Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Do it Best logo
FV-00765FDD 2025Data Quality·Standard71%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Do it Best Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailINFranchising since 1945CEODaniel B. StarrWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average66/100

Do it Best is a hardware and home-improvement retail franchise operating within a member-owned cooperative. Franchisees run independent hardware stores, tapping the co-op's bulk purchasing and supplier network while serving local DIY and contractor customers.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Do it Best franchise requires a total initial investment of $853K – $1.6M, including a $9K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 17.4% charge-off rate across 95 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$853K – $1.6M
45th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
N/A
Units
4,053
44th pct Retail
SBA charge-off
17.4%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$853K – $1.6M
Avg $412K
above avg ↑
Franchise Fee
$9K – $9K
Avg $35K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$72K – $168K
Avg $50K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
N/A
Avg 6.2%
Ongoing Fees
N/A
Avg 9.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
17.4%
Avg 17.9%
near avg
System Size
4,053 units
Avg 407 units
Turnover Rate
4.0%
Avg 8.1%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $853K – $1.6M including a $9K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 66/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 17.4% across 95 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Do it Best Corp.
Parent company
None
Incorporated in
IN
HQ
1626 Broadway Suite 100, Fort Wayne, IN 46802-4377
Auditor
CliftonLarsonAllen LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$4.9B
vs $4.6B prior year

Affiliated brands

  • TV Hardware Distribution

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Daniel B. Starr
Headquarters
IN
Founded
1945
FDD year
2025
States available
50

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 195% above the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$853K – $1.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$8,500Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$72K – $168K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown6 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial membership fee (including purchase of class of shares)$9K$9K
Equipment, fixtures, signage and leasehold improvements$168K$294K
Initial merchandise inventory$576K$1.0M
Security deposits, business licenses and other prepaid expenses$8K$12K
Computer and POS Systems$20K$90K
Additional funds - working capital for first 3 months of operation$72K$168K
Total initial investment$853K$1.6M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$853K – $1.6M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$72K – $168K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$9K – $9K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$90/month (basic); $140/month (enhanced); $195/month (adv…
Ad fund
-n/d

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Do it Best: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$90/month Member Services Fee (basic); $75/month per additional location; optional enhanced $140/month or advanced $195/month tiers
Technology fee$90
Inventory (initial)$576K $1.0M
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Do it Best makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Do it Best unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $853K–$1.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $72K–$168K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$1.3M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 111 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+2.6% 3-year CAGR) with 4,053 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail averages

How Do it Best Compares

Metric
Do it Best
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$1.2M
$412K
Revenue
N/A
$920K
Unit Count
4,053
406.738

Is the system healthy?

Total units4,053Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 27 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+2.6%
Turnover rate4.0%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
4,053
Opened
295
Last reporting year
Closed
161
Turnover rate
4.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+2.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+2.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
295
Closed (3yr)
138
Terminated (3yr)
23
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
108
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Termination rate
58.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
67.7%
Units that stopped operating
2022
3,931
Franchised units
2023
3,919-12
Franchised units
2024
4,053+134
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 50 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

50

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

C
SBA Lending Health
Average SBA lending record · 17.4% charge-off
Total loans
95
Loan volume
$58.1M
Median loan
$612K
average
Charge-off rate
17.4%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
82.6%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
55
Defaults
8
Typical loan rate
6.1%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
6%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Do it Best charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Do it Best charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 23 vintages from 2001 to 2026. Rates range from 0.0% to 100.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%75%80%85%90%95%100%'01'06'13'18'23'26

Top lenders financing Do it Best franchisees

The Huntington National Bank6 loans33.3%
Customers Bank5 loans0.0%
Nicolet National Bank5 loans

Showing 3 of 55 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
38
Loan volume
$30.2M
Charge-off rate
6.7%
Jobs created
457

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Do it Best's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 20 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans here charge off near the 16.0% national average.

SBA charge-off17.4%
Verdict score66/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average66Verdict score 66/100

A mature, slow-growing hardware cooperative with escalating franchisee financial distress, opaque economics, and unprotected territories presents significant capital-at-risk for a $1M+ investment without clear profitability metrics.

High confidence±3 pts
4450

Litigation (Item 3)

4 collection suits filed by Do it Best Corp. against members/guarantors for failure to pay for goods/services. No material civil actions involving the franchise relationship.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · CliftonLarsonAllen LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $4878.9MYr 2: $4597.6MNon-royalty: $76.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated gross sales for fiscal year ended June 28, 2025 ($4,878,875 thousand); net sales after returns/allowances were $4,731,359 thousand. Figures from audited consolidated statements of income (in thousands).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 66 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDHigh investment range ($852.5K-$1.58M) with no disclosed average revenue or net income prevents ROI validation
  2. 02MINORDeclining unit growth (3.4% YoY) suggests market saturation or franchisee struggles in mature 4,053-unit system
  3. 03HIGHActive collection litigation indicates cash flow problems among franchisees and potential systemic profitability issues
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk and cannibalization within franchise network
  5. 05MEDCritical data omissions: royalty rate unknown, franchise term unknown, no Item 19 financial performance data
  6. 06MINORGoing Concern flag = false provides no clarity on whether FTC disclosure addressed franchisor financial stability

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 111 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training21 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Territory typenone
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice0 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawIN
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

4 collection suits filed by Do it Best Corp. against members/guarantors for failure to pay for goods/services. No material civil actions involving the franchise relationship.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
21 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Epicor Software Corporation (preferred)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Epicor Software Corporation (preferred)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

439 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 439 contacts · $49
Free preview
612-781-••••MN
Unlock all 439 contacts
218-254-••••MN
970-325-••••
507-532-••••MN
218-624-••••MN

FDD download

Do it Best · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Do it Best franchise?

The total investment to open a Do it Best franchise ranges from $853K – $1.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $9K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Do it Best franchise owners earn?

Do it Best makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Do it Best FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Do it Best FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Do it Best's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Do it Best has a charge-off rate of 17.4% across 95 loans, meaning 17.4% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Do it Best franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Do it Best has 4,053 total units in the United States, including 4,053 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 295 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Do it Best a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Do it Best as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 66 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Do it Best, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.