Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES logo

Petsmart Veterinary Services Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Pet ServicesAZFranchising since 2022
BAbove averageAbove average51/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$206K – $316K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01938FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

PetSmart Veterinary Services is a veterinary franchise operating full-service pet clinics inside PetSmart stores. Franchisees run the clinics, managing veterinarians and staff, appointments, and medical services.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES franchise requires a total initial investment of $206K – $316K, including a $10K franchise fee and an ongoing 2.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$206K – $316K
50th pct Pet Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
2.0%
0th pct Pet Services
Units
37
63rd pct Pet Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Pet Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$206K – $316K
Median $327K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $10K
Median $49K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$85K – $125K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
2.0%
Median 6.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
3.5% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
37 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
43.2%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Pet Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $206K – $316K including a $10K franchise fee, 2.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 51/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (15 opened, 16 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG16 units terminated last reporting year (43.2% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
PetSmart Veterinary Services, LLC
Parent company
PetSmart LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
President
Rob Pace
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
19601 N. 27th Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85027
Auditor
CBIZ CPAs (4722 N. 24th St., Suite 300, Phoenix, AZ 85016)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$4.5M
vs $1.9M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Rob Pace
Headquarters
AZ
Founded
2022
FDD year
2025
States available
18

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 20% below the typical pet services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$206K – $316KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$85K – $125K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$10K$10K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$85K$125K
Equipment, build-out, other$111K$181K
Total initial investment$206K$316K

Source: PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$206K – $316K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$85K – $125K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
2.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
3.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty2.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.5%
Technology fee$750
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$14K – $16K
Total fee load3.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $206K–$316K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $85K–$125K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$366K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 138 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 3.5% — below the Pet Services median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 236.4% CAGR over 3 years across 37 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Pet Services medians

How Petsmart Veterinary Services Compares

Metric
Petsmart Veterinary Services
Category median
vs median
Investment
$261K
$327Kmiddle half $123K–$679K · n=66
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$602Kmiddle half $281K–$925K · n=26
N/A
Unit Count
37
18middle half 4–70 · n=66
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Pet Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units37Verified — printed on page 49 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growthOutlier (see FDD) (caution)
Turnover rate43.2% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
37
Opened
15
Last reporting year
Closed
16
Terminated
16
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
43.2%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
Outlier (see FDD)
Likely small-sample artifact
3-yr CAGR
Outlier (see FDD)
Likely small-sample artifact

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
16
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
16
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
11
Franchised units
2023
38+27
Franchised units
2024
37-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 18 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

18

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score51/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average51Verdict score 51/100

A declining veterinary franchise system with unprotected territories, missing financial disclosure, active litigation, and no evidence of franchisee profitability — suitable only for operators with veterinary expertise and capital reserves.

Low confidence±15 pts
3666

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Three matters: (1) PetSmart LLC v. Banfield — breach of contract arbitration, non-monetary resolution July 2024; (2) Vanzant consumer class action naming PetSmart as defendant, class certification denied 9/2023; (3) SEC cease-and-desist order against CFO Schnaid from 2014 re: late Section 16 filings.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · CBIZ CPAs (4722 N. 24th St., Suite 300, Phoenix, AZ 85016)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $4.5MYr 2: $1.9MNon-royalty: $2.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited statements of PetSmart Veterinary Services, LLC (the franchisor itself), FY ended February 2, 2025 (53 weeks), reported in thousands and scaled x1000. Total revenue $4,495K = franchise royalties and other fees $2,290K + rental revenue $2,205K. Net loss $(7,099)K. Balance sheet reconciles: total assets $11,345K = total liabilities $16,788K + member's deficit equity $(5,443)K. Franchisor has a member's deficit (negative net worth) driven by accumulated deficit of $(20,130)K and large 'Due to Parent and affiliates' of $9,139K.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 51 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-2.6% YoY with 37 total units indicates a shrinking system)
  2. 02MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income data (Item 19 missing — prevents ROI validation)
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk within same geographic area
  4. 04HIGHActive class action litigation (Vanzant) regarding product naming — brand reputation risk
  5. 05MINORRoyalty structure (2-3.5%) combined with veterinary overhead may compress margins significantly
  6. 06MINORLow franchise fee ($10,000) suggests weak franchisor support or undercapitalization
  7. 07MINORParent company (PetSmart LLC) has unresolved commercial disputes and SEC compliance history

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 138 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 3.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training66 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationMaricopa County, Arizona (litigation venue; non-binding mediation required before filing suit)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawAZ
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Three matters: (1) PetSmart LLC v. Banfield — breach of contract arbitration, non-monetary resolution July 2024; (2) Vanzant consumer class action naming PetSmart as defendant, class certification denied 9/2023; (3) SEC cease-and-desist order against CFO Schnaid from 2014 re: late Section 16 filings.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
30 hrs
On-the-job training
35 hrs
Training location
Phoenix, AZ home office and Hospital site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisor and franchisee jointly; Hospital must be in an approved PetSmart store
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Rhapsody
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Rhapsody

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES franchise?

The total investment to open a PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES franchise ranges from $206K – $316K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES franchise owners earn?

PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES?

PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES is franchised by PetSmart Veterinary Services, LLC. Its parent company is PetSmart LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES has 37 total units in the United States, including 37 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 15 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 51 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent PETSMART VETERINARY SERVICES, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Pet Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Pet Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.