority franchise ranges from $7.0M – $9.8M, with an initial franchise fee of $69K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Storage Authority franchise owners earn?

Storage Authority makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Storage Authority?

Storage Authority is franchised by Storage Authority, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Storage Authority FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Storage Authority FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Storage Authority's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Storage Authority (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Storage Authority franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Storage Authority has 2 total units in the United States.

Is Storage Authority a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Storage Authority as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 39 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Storage Authority, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.