Abbey Carpet Franchise Cost & 2026 FDD Data
56/100
Second tier
56 this brand56 Home Services medianlikely 50–62: narrower with more SBA loans (high confidence)
Higher is better · an editorial assessment, not investment advice
#1,232 of 3,068 graded brands
Why a B: Helped by financial health, scale and legal record. Held back by unit growth and transparency. See all six factors
- Total investment
- $23K – $62K
- Avg gross sales
- not disclosed
- SBA charge-off
- 17.6%
1 in 6 SBA 7(a) loans to Abbey Carpet owners charged off (3 of 17 resolved loans, approved since FY1991); Home Services median 17.8%.
Data from the FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records. Analysis by FranchiseVerdict · Methodology · Website · Report an error · Franchisor? Claim this listing
FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026 FDD
Per the 2026 FDD, a Abbey Carpet franchise requires a total initial investment of $23K – $62K, including a $10K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 17.6% charge-off rate on 17 resolved loans. Verdict grade: B (Second tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice.
Sources: 2026 FDD · SBA 7(a) loan records (FOIA) · What one unit could make and lose →
Sources, dates and evidence
FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low (issued within the last 12 months)
Evidence for the headline figures: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.
Overview
Quick verdict · vs Home Services median
Top edge: green = better than the Home Services median by more than 10%, red = worse by more than 10%, gray = within 10% or no benchmark. Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a).
Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Methodology
Bottom line
- RETURNSThe FDD makes no financial performance representation in Item 19, so it discloses no revenue or earnings figures; Item 19 is voluntary, and the Financial performance section explains what that does and does not mean.
- GROWTHIn the latest Item 20 year, the number of franchised outlets fell by 11.
- DATAThe FDD makes no financial performance representation in Item 19, so it discloses no revenue or earnings figures; Item 19 is voluntary, and the Financial performance section explains what that does and does not mean. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
AT STAKEOne unit at the Item 7 midpoint: $6K a year in payments on assumed SBA 7(a)-style terms.You put in about $8K of your own cash and personally guarantee a $34K loan. Assumptions are labeled in Sales; not investment advice.See what one unit could make and lose
Things to check before you sign (3)
- Net -11 franchised outlets in the latest Item 20 year. Ask owners why outlets closed.
- The franchisor keeps the right to compete inside your territory (Item 12, territory).
- The franchisor receives rebates or payments from suppliers you buy from (Item 8, required suppliers).
SBA charge-off rate 17.6%, near the 17.8% category median; the score uses fixed ranges, not the median, and takes 6 points for it (see Why a B). Checked and clear: no auditor doubt that the franchisor can keep operating, no pending lawsuit naming the franchisor, no rule that the owner must run it personally and the full filing on file. Not on file here, so ask: jury-trial waiver.
What to do next
Step 1: Read the FDD itself.
Free: the franchisor must give it to you at least 14 days before you sign or pay. Or look it up in a state registry (Wisconsin, Minnesota, California). What to read first.
Step 2: Talk to current and former owners.
Free: Item 20 of the FDD lists every current owner and those who left last year, most with a phone number. Questions to ask.
Step 3: Talk to an SBA lender.
Free: the SBA's Lender Match, or the lenders already lending to this brand in the SBA section. Ask what you would personally guarantee and what the monthly payment would be. If you plan to use retirement savings, ask a CPA about the rules for that first.
Step 4: Have a franchise attorney review the FDD and agreement.
Free: your state bar's lawyer referral service can name franchise lawyers, and many offer a short first consultation. Bring the checks listed above.
Research steps, not investment or legal advice.
Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?
Entry cost (the Item 7 midpoint) is 74% below the Home Services median ($164K).
Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7 (fees and startup costs)
Do you qualify? The filing states no minimum net worth or liquid capital. Ask Abbey Carpet Co., Inc. (Item 1: 3471 Bonita Bay Boulevard, Bonita Springs, Florida 34134) and your lender what they require, and keep living costs for the first year outside the deal.
Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items
Initial investment breakdown
| Line item | Low | High | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Membership Fee | $10K | $10K | |
| Equipment, Fixtures, Other Fixed Assets, Construction, Remodeling, Leasehold Improvements, and Decorating Costs (Optional) | $7.5K | $25K | |
| Other Displays(5) (Optional) | $400 | $1.5K | |
| Service Fee | $400 | $400 | |
| Advertising Fee | $3K | $3K | |
| Local Advertising/ Promotional Costs | $0 | $4K | |
| Store Signage | $1K | $5K | |
| Insurance | $250 | $1.5K | |
| Professional Fees | $500 | $1.5K | |
| Additional Funds—Three Months | $0 | $10K | |
| Total initial investment | $23K | $62K |
Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. The total row is the total as printed in Item 7. Actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.
Item 6 · what you pay once you are open
Ongoing fees
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Royalty (flat) | Service Fee of $400 per month, payable on the 10th of each month (single or multiple showrooms); non-refundable |
| Transfer fee | $5,000 |
What do units actually make?
This FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation - a voluntary item - so unit sales aren't disclosed.
Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19 (sales and earnings)
Items 6 (other fees), 7 (startup costs) and 19 (sales and earnings) · assumptions labeled
What you could make and lose: one unit
What one Abbey Carpet unit would ask of you, from the filing's Item 7 total and labeled assumptions.
How these figures are worked out
- Loan (assumption): 80% of the $42K Item 7 midpoint is a $34K loan, paid over 10 years at 10.5%: $6K a year. SBA 7(a)-style terms on a long-term rate; your lender sets yours. Abbey Carpet's past SBA 7(a) loans averaged 6.9% at approval; 7(a) rates move with the prime rate, so 10.5% is a current-rate assumption, not this brand's history.
What you put at risk
Your own cash in: about $8K Assumption (the part the loan does not cover of the $42K Item 7 midpoint), plus whatever anything Item 7 leaves out (its notes say what). The loan is $34K.
Personal guarantee. SBA 7(a) loans require a personal guarantee from anyone who owns 20% or more of the business. If the unit cannot pay, the lender can collect from you personally, which can include your savings and your home. The worst case is losing the cash you put in and still owing the rest of the loan.
Gross sales are not profit, and none of these figures is take-home pay until tax and every operating cost are paid. The assumptions are ours, not the filing's. Not investment advice.
Returns modelOne unit · several units · editable
Abbey Carpet makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. The return models need one gross sales figure to start from, plus the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions; nothing here is modelled until you do.
Returns model · one unit
What would one Abbey Carpet unit leave you each year after the loan payment?
Not disclosed in Item 19. Enter your own gross sales assumption
Gross sales, not profit: the costs below decide what is left.
No Item 19 figures are on file for this brand. Enter your own costs from a lease quote, a payroll plan and calls with current owners.
Illustrative category typicals, not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.
Item 7 midpoint of $23K to $62K
Item 7's $0 to $10K additional funds are already in the total
Left after the loan payment · per year
The unit's EBITDA minus the assumed loan payment. Before tax, depreciation and any cost your inputs leave out (insurance, accounting and legal, licenses, technology fees): not take-home pay.
Gross sales are not profit. Neither the filing nor a stated assumption on this page supplies annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, direct costs, labor, rent / occupancy and other operating costs. Enter your own (a lease quote, owner calls) and the model runs on it.
Loan of $34K at 10.5% over 10 years, an assumption, not a quote. Return and payback are before tax, depreciation and the costs above. The loan usually needs your personal guarantee.
These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.
Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD · filed by Abbey Carpet Co., Inc.
Financial performance
No financial performance representation
This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
vs Home Services medians
How Abbey Carpet compares
Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.
Who are you contracting with?
Abbey Carpet Co., Inc.
Item 21 (audited financials) · audited statements · 2026 FDD
The franchisor's own finances
The franchisor related companies owe it $1.1M, 10% of its assets. A franchisor that keeps little of its own profit has less of a cushion if the system has a bad year; ask how support and the ad fund are funded.
