Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Red Lion Hotels logo

Red Lion Hotels Franchise Cost & 2026 FDD Data

LodgingMassachusettsFranchising since 1999

46/100

Second tier

46 this brand65 Lodging medianlikely 35–57: narrower with more SBA loans (moderate confidence)

Higher is better · an editorial assessment, not investment advice

#1,944 of 3,069 graded brands

Why a B: Held back by scale, legal record and transparency. See all six factors

Total investment
not available
Avg gross sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
0.0%

None of the 13 resolved SBA 7(a) loans to Red Lion Hotels owners charged off (approved since FY1991); Lodging median 3.2%.

2026 FDDData QualityLimitedFew fields extractedPre-openingA manager may run itNo territory protection

Data from the FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records. Analysis by FranchiseVerdict · Methodology · Website · Report an error · Franchisor? Claim this listing

One-time PDF; full refund within 7 days if the data does not match the FDD

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026 FDD

Per the 2026 FDD, a Red Lion Hotels franchise does not disclose total investment in its current FDD, including a $75K franchise fee. Once open, the ongoing royalty is 5.0%. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 0.0% charge-off rate on 13 resolved loans. Verdict grade: B (Second tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice.

Sources: 2026 FDD · SBA 7(a) loan records (FOIA) ·

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low (issued within the last 12 months)

Evidence for the headline figures: partial✗ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored2 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Bottom line

  • RETURNSThe FDD makes no financial performance representation in Item 19, so it discloses no revenue or earnings figures; Item 19 is voluntary, and the Financial performance section explains what that does and does not mean.
  • GROWTHIn the latest Item 20 year, the number of franchised outlets did not change (0 opened, 0 closed).
  • FLAGItem 4 discloses a bankruptcy of an officer or of a company an officer ran, not of the franchisor. Review Item 4 for details.

Things to check before you sign (3)

  • The franchisor keeps the right to compete inside your territory (Item 12, territory).
  • The franchisor receives rebates or payments from suppliers you buy from (Item 8, required suppliers).
  • Limited data: this page holds only part of the filing. Read the FDD itself before relying on any figure here.

Checked and clear: no auditor doubt that the franchisor can keep operating, no net loss of franchised outlets in the latest Item 20 years, SBA charge-off rate 0.0%, below the 3.2% category median and no rule that the owner must run it personally. Not on file here, so ask: pending litigation and jury-trial waiver.

What to do next

  1. Step 1: Read the FDD itself.

    Free: the franchisor must give it to you at least 14 days before you sign or pay. Or look it up in a state registry (Wisconsin, Minnesota, California). What to read first.

  2. Step 2: Talk to current and former owners.

    Free: Item 20 of the FDD lists every current owner and those who left last year, most with a phone number. Questions to ask.

  3. Step 3: Talk to an SBA lender.

    Free: the SBA's Lender Match, or the lenders already lending to this brand in the SBA section. Ask what you would personally guarantee and what the monthly payment would be. If you plan to use retirement savings, ask a CPA about the rules for that first.

  4. Step 4: Have a franchise attorney review the FDD and agreement.

    Free: your state bar's lawyer referral service can name franchise lawyers, and many offer a short first consultation. Bring the checks listed above.

Research steps, not investment or legal advice.

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Total investmentNot extracted
Franchise fee$75,000Not cited
Royalty5.0%
2026 FDD p.25, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 256. OTHER FEES TYPE OF FEE AMOUNT DUE DATE REMARKS (Note 1) General Royalty 5% of Gross Rooms Revenue …Quoted from the franchisor's filing.
Ad fund3.0%
2026 FDD p.25, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 25, Item 6Promotion Fee 3% of Gross Rooms Revenue …Quoted from the franchisor's filing.
Working capital$526K – $1.8M

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7 (fees and startup costs)

Do you qualify? The filing states no minimum net worth or liquid capital. Ask Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising Inc. (Item 1: 400 Centre Street, Newton, Massachusetts 02458) and your lender what they require, and keep living costs for the first year outside the deal.

Item 6 · what you pay once you are open

Ongoing fees

Red Lion Hotels: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fundBrand-wide marketing pool. Brand Promotion Fee of 3.5% of Gross Rooms Revenue, may be increased up to 4.5% upon notice3.0%
Technology feeTechnology Fee of $9.00 per Guest Room per month (does not include cost/installation/maintenance/repair of equipment)$9/month
Training feeAdditional training charge listed in Item 6$5,000
Transfer fee$75,000
Renewal fee$75,000
Total fee loadnear the Lodging median of 8.5%8.0% of sales

What do units actually make?

This FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation - a voluntary item - so unit sales aren't disclosed.

Avg gross salesNot disclosed
Median gross salesNot disclosed
Item 19 typeNot disclosed
Sample sizeNot disclosed

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19 (sales and earnings)

Returns modelOne unit · several units · editable

Red Lion Hotels makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. The return models need one gross sales figure to start from, plus the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions; nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · one unit

What would one Red Lion Hotels unit leave you each year after the loan payment?

