Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Skill Samurai logo

Skill Samurai Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationFLFranchising since 2019
BAbove averageAbove average49/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$144K – $308K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02333Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Skill Samurai is a children's education franchise teaching coding, robotics, and STEM to kids. Franchisees run learning centers, managing instructors, curriculum, and enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Skill Samurai franchise requires a total initial investment of $144K – $308K, including a $49K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$144K – $308K
41st pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
21st pct Education
Units
6
20th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$144K – $308K
Median $194K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$49K – $49K
Median $45K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $25K
Median $25K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
6 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $144K – $308K including a $49K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 49/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +5 franchised outlets in the latest year (6 opened, 0 closed); 4 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Skill Samurai, Inc.
Predecessor
Level UP Learning Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
CEO
Jeff Hughes
Incorporated in
FL
HQ
2423 SW 147th Ave., #2006, Miami, FL 33185
Auditor
Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$178K
vs $520K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Jeff Hughes
Headquarters
FL
Founded
2019
FDD year
2023
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 16% above the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$144K – $308KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2023 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$49,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $25K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee(1)$49K$49K
Fixtures & Furnishings(2)$16K$42K
Equipment(3)$20K$30K
Rent, Security & Utility Deposits(4)$2K$10K
Store Design Plan$3K$5K
Insurance(6)$1K$2K
Professional Fees(7)$500$4K
Software$165$250
Training Expenses(8)$2K$3K
Permits and other Licenses(9)$200$2K
Initial Inventory(10)$5K$16K
Leasehold Improvements(11)$20K$100K
Grand Opening Advertising(12)$15K$20K
Fax / Phone/ Internet$50$200
Office Supplies$150$500
Additional Funds -3 Months(13)$10K$25K
Total initial investment$144K$308K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$144K – $308K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$49K – $49K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Skill Samurai: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$200
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$8K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $16K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Skill Samurai makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Skill Samurai unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $144K–$308K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$243K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% (near the Education median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Skill Samurai Compares

Metric
Skill Samurai
Category median
vs median
Investment
$226K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
6
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units6Verified — printed on page 45 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
6
Opened
6
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
4
0.67 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
20
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
0
Franchised units
2021
1+1
Franchised units
2022
6+5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 6 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 6 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

7 current owners across 6 states.

  • TX 2
  • FL 1
  • MI 1
  • NH 1
  • TN 1
  • WA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 5 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score49/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average49Verdict score 49/100

Small 6-unit STEM education franchisor with negative net worth (-$138,819) and flagged financial_distress, no Item 19 disclosure, and no revenue/net income figures provided. No litigation or bankruptcy, but the stacked financial weakness plus missing Item 19 warrants a multiple-concern band.

Low confidence±19 pts
3068

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 49 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNegative net worth -$138,819
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINOROnly 6 units, thin financials

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training80 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Territory population150,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMiami, Florida
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawFlorida
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
37 hrs
On-the-job training
43 hrs
Training location
Franchisor location and on-site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
QuickBooks Online
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: QuickBooks Online

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

12 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 12 contacts · $49
Free preview
425-285-••••WA
Unlock all 12 contacts
813-761-••••FL
(800) 759-••••
949-922-••••MI
218-591-••••TX

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Skill Samurai franchise?

The total investment to open a Skill Samurai franchise ranges from $144K – $308K, with an initial franchise fee of $49K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Skill Samurai franchise owners earn?

Skill Samurai makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Skill Samurai?

Skill Samurai is franchised by Skill Samurai, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Skill Samurai FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Skill Samurai FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Skill Samurai's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Skill Samurai (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Skill Samurai franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Skill Samurai has 6 total units in the United States, including 6 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 6 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Skill Samurai a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Skill Samurai as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 49 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Skill Samurai, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.