Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Journey Payroll & HR logo

Journey Payroll & HR Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesCOFranchising since 2017
BAbove averageAbove average55/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$39K – $82K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01365FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Journey Payroll & HR is a B2B franchise providing payroll processing, tax compliance, and HR services to small businesses. Franchisees run local offices, onboarding clients and managing payroll and HR delivery.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Journey Payroll & HR franchise requires a total initial investment of $39K – $82K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$39K – $82K
11th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
5th pct Business Serv…
Units
11
18th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$39K – $82K
Median $133K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $48K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $15K
Median $23K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
7.3% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
11 units
Median 39 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 3.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $39K – $82K including a $30K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 55/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +4 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Journey Franchising LLC
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Shareholder
Kevin Welch
Incorporated in
CO
HQ
3351 Eastbrook Drive, Unit 3, Fort Collins, Colorado 80525
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.3M
vs $1.7M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Kevin Welch
Headquarters
CO
Founded
2017
FDD year
2025
States available
7

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 55% below the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$39K – $82KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.3%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$3K – $15K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Journey Payroll & HR: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$3K$15K
Equipment, build-out, other$6K$37K
Total initial investment$39K$82K

Source: Journey Payroll & HR 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$39K – $82K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.3%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.3%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Journey Payroll & HR: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.3% of gross sales
Technology fee$170
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$250 – $1K
Total fee load7.3% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Journey Payroll & HR makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Journey Payroll & HR unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $39K–$82K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$15K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$69K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.3% — below the Business Services median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 80.0% CAGR over 3 years across 11 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Journey Payroll & HR Compares

Metric
Journey Payroll & HR
Category median
vs median
Investment
$60K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
11
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units11Verified — printed on page 40 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+80.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
11
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
82%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+80.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+80.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
5
Franchised units
2023
5±0
Franchised units
2024
9+4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 7 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

7

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • UN 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 9 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$1.7M
Median loan
$1.7M
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score55/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average55Verdict score 55/100

Early-stage payroll/HR micro-franchise with critical transparency gaps (no Item 19, going concern issues) and unprotected territory, making financial viability assessment impossible and scalability uncertain.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4268

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.3MYr 2: $1.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor (Journey Franchising LLC) total revenue of $2,279,686 for fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2024, disclosed in Item 6. Audited financial statements (Exhibit B / Item 21) are present as non-OCR'd scanned pages; balance sheet figures not extractable from text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 55 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure (revenue/net income) makes ROI validation impossible
  2. 02MINOROnly 11 units with 80% YoY growth is still a micro-franchise with unproven model
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other franchisees
  4. 04MEDHigh initial investment ($38.5K-$82.4K) relative to unit count suggests limited proven demand
  5. 05MED5% royalty on undisclosed revenue makes cost-benefit analysis impossible
  6. 06MINOREarly-stage franchise (likely <5 years old) with minimal operational history

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.3% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training56 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationDenver, Colorado
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCO
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
56 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Online (virtual); may include 3-day in-person at Fort Collins, CO headquarters
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Journey Central
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Journey Central

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

10 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 10 contacts · $49
Free preview
480-699-••••
Unlock all 10 contacts
845-641-••••
530-521-••••
(970) 568-••••UN
503-483-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Journey Payroll & HR franchise?

The total investment to open a Journey Payroll & HR franchise ranges from $39K – $82K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Journey Payroll & HR franchise owners earn?

Journey Payroll & HR makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Journey Payroll & HR?

Journey Payroll & HR is franchised by Journey Franchising LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Journey Payroll & HR FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Journey Payroll & HR FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Journey Payroll & HR's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Journey Payroll & HR (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Journey Payroll & HR franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Journey Payroll & HR has 11 total units in the United States, including 9 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Journey Payroll & HR a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Journey Payroll & HR as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 55 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Journey Payroll & HR, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.