Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Skiptown logo

Skiptown Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Pet ServicesNCFranchising since 2025
CAverageAverage41/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$905K – $1.7M
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02336FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Skiptown is a pet franchise offering premium dog daycare, boarding, grooming, and an on-site dog bar with off-leash play. Franchisees run the facilities, managing staff, pet care operations, and the bar.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Skiptown franchise requires a total initial investment of $905K – $1.7M, including a $45K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2025. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2026 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - the current year's filing

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$905K – $1.7M
90th pct Pet Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Company-owned onlyProjection
Royalty
6.0%
18th pct Pet Services
Units
3
18th pct Pet Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Pet Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$905K – $1.7M
Median $327K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$45K – $45K
Median $49K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$150K – $225K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
3 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Pet Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $905K – $1.7M including a $45K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 makes a financial performance representation based on 3 corporate-owned locations (Denver, Atlanta, Charlotte), each open more than 12 months as of Dec 31, 2025. It does NOT disclose whole-unit gross sales, revenue, or net income. Instead it presents monthly operational metrics per location (Daytime Petcare capacity/utilization/new clients, Overnight Petcare capacity/utilization/new clients, Grooming new clients/total appointments) plus average daily PRICES per appointment. Daytime Petcare avg daily price by location: Charlotte $40.79 (range $34.51-$43.50, median $40.90), Denver $29.92 (range $23.03-$49.32, median $28.75), Atlanta $23.47 (range $15.39-$42.80, median $22.42). Overnight Petcare avg daily price: Charlotte $34.36, Denver $28.35, Atlanta $26.63. Data excludes dog park and bar revenue (not part of the franchise offering). No unit-level sales or earnings figures are provided, so no annualized per-unit gross sales or net income can be derived.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed); 2 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports Historical Corporate Data rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Skiptown Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Skipper Pets, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
None
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Mike Rotondo
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
222 Rampart Street, Charlotte, North Carolina 28203
Auditor
Bennett Thrasher LLP
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Mike Rotondo
Headquarters
NC
Founded
2025
FDD year
2026
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 296% above the typical pet services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$905K – $1.7MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$45,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$150K – $225K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown22 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$45K$45K
Travel, lodging and meals for initial trainingnot refundable$3K$5K
Licenses, Permitting and Feesnot refundable$4K$11K
Prepaid rent and security deposit and utilitiesnot refundable$17K$33K
Architect, engineer and other design professionalsnot refundable$20K$65K
Grand Opening Marketing Feenot refundable$20K$20K
Leasehold improvementsnot refundable$350K$800K
Furniture, fixtures, equipment and decornot refundable$5K$10K
Grooming equipment and start-up suppliesnot refundable$12K$27K
Kennels (75 to 100)not refundable$175K$230K
Exterior Signsnot refundable$3K$5K
Interior Signage and Brandingnot refundable$1K$5K
Technology Set-Up Feenot refundable$8K$10K
POS Systemnot refundable$2K$3K
Hardware & Mobile Devicesnot refundable$15K$20K
WebCam Systemnot refundable$8K$10K
Access Control Systemnot refundable$100$10K
Networking and Internetnot refundable$4K$25K
Back Office Systemsnot refundable$35K$45K
Other start-up expenses (uniforms, supplies, etc.)not refundable$5K$15K
Total initial investment$905K$1.7M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$905K – $1.7M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$150K – $225K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Skiptown: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$1K
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$17K – $42K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeHistorical Corporate Data
Sample size3

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Skiptown is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Skiptown unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $905K–$1.7M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $150K–$225K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.5M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 makes a financial performance representation based on 3 corporate-owned locations (Denver, Atlanta, Charlotte), each open more than 12 months as of Dec 31, 2025. It does NOT disclose whole-unit gross sales, revenue, or net income. Instead it presents monthly operational metrics per location (Daytime Petcare capacity/utilization/new clients, Overnight Petcare capacity/utilization/new clients, Grooming new clients/total appointments) plus average daily PRICES per appointment. Daytime Petcare avg daily price by location: Charlotte $40.79 (range $34.51-$43.50, median $40.90), Denver $29.92 (range $23.03-$49.32, median $28.75), Atlanta $23.47 (range $15.39-$42.80, median $22.42). Overnight Petcare avg daily price: Charlotte $34.36, Denver $28.35, Atlanta $26.63. Data excludes dog park and bar revenue (not part of the franchise offering). No unit-level sales or earnings figures are provided, so no annualized per-unit gross sales or net income can be derived.

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Reported per transaction, not per outlet

Item 19 type
Historical Corporate Data
Sample size
3
vs category median 12 · small
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank90th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank18th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank18th
vs Pet Services peers
Risk score rank72th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 69 Pet Services brands

Showing the headline figures — all 155 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Pet Services median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports Historical Corporate Data rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Pet Services medians

How Skiptown Compares

Metric
Skiptown
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.3M
$327Kmiddle half $123K–$679K · n=66
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$602Kmiddle half $281K–$925K · n=26
N/A
Unit Count
3
18middle half 4–70 · n=66
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Pet Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units3Verified — printed on page 54 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
3
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
0.67 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units
2025
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 3 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

3

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage41Verdict score 41/100
Low confidence±15 pts
2656

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Bennett Thrasher LLP

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNegative net worth -$297,852, zero revenue
  2. 02MINORNo going_concern_note, no litigation
  3. 03MEDVery limited operating history

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 155 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training95 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius7 mi
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ10
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationNorth Carolina (franchisor's principal place of business)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNorth Carolina
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
50 hrs
On-the-job training
45 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee, subject to franchisor site approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
SkipOS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: SkipOS

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Skiptown franchise?

The total investment to open a Skiptown franchise ranges from $905K – $1.7M, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Skiptown franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Skiptown FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Skiptown?

Skiptown is franchised by Skiptown Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Skipper Pets, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Skiptown FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Skiptown FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Skiptown's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Skiptown (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Skiptown franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Skiptown has 3 total units in the United States.

Is Skiptown a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Skiptown as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Skiptown, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Pet Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Pet Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.