Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
World Gym logo

World Gym Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessCAFranchising since 2009
BAbove averageAbove average53/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$453K – $2.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
0.0%
on 11 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02999FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

World Gym is a fitness franchise operating full-service gyms with equipment, group classes, and personal training. Franchisees run the clubs, managing memberships, staff, equipment, and personal training.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A World Gym franchise requires a total initial investment of $453K – $2.2M, including a $25K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 0.0% charge-off rate across 11 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$453K – $2.2M
82nd pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
18
50th pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
0.0%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$453K – $2.2M
Median $392K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$45K – $150K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 9.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
0.0%
11 loans · Median 10.5%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
18 units
Median 17 units
near median
Turnover Rate
11.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $453K – $2.2M including a $25K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 0.0% across 11 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 2 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
World Gym International, LLC
Parent company
World Fitness Services, Limited (WFSL)
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
John Caraccio
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
1901 Avenue of the Stars, Suite 1100, Los Angeles, California 90067
Auditor
Chen & Fan Accountancy Corporation
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$3.6M
vs $3.2M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
John Caraccio
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2008
FDD year
2026
States available
9

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 242% above the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$453K – $2.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$45K – $150K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

World Gym: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$45K$150K
Equipment, build-out, other$383K$2.1M
Total initial investment$453K$2.2M

Source: World Gym 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$453K – $2.2M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$45K – $150K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$1,250 per month, with a $50 per month increase upon each…
Ad fund
$350 per month

Ongoing fees · Item 6

World Gym: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$1,250 per month, with a $50 per month increase upon each one-year anniversary of the effective date of the Franchise Agreement.
Technology fee$165
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$2K – $5K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

World Gym makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one World Gym unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $453K–$2.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $45K–$150K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.4M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 148 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -45.5% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How World Gym Compares

Metric
World Gym
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.3M
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
18
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Near median

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units18Verified — printed on page 58 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-45.5% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate11.1% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
18
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.1%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
1%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-45.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-45.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Not renewed
1
Signed, not yet open
1
0.06 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
24
Franchised units
2024
20-4
Franchised units
2025
18-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 9 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

9

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

0 current owners across 0 states; 1 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

    Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

    SBA loan performance

    Government records

    SBA Loan Data

    Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

    A
    SBA Lending Health
    Excellent SBA lending record · 0.0% charge-off
    Total loans
    11
    Loan volume
    $4.4M
    Median loan
    $196K
    50th percentile
    Charge-off rate
    0.0%
    on 11 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

    Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

    Repayment rate (PIF)
    100.0%
    5-yr charge-off
    N/A
    Loans approved 2021+
    Active lenders
    7
    Defaults
    0
    Typical loan rate
    7.9%
    avg rate to borrowers
    Franchised industry avg
    15.8%
    brand beats franchise avg ↓
    Jobs supported
    128
    2.9 per loan
    Lender concentration
    36%
    top lender's share

    Borrower mix: 33% went to startups / new businesses, 67% to established operators

    Franchise vs independent — in fitness and recreational sports centers, franchised businesses charge off at 15.8% vs 18.2% for independents — franchising is associated with 13% lower SBA default risk in this category.

    Top lenders financing World Gym franchisees

    Webster Bank National Association4 loans0.0%
    Columbia Bank2 loans0.0%
    The Huntington National Bank1 loans0.0%

    Showing 3 of 7 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

    Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

    Total loans
    3
    Loan volume
    $3.5M
    Charge-off rate
    N/A
    Jobs created
    47

    Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

    Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

    Lender network · 7(a) + 504

    SBA Lending Report

    Full lending analysis for World Gym from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

    Principal loss rate
    0.0%
    Avg SBA guarantee
    61%
    Avg interest rate
    7.92%
    Lender concentration
    36.4%
    Job velocity
    2.9 per $100K
    NAICS benchmark
    12.5%
    NAICS 713940
    Jobs supported
    128

    Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 36% of loans

    #LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
    1Webster Bank National Association4$1.0M0.0%
    2Columbia Bank2$275K0.0%
    3The Huntington National Bank1$50K0.0%
    4Exchange Bank1$1.5M0.0%
    5PeopleFund1$250K0.0%
    6Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company1$25K0.0%
    7Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Company1$1.3MN/A

