Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Self Made Training Facility logo

Self Made Training Facility Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessCAFranchising since 2016
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$383K – $1.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02275Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2022 · 4yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Self Made Training Facility is a fitness franchise offering personal training and a membership-based training facility for coaches and clients. Franchisees run the facilities, managing trainers, memberships, and operations.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Self Made Training Facility franchise requires a total initial investment of $383K – $1.2M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$383K – $1.2M
71st pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
37th pct Health & Fitn…
Units
21
55th pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$383K – $1.2M
Median $392K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $50K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
11.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
21 units
Median 17 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $383K – $1.2M including a $50K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +4 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 0 closed); 3 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • FLAGItem 4 discloses a bankruptcy of an officer or of a company an officer ran, not of the franchisor. Review Item 4 for details.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
SMTF Franchising, Inc.
CEO title
Director, President, Secretary and Treasurer
Miguel Aguilar
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
California
HQ
42265 Winchester Road, Temecula, California 92590
Auditor
Daniel S. Venne
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$659K
vs $700K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Miguel Aguilar
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2015
FDD year
2022
States available
6

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 102% above the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$383K – $1.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2022 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2022 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $30K

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown20 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee (Note 1)$50K$50K
Rent for 3 months and lease security deposit (Note 2)$9K$100K
Utility Deposits (Note 3)$0$1K
Construction/ Improvements (Note 4)$155K$475K
Fitness and exercise equipment (Note 5)$120K$450K
Office furniture and equipment (Note 6)$16K$30K
Signage (Note 7)$500$20K
Travel, Salary, Living Expenses During Training (Note 8)$0$10K
Training and Continuing Education Fee$750$750
Software (Note 9) - 3 months$3K$3K
POS System - 3 Months (see Item 11) (Note 10)$357$2K
Business licenses (Note 11)$25$100
Forming an entity (Note 12)$0$3K
Professional fees (Note 13)$2K$5K
Initial supplies and inventory (Note 14)$6K$12K
Refrigerator and Water Products Inventory (3 months) (Note 15)$2K$2K
Insurance (Note 16)$600$4K
Grand Opening Promotion (Note 17)$3K$5K
Local Advertising - 3 Months (Note 18)$750$3K
Additional Funds - 3 Months (Note 19)$15K$30K
Total initial investment$383K$1.2M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$383K – $1.2M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
11.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Self Made Training Facility: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$250
Training fee$750
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$15K
Inventory (initial)$3K – $8K
Total fee load11.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Self Made Training Facility makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Self Made Training Facility unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $383K–$1.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$816K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 11.0% — above the Health & Fitness median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Multi-unit rate

Only 7% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How Self Made Training Facility Compares

Metric
Self Made Training Facility
Category median
vs median
Investment
$794K
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
21
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units21Verified — printed on page 45 of the 2022 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
21
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
95%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
6.7%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
3
0.14 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
4.8%
Owners selling to other franchisees
2019
15
Franchised units
2020
16+1
Franchised units
2021
20+4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

23 current owners across 7 states.

  • CA 17
  • AZ 1
  • CO 1
  • FL 1
  • NV 1
  • OH 1
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 7 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
7
Loan volume
$2.3M
Median loan
$300K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (7)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
4
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (7)
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Small fitness franchise (21 units, 20 franchised) with thin financials: net worth $133,280 and a net loss of -$103,045. Only disclosed distress item is a President's old personal Chapter 7 bankruptcy filed in 2012 and discharged the same year, which is low weight. No litigation and no going-concern note.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4369

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: an officer. An officer’s own bankruptcy or a company an officer ran, not the franchisor’s

President, Secretary and Treasurer Mr. Aguilar filed Chapter 7 bankruptcy petition on August 27, 2012; discharge obtained December 10, 2012. Case No. 6:12-bk-29900-MJ, U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California, Riverside branch.

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Daniel S. Venne

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.7MYr 2: $0.7MTotal: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNet loss -$103,045 on thin net worth $133,280
  2. 02HIGHOld (2012, discharged) personal Chapter 7 bankruptcy of an officer - low weight
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 11.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term7 yrs
Renewal term7 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training43 hrs

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term7 years
Renewal term7 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory sizeℹRadius/Boundaries
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window60 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationRiverside County, California
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
23 hrs
On-the-job training
20 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee proposes, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Clover POS system
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Clover POS system

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

23 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 23 contacts · $49
Free preview
(951) 704-••••NV
Unlock all 23 contacts
(951) 375-••••CA
(760) 828-••••CA
(951) 818-••••CA
(916) 834-••••AZ

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Self Made Training Facility franchise?

The total investment to open a Self Made Training Facility franchise ranges from $383K – $1.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Self Made Training Facility franchise owners earn?

Self Made Training Facility makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Self Made Training Facility?

Self Made Training Facility is franchised by SMTF Franchising, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Self Made Training Facility FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Self Made Training Facility FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Self Made Training Facility's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Self Made Training Facility (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Self Made Training Facility franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Self Made Training Facility has 21 total units in the United States, including 20 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Self Made Training Facility a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Self Made Training Facility as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Self Made Training Facility, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.