FDDFrom the filingNot set: this brand's filing does not supply it and we will not substitute one. Enter your ownYou overrode an FDD valueAssumed: our stated assumption, edit it
Gross sales · per unit, per year

Not disclosed in Item 19. Enter your own gross sales assumption

Gross sales, not profit: the costs below decide what is left.

Franchisor take · royalty + ad fund
Operating costs · you supply them

No Item 19 figures are on file for this brand. Enter your own costs from a lease quote, a payroll plan and calls with current owners.

Illustrative category typicals, not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to open

No Item 7 range on file. Enter your own

FDD reports $526K to $1.8M

Financing · assumed SBA 7(a)-style loan

Left after the loan payment · per year

The unit's EBITDA minus the assumed loan payment. Before tax, depreciation and any cost your inputs leave out (insurance, accounting and legal, licenses, technology fees): not take-home pay.

Gross sales are not profit. Neither the filing nor a stated assumption on this page supplies annual revenue, direct costs, labor, rent / occupancy, other operating costs and initial investment. Enter your own (a lease quote, owner calls) and the model runs on it.


Unit EBITDA · annual
Needs the inputs above
EBITDA margin
Needs the inputs above
Total invested
Needs the inputs above
Your cash in
Needs the inputs above
Loan payment · assumed
Needs the inputs above
Return on invested capital
Needs the inputs above
Payback
Needs the inputs above
One unit only. An owner of several units also pays for shared services (managers, accounting, a head office), which the multi-unit model adds on top of these figures.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD · filed by Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising Inc.

Financial performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures. All 124 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report →

Who are you contracting with?

Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising Inc., owned by Red Lion Hotels Corporation (RLHC).

Same franchisor, other programs: Classico Collection By Sonesta, MOD A Sonesta Collection, Signature Inn, Sonesta ES Suites, Sonesta Hotels and Resorts / Royal Sonesta, Sonesta Select / Sonesta Essential, Sonesta Simply Suites. Each is a separate offering with its own page.

Item 1 (the franchisor) · who you're contracting with

The franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising Inc.
Parent company
Red Lion Hotels Corporation (RLHC)
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Sonesta Holdco Corporation (via Sonesta International Hotels Corporation)
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Vance Hotels, Inc. (renamed Red Lion Hotels Franchising, Inc. in 2005, then Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising Inc. in 2021)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Co-President and Co-Chief Executive Officer
Keith Pierce and Jeffrey Leer (Co-Presidents/Co-CEOs effective April 2026)
Incorporated in
Washington
HQ
400 Centre Street, Newton, Massachusetts 02458
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$58.5M
latest fiscal year in the 2026 FDD; $51.1M the year before

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

7 other brands on this site name Sonesta Holdco Corporation (via Sonesta International Hotels Corporation) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

Grants franchises to operate upper upscale, full-service luxury boutique hotels under The James brand and related proprietary marks (Brand Hotels), providing access to a central reservation system, marketing/advertising programs, training, and brand standards.

CEO
Keith Pierce and Jeffrey Leer (Co-Presidents/Co-CEOs effective April 2026)

Is the system healthy?

0 franchised outlets between the first and last year-ends Item 20 prints (0 to 0).

Units0Not cited
Transferred0
Net change, latest year0 (0 → 0 outlets)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20 (outlets opened, closed and transferred)

Item 20 (outlet counts) · unit dynamics

The growth chart

Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system

Last fiscal year · Item 20 rates and pipeline

Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back

Item 20 · franchised units at year end

Franchised units held at 0 from 2023 to 2025

Axis does not start at zero.

Source and method
FDD Item 20, franchised outlets at each year end. Opened and closed are the latest year's counts.

Government records

SBA loan data

Lenders charged off 0.0% of 13 resolved SBA 7(a) loans, below the 3.2% category median. 7(a) is the SBA's main small-business loan; a resolved loan was paid in full or charged off.

Loans on file
23
SBA 7(a) loans matched to this brand, incl. those still being repaid
Loan volume
$56.2M
Average loan
$2.4M
loan volume divided by loans
Charge-off rate
0.0%
0 of 13 resolved loans
Paid in full
100.0%
of resolved loans
Recent-loan charge-off
Not shown
fewer than 10 recent loans resolved on file
Lenders
17
Average interest rate
6.3%
Jobs reported
233
Lender concentration
13%
top lender's share

Cumulative: every 7(a) loan matched to this brand in the SBA’s FOIA files, approved FY1991 onward. Historical lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Benchmark: the median Lodging brand charges off 3.2% (29 brands with a published rate, same cumulative window and source). This brand is 3.2 points below it.

Borrower mix: of 22 loans with a business-age entry, 21 recorded an age: 3 (14%) went to startups or businesses under two years old and 18 (86%) to established businesses or ownership changes; 1 was marked unanswered.

