Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Great Frame Up logo
FV-02642Data Quality·Excellent86%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

The Great Frame Up Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailMOFranchising since 2007CEOJoseph A. LynchWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
CAverage43/100

The Great Frame Up is a custom framing retail franchise for art, photos, and memorabilia. Franchisees run the studios, guiding design consultations and managing framing production and inventory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Great Frame Up franchise requires a total initial investment of $114K – $209K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 17.9% charge-off rate across 34 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2024 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$114K – $209K
11th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
20th pct Retail
Units
55
22nd pct Retail
SBA charge-off
17.9%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$114K – $209K
Avg $412K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Avg $35K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $25K
Avg $50K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 6.2%
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Avg 9.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
17.9%
Avg 17.9%
near avg
System Size
55 units
Avg 407 units
Turnover Rate
3.6%
Avg 8.1%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $114K – $209K including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 43/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 17.9% across 34 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -12.7% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Franchise Concepts, Inc.
Parent company
CFran Holdings, LLC
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
5700 Mexico Road, Suite 6, St. Peters, Missouri 63376
Auditor
Conner Ash P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.4M
vs $1.4M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • of the franchisor

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Joseph A. Lynch
Headquarters
MO
Founded
1998
FDD year
2024
States available
19

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 61% below the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$114K – $209KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 2.0%
Working capital$10K – $25K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$2K$30K
Travel and living expenses while attending initial trainingnot refundable$0$3K
Real Estatenot refundable$5K$80K
Opening Inventorynot refundable$5K$9K
Equipmentnot refundable$8K$29K
Fixturesnot refundable$10K$28K
Architect Feenot refundable$0$10K
Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$6K$35K
Freight and Storagenot refundable$1K$8K
In-Store and Store Front Signagenot refundable$2K$6K
Miscellaneous Opening Costsnot refundable$1K$2K
Insurancenot refundable$1K$2K
Grand Opening Advertisingnot refundable$10K$23K
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$0$25K
Total initial investment$52K$289K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$114K – $209K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Great Frame Up: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$25
Inventory (initial)$5K $9K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Great Frame Up makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Great Frame Up unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $114K–$209K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$179K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 150 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Retail average).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -12.7% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail averages

How The Great Frame Up Compares

Metric
The Great Frame Up
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$162K
$412K
Revenue
N/A
$920K
Unit Count
55
406.738

Is the system healthy?

Total units55Verified — printed on page 43 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-12.7%
Turnover rate3.6%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
55
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.6%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-12.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-12.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
1
Closed (3yr)
2
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
1
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
1.7%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
3.3%
Units that stopped operating
2021
60
Franchised units
2022
56-4
Franchised units
2023
55-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 19 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

19

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

D
SBA Lending Health
Below-average SBA lending record · 17.9% charge-off
Total loans
34
Loan volume
$4.3M
Median loan
$164K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
17.9%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
82.1%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
4
Defaults
5
Typical loan rate
6.5%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
31.1%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
24
2.3 per loan
Lender concentration
50%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 50% went to startups / new businesses, 50% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in all other home furnishings stores, franchised businesses charge off at 31.1% vs 25.1% for independents — franchising is associated with 24% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing The Great Frame Up franchisees

Wells Fargo Bank National Association3 loans0.0%
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company1 loans0.0%
Truist Bank1 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 4 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into The Great Frame Up's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 4 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 5 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 5-year lending trend
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 17.9% — 12% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off17.9%
Verdict score43/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage43Verdict score 43/100

Two litigation matters, but franchisor is plaintiff suing franchisees for unpaid royalties — no claims against franchisor. Positive net worth $1.06M, $164K net income, audited. Concerns are no Item 19 disclosure and -12.7% net growth (shrinking system).

High confidence±3 pts
6369

Litigation (Item 3)

2 case reference(s): 2 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Conner Ash P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.4MYr 2: $1.4MNon-royalty: $0.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor revenue consists of franchise fees ($1,103,008 in 2023) plus Marketing Fund contributions ($279,063 in 2023); franchisor does not report franchisee unit-level sales (Item 19 not disclosed).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 43 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR2 suits but franchisor is plaintiff (low severity)
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINOR-12.7% net growth (system contracting)
  4. 04MINORPositive equity $1.06M, net income $164K, audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 150 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training78 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeRadius
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Territory radius3 mi
Territory population15,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)2 years
Non-compete (miles)10 mi
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaults2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Governing lawTexas
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

2 case reference(s): 2 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
78 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Lifesaver
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Lifesaver

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

47 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 47 contacts · $49
Free preview
(203) 566-••••
Unlock all 47 contacts
(561) 747-••••
(239) 481-••••
(843) 815-••••
(701) 328-••••

FDD download

The Great Frame Up · FDD (2024) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Great Frame Up franchise?

The total investment to open a The Great Frame Up franchise ranges from $114K – $209K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Great Frame Up franchise owners earn?

The Great Frame Up makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the The Great Frame Up FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Great Frame Up FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Great Frame Up's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, The Great Frame Up has a charge-off rate of 17.9% across 34 loans, meaning 17.9% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many The Great Frame Up franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Great Frame Up has 55 total units in the United States, including 55 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Great Frame Up a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Great Frame Up as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 43 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Great Frame Up, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.