    Geographic failure vector

    StateLoansDefaultsRate
    NYNew York500.0%
    CACalifornia200.0%
    AZArizona10--
    INIndiana100.0%
    OROregon100.0%
    TXTexas100.0%

    SBA 7(a) lending trend

    2008
    1
    2015
    1
    2017
    3
    2018
    2
    2019
    1
    2023
    1
    2024
    2

    Borrower profile

    Existing (2+ yr)3 (50%)
    Startup2 (33%)
    Unanswered1 (17%)

    Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

    Lending insight

    With a 0.0% charge-off rate across 11 loans, banks have historically viewed this brand favorably for lending.

    What could kill this investment?

    SBA loans charge off at 0.0% — 100% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

    SBA charge-off0.0% · 11 loans
    Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
    Litigation0 cases
    Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

    Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

    Risk analysis

    FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

    Risk & Legal

    BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100
    High confidence±6 pts
    4759

    Litigation (Item 3)

    Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

    No litigation required to be disclosed.

    Bankruptcy (Item 4)

    None disclosed

    Audited financials (Item 21)

    Yes · Chen & Fan Accountancy Corporation

    Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

    Yr 1: $3.6MYr 2: $3.2MNon-royalty: $0.0M

    Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

    Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

    • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
    • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
    • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
    • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
    • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

    Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

    1. 01MINORFinancial distress flag
    2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure

    Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

    Showing the headline figures — all 148 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

    What are you signing up for?

    Initial term10 yrs
    Renewal term10 yrs
    TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
    Initial training64 hrs

    Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

    FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

    Contract & Territory Detail

    Initial term10 years
    Renewal term10 years
    Allowed renewalsℹ2
    Territory typeProtected territory
    Protected territoryYes
    Exclusive territoryℹNo
    Territory sizeℹdefined on Data Sheet by town/city/county, population/radius/zip based
    Online sales rightsℹRestricted
    Franchisor can competeYes
    Hire a manager?Allowed
    Owner-operatorOptional
    Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
    Non-compete (miles)ℹ15 mi
    Right of first refusalℹYes
    RoFR response window30 days
    Transfer requires consentYes
    Termination notice30 days
    Mandatory arbitrationYes
    Jury trial waiverYes
    Governing lawDelaware
    Litigation count0
    View Item 3 litigation summary

    No litigation required to be disclosed.

    Items 10, 11

    Training & Operations

    Classroom training
    56 hrs
    On-the-job training
    8 hrs
    Ongoing training
    Required
    Site selection
    franchisor approves franchisee-proposed site
    Franchisor financing
    Not offered
    Item 10
    POS system
    Third-party Approved Supplier POS/payment processing
    Operating tech stack

    Items 5 & 11

    Franchisor Support

    ✓Site selection assistance
    ✓Grand opening support
    ✗Lease negotiation help

    Technology: Third-party Approved Supplier POS/payment processing

    Item 20 · call current owners

    Franchisee Contacts

    1 owners to call

    Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

    Unlock 1 contacts · $49

    Frequently asked questions

    Frequently Asked Questions

    How much does it cost to open a World Gym franchise?

    The total investment to open a World Gym franchise ranges from $453K – $2.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

    What do World Gym franchise owners earn?

    World Gym makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

    Who owns World Gym?

    World Gym is franchised by World Gym International, LLC. Its parent company is World Fitness Services, Limited (WFSL). Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

    What is Item 19 in the World Gym FDD?

    The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the World Gym FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

    What is World Gym's franchise failure rate?

    Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, World Gym has a charge-off rate of 0.0% across 11 loans, meaning 0.0% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

    How many World Gym franchise locations are there?

    As of their most recent FDD filing, World Gym has 18 total units in the United States, including 18 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

    Is World Gym a good franchise to buy?

    FranchiseVerdict rates World Gym as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

    Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

    For franchisors

    Are you the franchisor?

    If you represent World Gym, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

    Other Health & Fitness franchises

    Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

    Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.