Loans on file
6
every non-cancelled 504 loan, incl. still being repaid
Loan volume
$7.9M
Charge-off rate
Not shown
too few resolved loans to judge (0 resolved; shown from 10)
Jobs reported
58

Cumulative: every 504 loan matched to this brand in the SBA’s FOIA files, approved FY1991 onward. Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Full SBA lending reportlenders · charge-off rate · trend

Lender network · SBA 7(a)

SBA Lending Report

Lender, state and yearly detail for Red Lion Hotels from SBA 7(a) FOIA loan records.

Average SBA guarantee
78%
Average interest rate
6.3%
Lender concentration
13%
Jobs reported
233

Top 10 SBA lenders by loan count

LoansVolumeCharge-off
Bank of Hope
3$10.3MNot on file
Simmons Bank
2$1.3MNot on file
Celtic Bank Corporation
2$4.0MNot on file
Poppy Bank
2$7.0MNot on file
Royal Business Bank
2$6.3MNot on file

A lender’s rate counts only its resolved loans, the loans that have finished (paid in full or charged off); a 0.0% often means few of its loans have finished. Under 10 resolved loans, the rate reads “Too few”.

Charge-off rate by state (top 10 by loans)

StateLoansCharged offRate
WA Washington50Too few4 resolved
TX Texas40Too few3 resolved
AR Arkansas20Too few0 resolved
ID Idaho20Too few1 resolved
MI Michigan20Too few2 resolved
CA California10Too few1 resolved
IA Iowa10Too few0 resolved
KS Kansas10Too few0 resolved
MO Missouri10Too few0 resolved
MT Montana10Too few0 resolved

Rate: charged-off loans over resolved loans (paid in full plus charged off), shown from 10 resolved loans. "Too few": under 10 resolved. The Loans column counts every approval in the window, including loans still being repaid.

SBA 7(a) loans approved per year

2018
7
2019
2
2020
3
2021
6
2022
1
2023
2
2025
1
2026
1

Borrower profile

The SBA's own business-age labels (4)
Existing (over 2 years)11 (52%)
Ownership change7 (33%)
New (2 years or less)3 (14%)
Unanswered1

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA loan-level data, matched to the brand by FranchiseVerdict.

SBA 7(a) lending insight

With a charge-off rate of 0.0% on 13 resolved loans, very few of this brand's SBA 7(a) loans have been charged off.

What are the risks?

Main risk in the grade: scale, then legal and transparency. The reasons are below.

SBA charge-off0.0%on 13 resolved loans
Litigation23 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before your own operating costs.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term20 yrs
TerritoryNone (check the terms)
Initial training25 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12 (territory), 15 (owner participation) and 17 (renewal, termination and disputes)

Contract and territory detail

Allowed renewals1
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Franchisor can competeYes
Who runs it (Item 15)A manager may run it
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationWithin 50 miles of franchisor's principal place of business (currently Newton, Massachusetts)
Governing lawMassachusetts

Items 10 (financing), 11 (training and support)

Training and operations

Classroom training
25 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Virtual or on-site (at Franchisor's designated learning management system / location)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Restaurant Point of Sale (POS)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 (initial fees) & 11 (training and support)

Franchisor support

No: Site selection assistance
No: Lease negotiation help

Franchisee contacts

We hold no owner list for this brand. Item 20 of the FDD lists the current and former owners; the free FDD is the source.

Frequently asked questions

What do Red Lion Hotels franchise owners earn?

Red Lion Hotels makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Red Lion Hotels?

Red Lion Hotels is franchised by Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising Inc. Its parent company is Red Lion Hotels Corporation (RLHC). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Sonesta Holdco Corporation (via Sonesta International Hotels Corporation). Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Red Lion Hotels FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. The Red Lion Hotels FDD does not make an Item 19 financial performance representation, so this page shows no earnings figure.

What is Red Lion Hotels' franchise failure rate?

There is no published franchise failure rate. What is measurable is Red Lion Hotels' SBA charge-off rate: 0.0% on 13 resolved loans. Put plainly: None of the 13 resolved SBA 7(a) loans to Red Lion Hotels owners charged off (approved since FY1991). The SBA charge-off rate is the share of a brand's resolved SBA 7(a) loans to its franchisees that the SBA wrote off, including purchased guarantees. Resolved means paid in full or charged off; active loans are excluded because their outcome is not yet known. It is a lending outcome, not a count of closed businesses. A franchisee can repay and close, or default and keep trading.

Is Red Lion Hotels a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict gives Red Lion Hotels a B Verdict grade (Second tier) with a verdict score of 46 out of 100 (higher is better), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Held back by scale (no outlet open yet), legal record (Item 3 covers the franchisor's whole portfolio, so no matter is attributed to this brand: neutral) and transparency (Item 19 declines to disclose financial performance). The “Why a B” section on this page lists all six dimensions and any adjustment. Speak with current franchisees before making any investment decision.

Other Lodging franchises

Similar investment first, then by grade

This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.