Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
COMMISSION EXPRESS logo

Commission Express Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateVAFranchising since 1996
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$173K – $299K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00607FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Commission Express is a financial services franchise that advances cash to real estate agents against their pending commissions. Franchisees run local operations, underwriting and purchasing commission receivables from agents and brokers.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A COMMISSION EXPRESS franchise requires a total initial investment of $173K – $299K, including a $10K – $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 9.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$173K – $299K
82nd pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
9.0%
60th pct Real Estate
Units
38
26th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$173K – $299K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $50K
Median $30K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$7K – $25K
Median $22K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
9.0%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
38 units
Median 70 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
15.8%
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $173K – $299K including a $10K franchise fee, 9.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 6 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Commission Express National, Inc.
CEO title
President, Treasurer, Director, and Chairman
John L. Stedman
Incorporated in
VA
HQ
8306 Professional Hill Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031
Auditor
Gross, Mendelsohn & Associates, P.A.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$609K
vs $560K prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchisee Advisory Board

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • that is also a franchisee

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
John L. Stedman
Headquarters
VA
Founded
1994
FDD year
2025
States available
21

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 77% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$173K – $299KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty9.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$7K – $25K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown19 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial franchise feenot refundable$10K$50K
Leasehold improvementsnot refundable$0$2K
Leasehold depositnot refundable$0$500
1st month's rentnot refundable$0$500
Office equipmentnot refundable$0$500
Furniturenot refundable$0$5K
Opening inventory (capital pool)not refundable$150K$200K
1 computer accounting package (QUICKBOOKS)not refundable$420$1K
1 computer systemnot refundable$0$3K
1 telephone systemnot refundable$0$1K
1 copiernot refundable$0$3K
Travel, lodging and meals for initial trainingnot refundable$800$2K
Supplies (stationery, brochures, banners, etc.)not refundable$1K$1K
Business licenses, permits, etc.not refundable$200$400
Insurancenot refundable$500$800
Pre-opening advertisingnot refundable$2K$3K
Local real estate association membershipnot refundable$100$200
Professional feesnot refundable$1K$1K
Additional fundsnot refundable$7K$25K
Total initial investment$173K$299K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$173K – $299K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$7K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
9.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

COMMISSION EXPRESS: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty9.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Technology fee$587
Training fee$1K
Transfer fee$6K
Renewal fee$1K
Inventory (initial)$150K – $200K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

COMMISSION EXPRESS makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one COMMISSION EXPRESS unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $173K–$299K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $7K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$252K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 111 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — above the Real Estate median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -2.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

Only 17% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How Commission Express Compares

Metric
Commission Express
Category median
vs median
Investment
$236K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
38
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units38Verified — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-2.6% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate15.8% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
38
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
6
Turnover rate
15.8%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
16.7%
Net growth (3-yr)
-2.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-2.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
2.6%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
13.2%
Units that stopped operating
2022
38
Franchised units
2023
39+1
Franchised units
2024
37-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 19 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 19 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Washington

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

27 current owners across 19 states.

  • CA 3
  • FL 3
  • TX 3
  • NY 2
  • VA 2
  • AK 1
  • AZ 1
  • CO 1
  • CT 1
  • IL 1
  • KY 1
  • MA 1
  • +7 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

Shrinking unit base, missing financial disclosure, and declining royalty tiers indicate a maturing franchise in contraction with insufficient transparency for ROI validation.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
2753

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Gross, Mendelsohn & Associates, P.A.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.6MYr 2: $0.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 5.1% YoY (38 units) — shrinking franchise system indicates market saturation or franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MINORDeclining tiered royalty structure (9% down to 1%) suggests franchisor relies on volume incentives rather than proven unit profitability
  3. 03MINOR10-year term with $50,000 upfront fee locks franchisee into relationship with shrinking brand

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 111 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training30 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationAAA office nearest franchisor's home office, currently Fairfax, Virginia
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawVA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
30 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Fairfax, Virginia, or virtually by Zoom or Microsoft Teams
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Commission Express proprietary software
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Commission Express proprietary software

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

27 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 27 contacts · $49
Free preview
(201) 355-••••NJ
Unlock all 27 contacts
(904) 238-••••FL
(206) 829-••••WA
(615) 378-••••TN
(561) 288-••••FL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a COMMISSION EXPRESS franchise?

The total investment to open a COMMISSION EXPRESS franchise ranges from $173K – $299K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do COMMISSION EXPRESS franchise owners earn?

COMMISSION EXPRESS makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns COMMISSION EXPRESS?

COMMISSION EXPRESS is franchised by Commission Express National, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the COMMISSION EXPRESS FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the COMMISSION EXPRESS FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is COMMISSION EXPRESS's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for COMMISSION EXPRESS (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many COMMISSION EXPRESS franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, COMMISSION EXPRESS has 38 total units in the United States, including 37 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is COMMISSION EXPRESS a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates COMMISSION EXPRESS as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent COMMISSION EXPRESS, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.