Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
@properties logo

@properties Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateILFranchising since 2020
CAverageAverage44/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$64K – $433K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00043FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

@properties is a residential real estate brokerage franchise built on strong technology, marketing, and agent support. Franchisees run local brokerages, recruiting agents and managing listings, sales, and transactions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A @properties franchise requires a total initial investment of $64K – $433K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 3.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$64K – $433K
46th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
3.0%
4th pct Real Estate
Units
44
31st pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$64K – $433K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $30K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $90K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
3.0%
Median 6.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
44 units
Median 70 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
2.3%
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
10 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $64K – $433K including a $35K franchise fee, 3.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 44/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • LEGAL10 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
At World Franchising, LLC d/b/a @properties
Parent company
At World Properties, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
At World Properties Holdings, LLC (Compass, Inc. acquired control Jan 2025)
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Co-CEO
Michael Golden / Thaddeus Wong
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
806 N. Peoria St., Chicago, IL 60642
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.6M
vs $2.3M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 8

1 other brand on this site name At World Properties Holdings, LLC (Compass, Inc. acquired control Jan 2025) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Michael Golden / Thaddeus Wong
Headquarters
IL
Founded
2020
FDD year
2025
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 87% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$64K – $433KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$5K – $90K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$35K$35K
Initial Training Expenses$1K$10K
Leasehold Improvements$0$150K
Rent and Security Deposit$3K$10K
"For Sale" Signage$1K$25K
Office Signage$250$5K
Equipment and Furniture$8K$50K
Computers and Software$3K$10K
Start-up Supplies and Inventory$5K$10K
Insurance$2K$25K
Professional Fees$2K$5K
Utilities$350$3K
Licensing Costs$500$3K
Data Feed Transmission$250$3K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$5K$90K
Total initial investment$64K$433K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$64K – $433K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $90K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
3.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

@properties: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty3.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$500
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$1K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

@properties makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one @properties unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $64K–$433K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$90K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$296K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Real Estate median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -40.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How @properties Compares

Metric
@properties
Category median
vs median
Investment
$249K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
44
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units44Verified — printed on page 47 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-40.0% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate2.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
44
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.3%
Company-owned
41
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
7%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
-40.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-40.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
2.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
6.8%
Units that stopped operating
2022
5
Franchised units
2023
4-1
Franchised units
2024
3-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

4 current owners across 4 states.

  • IL 1
  • IN 1
  • MD 1
  • WI 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score44/100 (higher is better)
Litigation10 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage44Verdict score 44/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
3157

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Six antitrust putative class action lawsuits filed in late 2023 and early 2024 against Parent, the Company, and Christie's International Real Estate Group related to real estate listing policies alleged to be anticompetitive. Cases pending in federal courts in Georgia, South Carolina, New York (2), Illinois, and Missouri. One case (Umpa) reached final settlement approval in November 2024. Additional non-class action pending: Stuart v. HK Lane Palm Desert involving breach of fiduciary duty and professional negligence claims.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.6MYr 2: $2.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 44 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MED10 pending actions incl. 6 NAR antitrust commission class actions

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training13 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹCounties, zip codes, or other geographical designations
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ17
Curable defaultsℹ17
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawIllinois
Litigation count10
View Item 3 litigation summary

Six antitrust putative class action lawsuits filed in late 2023 and early 2024 against Parent, the Company, and Christie's International Real Estate Group related to real estate listing policies alleged to be anticompetitive. Cases pending in federal courts in Georgia, South Carolina, New York (2), Illinois, and Missouri. One case (Umpa) reached final settlement approval in November 2024. Additional non-class action pending: Stuart v. HK Lane Palm Desert involving breach of fiduciary duty and professional negligence claims.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
13 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee, subject to franchisor consent
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
@properties System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: @properties System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

4 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 4 contacts · $49
Free preview
(312) 254-••••IL
Unlock all 4 contacts
(608) 781-••••WI
(301) 652-••••MD
(317) 489-••••IN

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a @properties franchise?

The total investment to open a @properties franchise ranges from $64K – $433K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do @properties franchise owners earn?

@properties makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns @properties?

@properties is franchised by At World Franchising, LLC d/b/a @properties. Its parent company is At World Properties, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is At World Properties Holdings, LLC (Compass, Inc. acquired control Jan 2025). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the @properties FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the @properties FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is @properties's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for @properties (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many @properties franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, @properties has 44 total units in the United States, including 3 franchised units and 41 company-owned units.

Is @properties a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates @properties as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 44 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent @properties, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.