Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Doodle Bugs! logo

Doodle Bugs! Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationNYFranchising since 2011
BAbove averageAbove average60/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$546K – $1.5M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00779FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Doodle Bugs! is an early childhood franchise operating play-based childcare and learning centers for kids from infancy to age twelve. Franchisees run the centers, managing teachers, curriculum, and enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Doodle Bugs! franchise requires a total initial investment of $546K – $1.5M, including a $65K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$546K – $1.5M
65th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
7th pct Education
Units
17
38th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$546K – $1.5M
Median $194K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$65K – $65K
Median $45K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$150K – $300K
Median $25K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
17 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $546K – $1.5M including a $65K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 60/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Doodle Bugs! Franchising Company, LLC
Parent company
Doodle Bugs! Holding Company, Inc.
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Anthony Insinna
CEO experience
2006 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
NY
HQ
20 Losson Road, Suite 215, Buffalo, New York 14227
Auditor
SBFR Partners LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$177K
vs $170K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Anthony Insinna
Headquarters
NY
Founded
2006
FDD year
2026
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 425% above the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$546K – $1.5MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$65,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$150K – $300K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Doodle Bugs!: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$65K$65K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$150K$300K
Equipment, build-out, other$331K$1.1M
Total initial investment$546K$1.5M

Source: Doodle Bugs! 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$546K – $1.5M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$150K – $300K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$65K – $65K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Doodle Bugs!: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$948
Training fee$60
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$15K – $25K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Doodle Bugs! makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Doodle Bugs! unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $546K–$1.5M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $150K–$300K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.2M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Education median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 17 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Doodle Bugs! Compares

Metric
Doodle Bugs!
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.0M
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
17
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units17Verified — printed on page 51 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
17
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
16
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
6%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
100.0%
Units that stayed open
2023
1
Franchised units
2024
1±0
Franchised units
2025
1±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 3 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

3

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • NY 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score60/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average60Verdict score 60/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
4773

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · SBFR Partners LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.2MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Revenues comprise royalties, initial franchise fees (recognized per Note 2 deferred revenue), merchandise sales, and other. FY2025 total revenues $176,975 (royalties $167,347).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 60 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure prevents ROI validation; impossible to assess $546k-$9.2M investment payback
  2. 02MINOROnly 17 units with unknown growth trajectory suggests stagnant or declining system; minimal network for support and referrals
  3. 03MINORMassive investment range ($546k-$9.2M) indicates inconsistent unit economics or undefined cost structure
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 financial performance data violates FTC transparency standards for franchisees evaluating investment viability
  5. 05MINOR15-year term locks franchisee into relationship with financially unstable franchisor

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training92 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ15 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window60 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationBuffalo, New York (within 50 miles)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawNY
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
92 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Buffalo, New York or other location designated by franchisor
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
80 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
18 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor assistance and approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Pro Care Software
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Pro Care Software

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(716) 668-••••NY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Doodle Bugs! franchise?

The total investment to open a Doodle Bugs! franchise ranges from $546K – $1.5M, with an initial franchise fee of $65K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Doodle Bugs! franchise owners earn?

Doodle Bugs! makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Doodle Bugs!?

Doodle Bugs! is franchised by Doodle Bugs! Franchising Company, LLC. Its parent company is Doodle Bugs! Holding Company, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Doodle Bugs! FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Doodle Bugs! FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Doodle Bugs!'s franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Doodle Bugs! (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Doodle Bugs! franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Doodle Bugs! has 17 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 16 company-owned units.

Is Doodle Bugs! a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Doodle Bugs! as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 60 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Doodle Bugs!, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.