The figures, with their pages
- Net income
- $3.6Mlatest year · FDD Item 21
- Owed by related companies
- $1.1M10% of total assets (our arithmetic) · FDD p.150
- Total assets
- $10.5MFDD Item 21
- Equity
- $4.3MFDD Item 21
Item 1 (the franchisor) · who you're contracting with
The franchisor
Corporate structure & franchisor financials
- Legal entity
- Abbey Carpet Co., Inc.
- Predecessor
- Abbey Carpet Co., Inc. (California corporation, pre-1996 merger)
- Prior franchisor entity
- CEO title
- Chief Executive Officer, President, Sole Director and Chairman
- Philip Gutierrez
- Incorporated in
- FL
- HQ
- 3471 Bonita Bay Boulevard, Bonita Springs, Florida 34134
- Auditor
- Rehmann Robson LLC
- Audited financials
- Franchisor revenue
- $13.9M
- latest fiscal year in the 2026 FDD; $14.0M the year before
Overview
About
Membership system for existing owner/operators of floor covering stores; members purchase floor covering and window treatment products from ABBEY-approved vendors at negotiated prices.
- CEO
- Philip Gutierrez
Is the system healthy?
-14 franchised outlets between the first and last year-ends Item 20 prints (419 to 405, -3.3% in total, -1.7% a year compounded).
Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20 (outlets opened, closed and transferred)
Item 20 (outlet counts) · unit dynamics
The growth chart
- Company-owned
- 3
- Corporate units in the system
- % franchised
- 1%
- vs corporate-owned
Last fiscal year · Item 20 rates and pipeline
- Signed, not yet open
- 0
- Item 20 Table 5
- Projected new
- 15
- Franchisor's next-year forecast
Item 20 · franchised units at year end
Franchised units fell from 419 in 2023 to 405 in 2025
Axis does not start at zero.
Source and method
Item 20 (outlet counts) outlets · 7 states
Where current outlets are
States with at least one current outlet in the Item 20 list the franchisor prints. Former owners are not counted, and this is not a list of where the franchisor may sell new units.
Current outlets (count on the tile) · 7 statesNo current outlet
58 current outlets in 7 states: the 58 on the owner list, of 405 franchised at year end (Item 20). 3 former owners (terminated, transferred, not renewed or otherwise left) listed separately.
Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. The contact details are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.
Government records
SBA loan data
Lenders charged off 17.6% of 17 resolved SBA 7(a) loans, below the 17.8% category median. 7(a) is the SBA's main small-business loan; a resolved loan was paid in full or charged off.
- Loans on file
- 23
- SBA 7(a) loans matched to this brand, incl. those still being repaid
- Loan volume
- $10.8M
- Average loan
- $469K
- loan volume divided by loans
- Charge-off rate
- 17.6%
- 3 of 17 resolved loans
- Paid in full
- 82.4%
- of resolved loans
- Recent-loan charge-off
- Too early to judge
- only 0 recent loans have been resolved
- Lenders
- 18
- Average interest rate
- 6.9%
- Jobs reported
- 158
- Lender concentration
- 17%
- top lender's share
Cumulative: every 7(a) loan matched to this brand in the SBA’s FOIA files, approved FY1991 onward. Historical lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated
Benchmark: the median Home Services brand charges off 17.8% (66 brands with a published rate, same cumulative window and source). This brand is near that median.
Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.
Full SBA lending reportlenders · charge-off rate · trend
Lender network · SBA 7(a)
SBA Lending Report
Lender, state and yearly detail for Abbey Carpet from SBA 7(a) FOIA loan records.
- Average SBA guarantee
- 71%
- Average interest rate
- 6.9%
- Lender concentration
- 17%
- Jobs reported
- 158
Top 10 SBA lenders by loan count
| Loans | Volume | Charge-off |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company | ||
| 4 | $488K | Not on file |
| Five Star Bank | ||
| 1 | $74K | Not on file |
| Cashmere Valley Bank | ||
| 1 | $100K | Not on file |
| United Business Bank | ||
| 1 | $150K | Not on file |
| Comerica Bank | ||
| 1 | $1.9M | Not on file |
A lender’s rate counts only its resolved loans, the loans that have finished (paid in full or charged off); a 0.0% often means few of its loans have finished. Under 10 resolved loans, the rate reads “Too few”.
