Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
FITNESS 1440 logo

Fitness 1440 Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessAZFranchising since 2011
BAbove averageAbove average66/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$369K – $1.9M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 20 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00947Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Fitness 1440 is a full-service gym franchise offering 24-hour access, group classes, and personal training in a community setting. Franchisees run the clubs, managing memberships, staff, equipment, and personal training.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A FITNESS 1440 franchise requires a total initial investment of $369K – $1.9M, including a $5K – $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$369K – $1.9M
69th pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
13th pct Health & Fitn…
Units
36
65th pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$369K – $1.9M
Median $392K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$5K – $50K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$45K – $150K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 20 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 20 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
36 units
Median 17 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
11.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $369K – $1.9M including a $50K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 66/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 4 closed); 8 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -11.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Fitness 1440, Inc.
CEO title
President
Steven Beach
Incorporated in
PA
HQ
870 East Williams Field Road, Gilbert, AZ 85295
Auditor
Bielau, Tierney, Coon & Company, P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.3M
vs $1.3M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Steven Beach
Headquarters
AZ
Founded
2009
FDD year
2023
States available
10

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 194% above the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$369K – $1.9MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$45K – $150K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

FITNESS 1440: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$45K$150K
Equipment, build-out, other$274K$1.7M
Total initial investment$369K$1.9M

Source: FITNESS 1440 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$369K – $1.9M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$45K – $150K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$5K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

FITNESS 1440: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Technology fee$299
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$40K – $400K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

FITNESS 1440 makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one FITNESS 1440 unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $369K–$1.9M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $45K–$150K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.3M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Health & Fitness median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -11.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

Only 13% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How Fitness 1440 Compares

Metric
Fitness 1440
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.2M
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
36
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units36Verified — printed on page 49 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+3.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate11.1% (caution)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
36
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
4
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.1%
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
86%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
12.5%
Net growth (3-yr)
+3.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-11.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
8
0.22 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
8
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
8.3%
Units that stopped operating
2020
35
Franchised units
2021
33-2
Franchised units
2022
31-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 13 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 13 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

21 current owners across 13 states.

  • OR 4
  • AZ 2
  • GA 2
  • TN 2
  • TX 2
  • WI 2
  • AL 1
  • CO 1
  • FL 1
  • MD 1
  • MN 1
  • MS 1
  • +1 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
20
Loan volume
$7.1M
Median loan
$243K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 20 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 20 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 20 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 20 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
10
Defaults
1
Typical loan rate
7.2%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
15.8%
n=7,965 loans
Jobs supported
282
5.6 per loan
Lender concentration
13%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 50% went to startups / new businesses, 50% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in fitness and recreational sports centers, franchised businesses charge off at 15.8% vs 18.2% for independents — franchising is associated with 13% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Fitness 1440 franchisees

Celtic Bank Corporation2 loans0.0%
Stearns Bank National Association2 loans0.0%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 10 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$878K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
20

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Fitness 1440 from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
3.1%
Avg SBA guarantee
77%
Avg interest rate
7.24%
Avg chargeoff amount
$158K
Lender concentration
13.3%
Job velocity
5.6 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
12.5%
NAICS 713940
Jobs supported
282

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 13% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Celtic Bank Corporation2$661K0.0%
2Stearns Bank National Association2$406K0.0%
3Wells Fargo Bank National Association2$899K0.0%
4Citizens Bank2$903K100.0%
5Byline Bank2$730KN/A
6Cadence Bank1$185KN/A
7Simmons Bank1$700KN/A
8Central State Bank1$96KN/A
9Newtek Small Business Finance, Inc.1$243KN/A
10CRF Small Business Loan Company, LLC1$227K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
TNTennessee500.0%
GAGeorgia300.0%
COColorado2150.0%
TXTexas200.0%
ALAlabama10--
NJNew Jersey10--
PAPennsylvania10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2016
1
2017
1
2018
4
2019
3
2020
2
2021
2
2022
1
2024
1

Borrower profile

Startup5 (42%)
Unanswered2 (17%)
Ownership change2 (17%)
Existing (2+ yr)2 (17%)
New (< 2 yr)1 (8%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 20 loans
Verdict score66/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average66Verdict score 66/100

Declining system with significant capital requirements, zero performance transparency, and insufficient evidence of franchisee profitability creates substantial investment risk.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
5676

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Bielau, Tierney, Coon & Company, P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.3MYr 2: $1.3MNon-royalty: $0.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures from the AUDITED Consolidated Financial Statements of Fitness 1440, Inc. and Subsidiaries, for the year ended December 31, 2022 (with 2021 comparative), audited by Bielau, Tierney, Coon & Company, P.C. (Pittsburgh, PA), opinion dated May 10, 2023. Statements presented in whole US dollars (no scaling). Total revenues 2022 = Franchise fees 204,207 + Royalties 799,470 + Other 322,717 = 1,326,394 (yr2 2021 = 1,253,005). Other revenue is 'Other' line of 322,717. Balance sheet reconciles: Total Assets 2,375,011 = Total Liabilities 1,905,773 + Total Shareholders' Equity 469,238 (Common stock 422,024 + Retained earnings 497,214 - Treasury stock 450,000). The unaudited 'Summary Balance Sheet' and 'Profit & Loss' pages (Fitness 1440 Inc, cash basis, as of/through Mar 31, 2023) carry an explicit 'prepared without an audit' disclaimer and were NOT used.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 66 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORSystem shrinking 6.1% YoY (36 units) indicates declining franchisee success and brand momentum
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents ROI validation and unit economics assessment
  3. 03MINORHigh capital requirement ($369K-$1.9M) combined with declining unit count suggests poor franchisee profitability
  4. 04MINORDual royalty structure (6% or $2,495/month minimum) creates cash flow pressure, especially for underperforming locations
  5. 05MINOR10-year term lock-in is lengthy given system contraction and lack of performance transparency
  6. 06MINORFitness industry highly competitive with low barriers to entry; franchise model advantages unclear

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationMaricopa County, Arizona
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawAZ
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
20 hrs
On-the-job training
20 hrs
Training location
At or near franchisor headquarters in Gilbert, Arizona
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

21 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 21 contacts · $49
Free preview
(404) 360-••••GA
Unlock all 21 contacts
(657) 444-••••OR
(601) 397-••••MS
(678) 770-••••GA
(503) 593-••••OR

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a FITNESS 1440 franchise?

The total investment to open a FITNESS 1440 franchise ranges from $369K – $1.9M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do FITNESS 1440 franchise owners earn?

FITNESS 1440 makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns FITNESS 1440?

FITNESS 1440 is franchised by Fitness 1440, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the FITNESS 1440 FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the FITNESS 1440 FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is FITNESS 1440's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for FITNESS 1440 (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many FITNESS 1440 franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, FITNESS 1440 has 36 total units in the United States, including 31 franchised units and 5 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is FITNESS 1440 a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates FITNESS 1440 as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 66 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent FITNESS 1440, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.