Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care logo

Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Pet ServicesCAFranchising since 2025
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$58K – $76K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00140FDD 2025Data QualityStandard67%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Angel's Five-Star Pet Care is a pet services franchise offering grooming, boarding, and daycare. Franchisees run the facilities, managing staff, pet care operations, and scheduling.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care franchise requires a total initial investment of $58K – $76K, including a $48K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2025. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$58K – $76K
13th pct Pet Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
0 outlets
Royalty
6.0%
18th pct Pet Services
Units
0
0th pct Pet Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Pet Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$58K – $76K
Median $327K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$48K – $48K
Median $49K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$4K – $6K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
0 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Pet Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $58K – $76K including a $48K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
ANGELS FIVE-STAR PET CARE LLC
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Member
Raphael Manzetti
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
27 W Anapamu Street, Suite 478, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Auditor
KEZOS & DUNLAVY
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Raphael Manzetti
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2024
FDD year
2025
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 80% below the typical pet services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$58K – $76KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$47,500Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$4K – $6K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$48K$48K
Certain Branded Itemsnot refundable$500$1K
Initial Supplies for Providing Pet Servicesnot refundable$100$250
Initial Office Suppliesnot refundable$400$2K
Laptop or Desktop Computer and Printer/Scannernot refundable$500$3K
Software Subscriptions - First 3 Monthsnot refundable$450$750
Smartphone and Service Subscription - First 3 Monthsnot refundable$350$2K
Wi-Fi Subscription - First 3 Monthsnot refundable$105$600
Vehicle - First 3 Months Lease or Finance Paymentsnot refundable$0$3K
Initial Advertising fees and Expenses - First 3 Monthsnot refundable$500$2K
Business Licenses and Permitsnot refundable$25$150
Certificationsnot refundable$250$500
Professional Feesnot refundable$1K$3K
Travel and Living Expenses While Trainingnot refundable$2K$4K
Insurance (Annual)not refundable$1K$2K
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$4K$6K
Total initial investment$58K$76K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$58K – $76K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$4K – $6K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$48K – $48K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$50
Renewal fee$25
Inventory (initial)$100 – $250
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $58K–$76K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $4K–$6K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$72K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 112 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Pet Services median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Pet Services medians

How Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care Compares

Metric
Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care
Category median
vs median
Investment
$67K
$327Kmiddle half $123K–$679K · n=66
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$602Kmiddle half $281K–$925K · n=26
N/A
Unit Count
0
18middle half 4–70 · n=66
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Pet Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units0Verified — printed on page 35 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
0
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

A startup franchisor with zero operating units, no financial transparency, Going Concern warning, and a capital-heavy fee structure represents extreme execution risk with no franchisee validation.

Low confidence±15 pts
2555

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · KEZOS & DUNLAVY

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 states franchisor has not been in business three+ years; audited financial statements as of January 21, 2025 are attached as Exhibit A. In this OCR text the Exhibit A financial statement pages (1-10) are scanned images with no extractable text, so no balance-sheet or income figures could be read.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORZero existing units with unknown growth trajectory — no proven business model or franchisee success track record to validate
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure — cannot verify average revenue or net income claims, making ROI impossible to assess
  3. 03MINORHigh franchise fee ($47,500) relative to total investment ($58,180–$75,750) — 64–82% of capital goes to franchisor before operations begin
  4. 04MINOR6% royalty on gross revenue (not net) — franchisees pay royalties on sales regardless of profitability, creating cash flow risk
  5. 05MEDNo disclosed litigation but Going Concern status suggests undisclosed legal or financial troubles may exist

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 112 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training25 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius10 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationSanta Barbara County, California (mediation before litigation; not arbitration)
Governing lawCA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
10 hrs
Training location
Santa Barbara, California
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
10 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care franchise?

The total investment to open a Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care franchise ranges from $58K – $76K, with an initial franchise fee of $48K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care franchise owners earn?

Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care?

Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care is franchised by ANGELS FIVE-STAR PET CARE LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

Is Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Angel’s Five-Star Pet Care, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Pet Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Pet Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.