Express Employment Professionals vs Atwork
Franchise Comparison 2026
Both Express Employment Professionals and Atwork are business services franchises. Express Employment Professionals requires an investment of $131K – $288K while Atwork requires $165K – $250K. In terms of revenue, Express Employment Professionals reports higher average unit revenue at $5.3M. Express Employment Professionals has SBA lending data on file with a 2.0% charge-off rate. FranchiseVerdict rates Express Employment Professionals A (Strongest tier) and Atwork A (Strongest tier).
| Metric | Express Employment Professionals | Atwork |
|---|---|---|
| Verdict Grade | AStrongest tier | AStrongest tier |
| Investment Range | $131K – $288K | $165K – $250K |
| Franchise Fee | $40K | $40K |
| Royalty Rate | The default royalty is a Gross Margin split ('Your portion'/'Our portion of the Gross Margin'), but the split percentage is not stated in fee_text. Opt-out Franchisees instead pay 'Royalty — 8% of the Total Billings.' No royalty as a % of gross sales | 7.0% |
| Average Revenue (Item 19) | $5.3M | $3.7MOutlet subset |
| SBA Charge-Off Rate | 2.0% (113 loans) | Limited data |
| Total Units | 765 | 90 |
| Unit Growth (YoY) | -25 units | -1 units |
| Year Began Franchising | 1985 | 1992 |
| FDD Year | 2026 | 2026 |
Investment Range
$131K – $288K
$165K – $250K
Franchise Fee
$40K
$40K
Royalty Rate
The default royalty is a Gross Margin split ('Your portion'/'Our portion of the Gross Margin'), but the split percentage is not stated in fee_text. Opt-out Franchisees instead pay 'Royalty — 8% of the Total Billings.' No royalty as a % of gross sales
7.0%
Average Revenue (Item 19)
$5.3M
$3.7MOutlet subset
SBA Charge-Off Rate
2.0% (113 loans)
Limited data
Total Units
765
90
Unit Growth (YoY)
-25 units
-1 units
Year Began Franchising
1985
1992
FDD Year
2026
2026