Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
JBL Roofing & Construction logo

JBL Roofing & Construction Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesOHFranchising since 2024
BAbove averageAbove average59/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$34K – $71K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01339FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

JBL Roofing & Construction is a home services franchise handling residential and commercial roofing, repair, and construction. Franchisees run local operations, managing sales, estimates, crews, and projects.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A JBL Roofing & Construction franchise requires a total initial investment of $34K – $71K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 23.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$34K – $71K
2nd pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
23.0%
80th pct Home Services
Units
7
14th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$34K – $71K
Median $168K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $20K
Median $29K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
23.0%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
25.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
7 units
Median 47 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 4.3%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $34K – $71K including a $25K franchise fee, 23.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 59/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +4 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
JBL Roofing Franchise LLC
Parent company
JBL Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
nor our parent or our other affiliates have offered franchises for any other type
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Manager
William A. Lewis, Jr.
Incorporated in
OH
HQ
7285 St Rt 43, Kent, Ohio 44240
Auditor
Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$483K
Most recent fiscal year

Affiliated brands

  • JBL Intellectual Properties
  • will provide you with the Inside Team Services
  • the current form of which is attached as Exhibit K to the Franchise Agreement
  • JBL Roofing and Construction

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
William A. Lewis, Jr.
Headquarters
OH
Founded
2024
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 69% below the typical home services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$34K – $71KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty23.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$5K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

JBL Roofing & Construction: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$5K$20K
Equipment, build-out, other$4K$26K
Total initial investment$34K$71K

Source: JBL Roofing & Construction 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$34K – $71K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
23.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
25.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

JBL Roofing & Construction: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty23.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$100
Transfer fee$13K
Renewal fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$500 – $2K
Total fee load25.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

JBL Roofing & Construction makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one JBL Roofing & Construction unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $34K–$71K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$65K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 112 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 25.0% — above the Home Services median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How JBL Roofing & Construction Compares

Metric
JBL Roofing & Construction
Category median
vs median
Investment
$53K
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
7
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units7Verified — printed on page 44 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
7
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
57%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
4+4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score59/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average59Verdict score 59/100

JBL Roofing presents HIGH CAUTION risk due to missing financial disclosures (Item 19), minimal system size (7 units), extreme royalty rates (20-23%), no territory protection, and unresolved going concern status.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Low confidence±15 pts
4474

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited statement of income for the period from April 2, 2024 (inception) through December 31, 2024; sole revenue line is Royalty income of $482,769. Franchisor is in first year of operations, so no prior-year comparative.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 59 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosed (Item 19 missing) — impossible to validate ROI on $34-71K investment
  2. 02MINORExtremely high royalty rate (20-23%) with only 7 units — suggests franchisor relies on royalties rather than franchise growth strategy
  3. 03MINOROnly 7 franchised units with unknown growth trajectory — very small system with unclear viability
  4. 04MINORNo territory protection — franchisees compete directly with each other and franchisor in same markets
  5. 05MINORHigh franchise fee ($25K) relative to total investment ($34-71K) — 36-73% of minimum investment goes to franchisor upfront
  6. 06MED10-year term with no disclosed renewal rate — difficult to assess long-term viability commitment

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 112 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 25.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training44 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ60 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawOH
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
20 hrs
On-the-job training
24 hrs
Training location
Either at franchisee Outlet/Territory or at headquarters in Kent, Ohio
Time to open
0 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Rooflink, Quickbooks
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Rooflink, Quickbooks

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a JBL Roofing & Construction franchise?

The total investment to open a JBL Roofing & Construction franchise ranges from $34K – $71K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do JBL Roofing & Construction franchise owners earn?

JBL Roofing & Construction makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns JBL Roofing & Construction?

JBL Roofing & Construction is franchised by JBL Roofing Franchise LLC. Its parent company is JBL Holdings, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the JBL Roofing & Construction FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the JBL Roofing & Construction FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is JBL Roofing & Construction's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for JBL Roofing & Construction (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many JBL Roofing & Construction franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, JBL Roofing & Construction has 7 total units in the United States, including 4 franchised units and 3 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is JBL Roofing & Construction a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates JBL Roofing & Construction as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 59 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent JBL Roofing & Construction, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.