Charge-off rate by state (top 10 by loans)
| State | Loans | Charged off | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| CA California | 4 | 0 | Too few2 resolved |
| MA Massachusetts | 3 | 0 | Too few3 resolved |
| WA Washington | 3 | 1 | Too few2 resolved |
| CT Connecticut | 2 | 1 | Too few2 resolved |
| NY New York | 2 | 0 | Too few1 resolved |
| UT Utah | 2 | 0 | Too few1 resolved |
| MT Montana | 1 | 0 | Too few1 resolved |
| OR Oregon | 1 | 0 | Too few1 resolved |
| PA Pennsylvania | 1 | 0 | Too few1 resolved |
| SD South Dakota | 1 | 0 | Too few1 resolved |
Rate: charged-off loans over resolved loans (paid in full plus charged off), shown from 10 resolved loans. "Too few": under 10 resolved. The Loans column counts every approval in the window, including loans still being repaid.
SBA 7(a) loans approved per year
Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA loan-level data, matched to the brand by FranchiseVerdict.
What are the risks?
Main risk: a shrinking system. Franchised outlets fell from 419 to 405 over the two Item 20 years.
Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21
Verdict grade + FDD Items 3 (litigation), 4 (bankruptcy), 8 (required suppliers), 16 (what you may sell), 21 (audited financials)
Risk and legal
Grade B: Second tier, 56/100 (category median 56); the full grade is at the top of the page.
How the grade is built
Why a B, factor by factor
- Financial health HelpsAudited financials; no going-concern doubt; franchisor net income positive
- Unit economics NeutralNo Item 19 sales figure to set against the investment, so neutral
- Unit growth Weighs on it, weakest dimension-14 franchised outlets between the first and last year-ends Item 20 prints (419 to 405, -3.3% in total, -1.7% a year compounded)
- Scale Helps405 franchised units, +3 company-owned (408 in all); franchising since 1971; mostly company-owned (1% franchised)
- Legal Helps1 matter naming the franchisor among the Item 3 matters we list (0.2 per 100 outlets)
- Transparency Weighs on itItem 19 declines to disclose financial performance; audited financials
- Adjustments after the six dimensions (-7 points)SBA loan record: the SBA charge-off rate (17.6% on 17 resolved loans) is between 10% and 20%, a range the score counts against a brand, so it took 6 points off. The score uses fixed ranges, not the category median, so a rate below its category median can still cost points.Rounding: the score is kept as a whole number, which moved it by 1 point.
From the six scored dimensions, an editorial assessment, not investment advice. How the score is built
Litigation (Item 3)
Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).
2019 Washington State AG assurance of discontinuance regarding no-recruiting/no-poach provisions in membership agreements; no other litigation disclosed.
Bankruptcy (Item 4)
None disclosed
Audited financials (Item 21)
Yes · Rehmann Robson LLC
Franchisor revenue (Item 21)
The revenue figures are in the Franchisor tab, under The franchisor.
Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)
Item 19 contains no financial performance representation; ABBEY makes no representations about member financial performance. Total revenue includes $13,105,640 operating revenue, $800,000 related-party management fee, and $15,467 franchise license sales for FY2025.
Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16
Ask what the franchisor earns on the supplies it sells you or the rebates it takes (Item 8).
- Franchisor sells you products: No
- Franchisor takes supplier rebates: Yes
- Must buy proprietary products: No
- Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
- Can negotiate own supplier terms: No
Litigation case detail1 matter · Item 3
Litigation cases
The franchisor
Concluded (1)
In Re: Franchise Poaching Provisions Assurance of Discontinuance (Abbey Carpet Co., Inc.)
concludedGovernment or regulatory action · filed 2019-09-23 · King County Superior Court, State of Washington (Attorney General Antitrust Division) · 19-2-24813-1
“… King County Superior Court, State of Washington Antitrust Division, Office of the Attorney General (No. 19-2-24813-1).”Page 10 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.
