Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
RE/MAX logo
FV-02104FDD 2025Data Quality·Excellent81%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Re/Max Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateCOFranchising since 1974CEOErik CarlsonWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average55/100

RE/MAX is a real-estate brokerage franchise where offices recruit and support commission-earning agents. Franchisees run independent brokerages competing on agent recruitment and productivity, paying the franchisor a share of gross commissions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A RE/MAX franchise requires a total initial investment of $45K – $266K, including a $18K – $38K franchise fee and an ongoing 1.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 14.2% charge-off rate across 306 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$45K – $266K
26th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
1.0%
0th pct Real Estate
Units
3,150
88th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
14.2%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$45K – $266K
Avg $219K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$18K – $38K
Avg $32K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $50K
Avg $37K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
1.0%
Avg 6.3%
Ongoing Fees
16.0% of rev
Avg 9.3%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
14.2%
Avg 20.7%
below avg ↓
System Size
3,150 units
Avg 212 units
Turnover Rate
7.9%
Avg 11.6%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
6 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $45K – $266K including a $18K franchise fee, 1.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 55/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 14.2% across 306 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -9.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
RE/MAX, LLC
Parent company
RMCO, LLC
Ultimate parent
RE/MAX Holdings, Inc.
Predecessor
RE/MAX International, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
5075 South Syracuse Street, Denver, Colorado 80237-2712
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$307.7M
vs $325.7M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Erik Carlson
Headquarters
CO
Founded
1974
FDD year
2025
States available
51

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 29% below the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$45K – $266KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 39 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$17,500Verified — printed on page 26 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund1.0%
Working capital$10K – $50K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$18K$38K
Office set-up/improvementsnot refundable$4K$92K
Exterior office signagenot refundable$500$10K
Furniture, fixtures and equipmentnot refundable$2K$20K
Computer Systemnot refundable$4K$26K
Inventory and suppliesnot refundable$500$4K
Education fees and expensesnot refundable$4K$9K
Insurancenot refundable$2K$6K
Licenses, Grand Opening, Utilities, Security Deposit, and other miscellaneous opening costsnot refundable$1K$11K
Additional funds - 3 monthsnot refundable$10K$50K
Total initial investment$45K$266K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$45K – $266K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$18K – $38K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
1.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
$128
Total fee load
16.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

RE/MAX: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty1.0%
Technology fee$15
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$500 $4K
Total fee load16.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

RE/MAX makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one RE/MAX unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $45K–$266K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$185K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 16.0% — above the Real Estate average of 9.3%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -9.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate averages

How Re/Max Compares

Metric
Re/Max
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$155K
$219K
Revenue
N/A
$1.8M
Unit Count
3,150
211.977

Is the system healthy?

Total units3,150Verified — printed on page 86 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-9.4%
Turnover rate7.9%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
3,150
Opened
125
Last reporting year
Closed
147
Terminated
101
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
92
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
7.9%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-9.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-9.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
180
Closed (3yr)
83
Terminated (3yr)
59
Non-renewed (3yr)
107
Transfers (3yr)
95
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
2022
3,477
Franchised units
2023
3,374-103
Franchised units
2024
3,150-224
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 43 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 43 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Indiana
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

C
SBA Lending Health
Average SBA lending record · 14.2% charge-off
Total loans
306
Loan volume
$128.0M
Median loan
$100K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
14.2%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
85.8%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
109
Defaults
34
Typical loan rate
6.1%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
14.8%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
1,574
4.3 per loan
Lender concentration
8%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 0% went to startups / new businesses, 100% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in offices of real estate agents and brokers, franchised businesses charge off at 14.8% vs 29.6% for independents — franchising is associated with 50% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Re/Max charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Re/Max charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 16 vintages from 1998 to 2017. Rates range from 0.0% to 42.9%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%'98'01'05'09'14'17

Top lenders financing Re/Max franchisees

Wells Fargo Bank National Association8 loans16.7%
The Huntington National Bank7 loans0.0%
Bank of America, National Association5 loans20.0%

Showing 3 of 109 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
57
Loan volume
$34.0M
Charge-off rate
18.8%
Jobs created
1,343

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Re/Max's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 15 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 23-year lending trend
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 14.2% — 11% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off14.2%
Verdict score55/100 (higher is better)
Litigation6 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average55Verdict score 55/100

Parent-level financials show negative equity -$67.8M and financial_distress flagged, plus 13 litigation matters dominated by the nationwide buyer-broker antitrust litigation (RE/MAX settled for $55M). No Item 19 disclosed. Litigation is heavy but system is large (3,150 units) and net income positive $11.3M; equity is parent-level so not brand-penalized.

High confidence±3 pts
5359

Litigation (Item 3)

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3

Largest disclosed settlement: $22,565

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $307.7MYr 2: $325.7MNon-royalty: $22.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor financials (RE/MAX, LLC consolidated): FY2024 total revenue $307.685M, net income $11.293M; FY2023 total revenue $325.671M, net loss $(61.229)M; FY2022 total revenue $353.386M, net income $20.714M. Total member's equity was negative in both 2023 (-$79.065M) and 2024 (-$67.773M), driven by historical distributions/debt rather than operating insolvency; no going-concern qualification was issued by the auditor (KPMG).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 55 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGH13 litigation matters incl. $55M antitrust settlement (Moehrl/Burnett/Nosalek)
  2. 02MINORParent-level negative equity -$67,773,000 (judge on operations)
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  4. 04MINORNegative net unit growth -9.4%
  5. 05MINOROffset: $307.7M revenue, $11.3M net income

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 16.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training50 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeAddress-only
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Territory population100,000
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)1 year
Right of first refusalNo
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds1
Curable defaults2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationDenver, Colorado
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawColorado
Litigation count6
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
50 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
joint
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

392 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 392 contacts · $49

FDD download

RE/MAX · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a RE/MAX franchise?

The total investment to open a RE/MAX franchise ranges from $45K – $266K, with an initial franchise fee of $18K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do RE/MAX franchise owners earn?

RE/MAX makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the RE/MAX FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the RE/MAX FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is RE/MAX's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, RE/MAX has a charge-off rate of 14.2% across 306 loans, meaning 14.2% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many RE/MAX franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, RE/MAX has 3,150 total units in the United States, including 3,150 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 125 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is RE/MAX a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates RE/MAX as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 55 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent RE/MAX, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.