Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Math Reactor logo

Math Reactor Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationTXFranchising since 2022
DBelow averageBelow average33/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$131K – $247K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01587Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Math Reactor is a children's education franchise offering math tutoring and enrichment for K-12 students in center and studio formats. Franchisees run the centers, managing instructors, curriculum, and enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Math Reactor franchise requires a total initial investment of $131K – $247K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$131K – $247K
39th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
0 outlets
Royalty
6.0%
7th pct Education
Units
0
0th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$131K – $247K
Median $194K
near median
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $40K
Median $25K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
11.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
0 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $131K – $247K including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 33/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Math Reactor Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Math Reactor Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2023 FDD
Ultimate parent
Graham Ventures, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2023 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
David Graham
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
TX
HQ
2880 Broadway Bend Drive, Building #1, Pearland, Texas 77584
Auditor
Salmon Sims Thomas & Associates
Audited financials
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 10

2 other brands on this site name Graham Ventures, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2023 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
David Graham
Headquarters
TX
Founded
2021
FDD year
2023
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a education franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$131K – $247KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2023 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 15 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $40K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Fee (Note 2)$28K$30K
Business Licenses & Incorporation (Note 3)$200$1K
Leasehold Improvements and Permits (Note 4)$35K$75K
Fixtures, Furnishings & Equipment (Note 5)$30K$50K
Computer Equipment and Technology (Note 6)$2K$4K
Signage (Note 7)$8K$13K
Architect/ Engineering Fees (Note 8)$4K$10K
Rent, Security Deposits and Utility Deposits (Note 9)$4K$7K
Other Professional Fees (Note 10)$500$3K
Insurance Deposit (Note 11)$800$1K
Office Supplies (Note 12)$500$2K
Training Expenses (Note 13)$1K$3K
Grand Opening Advertising (Note 14)$8K$8K
Additional Funds (for the initial 3 months of operations) (Note 15)$10K$40K
Total initial investment$131K$247K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$131K – $247K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
5.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
11.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Math Reactor: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of net sales
Marketing / ad fund5.0% of net sales
Technology fee$250
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$2K
Total fee load11.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Math Reactor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Math Reactor unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $131K–$247K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$214K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 11.0% — above the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Math Reactor Compares

Metric
Math Reactor
Category median
vs median
Investment
$189K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
0
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units0Verified — printed on page 77 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
0
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
10
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
0
Franchised units
2021
0±0
Franchised units
2022
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • LA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score33/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average33Verdict score 33/100

High-risk investment with unproven franchisor financial stability, zero disclosed units, litigation history tied to non-compete violations, and complete absence of unit-level financial performance data.

Low confidence±19 pts
1452

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Code Ninjas, LLC filed a lawsuit and arbitration against a franchisee for non-compete violations; franchisee asserted counterclaims against Code Ninjas and David Graham (now Math Reactor CEO) alleging misrepresentations. Settled April 2020 with dismissal of all claims and termination of franchise agreements without refund.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Salmon Sims Thomas & Associates

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures from the audited financial statements of Math Reactor Franchising, LLC (the franchisor entity that Item 21 relies on), for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022, stated in whole US dollars (no scaling). The Statement of Income reports Revenue of $0 (shown as a dash) for FY2022; the company organized September 14, 2021 and had not yet recognized franchise revenue. Net Loss was $(325,731). Only a single-year income statement is presented, so prior-year (yr2) revenue is not shown. Balance sheet reconciles: total assets $141,908 = total liabilities $274,391 + member's deficit $(132,483). Revenue is recognized under ASC 606 per Note 1.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 33 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDZero disclosed units with unknown growth trajectory — impossible to validate system viability or franchisee success rates
  2. 02HIGHCEO litigation history involving non-compete violations and misrepresentation allegations with Code Ninjas — suggests pattern of aggressive/questionable business practices
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure — cannot verify if average revenue or net income claims are achievable
  4. 04MINORDual royalty structure (6% vs 12%) creates unclear cost comparison and suggests different profitability models may not be equally viable
  5. 05MEDHigh initial investment range ($52K-$247K) paired with $500/mo minimum royalty but NO disclosed average unit volumes — franchisees bear significant downside risk

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 11.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training104 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationPearland, Texas (within 5 miles of franchisor's principal place of business)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawTX
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Code Ninjas, LLC filed a lawsuit and arbitration against a franchisee for non-compete violations; franchisee asserted counterclaims against Code Ninjas and David Graham (now Math Reactor CEO) alleging misrepresentations. Settled April 2020 with dismissal of all claims and termination of franchise agreements without refund.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
60 hrs
On-the-job training
44 hrs
Training location
Virtually, at Math Reactor headquarters in Pearland, Texas, and/or at designated Math Reactor Centers
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
FranchiCzar
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: FranchiCzar

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(225) 925-••••LA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Math Reactor franchise?

The total investment to open a Math Reactor franchise ranges from $131K – $247K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Math Reactor franchise owners earn?

Math Reactor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Math Reactor?

Math Reactor is franchised by Math Reactor Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Math Reactor Holdings, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Graham Ventures, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Math Reactor FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Math Reactor FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Math Reactor's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Math Reactor (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

Is Math Reactor a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Math Reactor as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 33 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Math Reactor, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.