What are you signing up for?
Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17
FDD Items 12 (territory), 15 (owner participation) and 17 (renewal, termination and disputes)
Contract and territory detail
| Protected territory | Yes |
|---|---|
| Exclusive territory | Yes |
| Territory size | “Territory boundaries set in Schedule A of Membership Agreement based on population, traffic, competitors, demographics; ABBEY will not license another Showroom within the designated territory; no exclusive protection from company/affiliate outlets outside the territory or online/other channels.” |
| Franchisor can compete | Yes |
| Who runs it (Item 15) | A manager may run it |
| Right of first refusal | No |
| Transfer requires consent | Yes |
| Termination notice | 30 days |
| Mandatory arbitration | Yes |
| Governing law | FL |
Items 10 (financing), 11 (training and support)
Training and operations
- Ongoing training
- Optional
- Franchisor financing
- Not offered
- Item 10
Items 5 (initial fees) & 11 (training and support)
Franchisor support
Item 20 (outlet counts) · call current owners
Franchisee contacts
Who can you call before you sign?
58 current outlets listed
Each record has a phone number and state. 37 of 61 also name the franchisee; 37 of 61 also name a city. 61 records: 58 current outlets + 3 former owners (terminated, transferred, not renewed or otherwise left). From the filing's Item 20 (the outlet list); the FDD itself is the free source. Our list covers 58 of the 405 franchised outlets Item 20 counts at year end; the owner exhibit prints the rest without a usable phone number, or omits them.
For your own due-diligence calls only. Not for telemarketing, marketing lists, or automated or prerecorded calls or texts.
The list is not offered for this brand yet. The FDD's Item 20 exhibit lists the owners.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to open a Abbey Carpet franchise?
Per the 2026 FDD, the total investment to open a Abbey Carpet franchise ranges from $23K to $62K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This is the Item 7 total in the Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD): the startup costs the franchisor lists, such as build-out, equipment, inventory and working capital. It usually leaves out buying land or a building; Item 7's notes say what is excluded.
What do Abbey Carpet franchise owners earn?
Abbey Carpet makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
Who owns Abbey Carpet?
Abbey Carpet is franchised by Abbey Carpet Co., Inc. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.
What is Item 19 in the Abbey Carpet FDD?
The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. The Abbey Carpet FDD does not make an Item 19 financial performance representation, so this page shows no earnings figure.
What is Abbey Carpet's franchise failure rate?
There is no published franchise failure rate. What is measurable is Abbey Carpet's SBA charge-off rate: 17.6% on 17 resolved loans. Put plainly: 1 in 6 SBA 7(a) loans to Abbey Carpet owners charged off (3 of 17 resolved loans, approved since FY1991). The SBA charge-off rate is the share of a brand's resolved SBA 7(a) loans to its franchisees that the SBA wrote off, including purchased guarantees. Resolved means paid in full or charged off; active loans are excluded because their outcome is not yet known. It is a lending outcome, not a count of closed businesses. A franchisee can repay and close, or default and keep trading.
How many Abbey Carpet franchise locations are there?
Per the 2026 FDD, Abbey Carpet has 405 franchised units and 3 company-owned (408 in all). In the latest year, the number of franchised outlets fell by 11.
Is Abbey Carpet a good franchise to buy?
FranchiseVerdict gives Abbey Carpet a B Verdict grade (Second tier) with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Helped by financial health, scale and legal record. Held back by unit growth (-14 franchised outlets between the first and last year-ends Item 20 prints: 419 to 405, -3.3% in total, -1.7% a year compounded) and transparency. The “Why a B” section on this page lists all six dimensions and any adjustment. Speak with current franchisees before making any investment decision.
Other Home Services franchises
Similar investment first, then by grade
This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.