Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Howard Hanna logo

Howard Hanna Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstatePAFranchising since 2010
BAbove averageAbove average65/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$45K – $259K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01242FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Howard Hanna is a residential real-estate brokerage franchise concentrated in the eastern United States. Franchisees run offices recruiting and supervising agents, managing listings and transactions, and earning from commissions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Howard Hanna franchise requires a total initial investment of $45K – $259K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$45K – $259K
26th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
24th pct Real Estate
Units
452
79th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$45K – $259K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$8K – $30K
Median $22K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
452 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.3%
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $45K – $259K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 65/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -8.3% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Howard Hanna Real Estate Associates, LLC
Parent company
Hanna Holdings, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 12 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
and affiliates have not offered
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President / Chief Executive Officer
Helen Hanna Casey
Incorporated in
PA
HQ
119 Gamma Drive, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15238
Auditor
Schneider Downs & Co., Inc.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.3M
vs $2.4M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Helen Hanna Casey
Headquarters
PA
Founded
2010
FDD year
2025
States available
12

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 14% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$45K – $259KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 25 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$8K – $30K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Howard Hanna: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$8K$30K
Equipment, build-out, other$12K$204K
Total initial investment$45K$259K

Source: Howard Hanna 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$45K – $259K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$8K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
No advertising fund required; franchisees are not require…
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Howard Hanna: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$6K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$4K – $12K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Howard Hanna makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Howard Hanna unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $45K–$259K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $8K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$171K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 113 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Real Estate median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -8.3% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How Howard Hanna Compares

Metric
Howard Hanna
Category median
vs median
Investment
$152K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
452
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units452Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 58 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-8.3% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate2.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
452
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Turnover rate
2.3%
Company-owned
407
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
10%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-8.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-8.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
6
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
97.8%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
2.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
48
Franchised units
2023
45-3
Franchised units
2024
45±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Minnesota
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Washington

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

44 current owners across 7 states.

  • PA 26
  • NY 7
  • OH 4
  • IN 2
  • MI 2
  • WV 2
  • NC 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score65/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average65Verdict score 65/100
Low confidence±15 pts
5080

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

0 case reference(s): 3 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Schneider Downs & Co., Inc.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.3MYr 2: $2.4MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures from the audited financial statements of Howard Hanna Real Estate Associates, LLC (the franchisor/Company), Pittsburgh, PA, FY ended December 31, 2024 (most recent of 2024/2023/2022 presented). Stated in whole US dollars (not in thousands). Primary revenue line is "Fee Income" of $2,324,417 (2024) vs $2,414,023 (2023). Interest income of $22,415 reported separately (other_revenue). Net income $882,262. Balance sheet reconciles: total liabilities $244,155 + member's equity $1,486,620 = total assets $1,730,775. Single entity; no separate parent statements presented. Auditor: Schneider Downs & Co., Inc., dated March 14, 2025.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 65 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial performance data disclosed — impossible to validate ROI claims or typical unit economics
  2. 02MINORMinimum royalty of $25,000/year creates fixed cost burden regardless of revenue; franchisees hitting $416,667 in AGR break even on 6% rate
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($45K–$258.5K) indicates highly variable startup costs and unclear initial capital requirements
  4. 04MINOR452 units with unknown growth trajectory — no disclosure of unit openings/closures makes it impossible to assess system health
  5. 05MINORSliding royalty scale heavily incentivizes high-volume operations; smaller franchisees subsidize system through minimum fees

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 113 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training15 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice60 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationPennsylvania
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawPA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 3 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Franchisor offices at 119 Gamma Drive, Pittsburgh, PA or Hanna Holdings brokerage offices, or live webinars
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves within 30 days
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Profit Power
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Profit Power

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

44 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 44 contacts · $49
Free preview
(614) 569-••••OH
Unlock all 44 contacts
(716) 673-••••NY
(574) 786-••••IN
(724) 437-••••PA
(419) 947-••••OH

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Howard Hanna franchise?

The total investment to open a Howard Hanna franchise ranges from $45K – $259K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Howard Hanna franchise owners earn?

Howard Hanna makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Howard Hanna?

Howard Hanna is franchised by Howard Hanna Real Estate Associates, LLC. Its parent company is Hanna Holdings, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Howard Hanna FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Howard Hanna FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Howard Hanna's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Howard Hanna (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Howard Hanna franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Howard Hanna has 452 total units in the United States, including 45 franchised units and 407 company-owned units.

Is Howard Hanna a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Howard Hanna as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 65 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Howard Hanna, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.