Atwork vs Express Employment Professionals
Franchise Comparison 2026
Both Atwork and Express Employment Professionals are business services franchises. Atwork requires an investment of $165K – $250K while Express Employment Professionals requires $131K – $288K. In terms of revenue, Express Employment Professionals reports higher average unit revenue at $5.3M. Express Employment Professionals has SBA lending data on file with a 2.0% charge-off rate. FranchiseVerdict rates Atwork A (Strongest tier) and Express Employment Professionals A (Strongest tier).
| Metric | Atwork | Express Employment Professionals |
|---|---|---|
| Verdict Grade | AStrongest tier | AStrongest tier |
| Investment Range | $165K – $250K | $131K – $288K |
| Franchise Fee | $40K | $40K |
| Royalty Rate | 7.0% | The default royalty is a Gross Margin split ('Your portion'/'Our portion of the Gross Margin'), but the split percentage is not stated in fee_text. Opt-out Franchisees instead pay 'Royalty — 8% of the Total Billings.' No royalty as a % of gross sales |
| Average Revenue (Item 19) | $3.7MOutlet subset | $5.3M |
| SBA Charge-Off Rate | Limited data | 2.0% (113 loans) |
| Total Units | 90 | 765 |
| Unit Growth (YoY) | -1 units | -25 units |
| Year Began Franchising | 1992 | 1985 |
| FDD Year | 2026 | 2026 |
Investment Range
$165K – $250K
$131K – $288K
Franchise Fee
$40K
$40K
Royalty Rate
7.0%
The default royalty is a Gross Margin split ('Your portion'/'Our portion of the Gross Margin'), but the split percentage is not stated in fee_text. Opt-out Franchisees instead pay 'Royalty — 8% of the Total Billings.' No royalty as a % of gross sales
Average Revenue (Item 19)
$3.7MOutlet subset
$5.3M
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited data
2.0% (113 loans)
Total Units
90
765
Unit Growth (YoY)
-1 units
-25 units
Year Began Franchising
1992
1985
FDD Year
2026
2026