Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Thrifty Rent-a-car logo

Thrifty Rent-a-car Franchise Cost & 2026 FDD Data

AutomotiveFloridaFranchising since 1962

53/100

Second tier

53 this brand59 Automotive medianlikely 47–59: narrower with more SBA loans (high confidence)

Higher is better · an editorial assessment, not investment advice

#1,545 of 3,068 graded brands

Why a B: Helped by unit growth and scale. Held back by transparency. See all six factors

Total investment
$879K – $16.2M
excl. real estate
Avg gross sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
21.4%

1 in 5 SBA 7(a) loans to Thrifty Rent-a-car owners charged off (6 of 28 resolved loans, approved FY1997 to FY2003); Automotive median 14.2%.

Data from the FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records. Analysis by FranchiseVerdict · Methodology · Website · Report an error · Franchisor? Claim this listing

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026 FDD

Per the 2026 FDD, a Thrifty Rent-a-car franchise requires a total initial investment of $879K – $16.2M, excluding real estate, including a $25K – $500K franchise fee. Once open, the ongoing royalty is 6.0%. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 21.4% charge-off rate on 28 resolved loans. Verdict grade: B (Second tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice.

Sources: 2026 FDD · SBA 7(a) loan records (FOIA) · What one unit could make and lose →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low (issued within the last 12 months)

Evidence for the headline figures: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Bottom line

  • RETURNSThe FDD makes no financial performance representation in Item 19, so it discloses no revenue or earnings figures; Item 19 is voluntary, and the Financial performance section explains what that does and does not mean.
  • GROWTHIn the latest Item 20 year, the number of franchised outlets grew by 8 (9 opened, 1 closed).
  • FLAGBankruptcy history disclosed in the FDD. Review Item 4 for details before proceeding.

AT STAKEOne unit at the Item 7 midpoint: $810K a year in payments on assumed SBA 7(a)-style terms.You put in about $3.6M of your own cash and personally guarantee a $5.0M loan. Assumptions are labeled in Sales; not investment advice.See what one unit could make and lose

Things to check before you sign (3)

  • 2 pending matters name the franchisor in Item 3 (litigation). Pending claims are allegations, not findings.
  • SBA 7(a) charge-off 21.4% on 28 resolved loans approved FY1997 to FY2003, above the Automotive median of 14.2% (33 brands).
  • The franchisor keeps the right to compete inside your territory (Item 12, territory).

Checked and clear: no auditor doubt that the franchisor can keep operating, no net loss of franchised outlets in the latest Item 20 years, no supplier rebates to the franchisor and the full filing on file. Not on file here, so ask: jury-trial waiver and owner-operator rule.

What to do next

  1. Step 1: Read the FDD itself.

    Free: the franchisor must give it to you at least 14 days before you sign or pay. Or look it up in a state registry (Wisconsin, Minnesota, California). What to read first.

  2. Step 2: Talk to current and former owners.

    Free: Item 20 of the FDD lists every current owner and those who left last year, most with a phone number. Questions to ask.

  3. Step 3: Talk to an SBA lender.

    Free: the SBA's Lender Match, or the lenders already lending to this brand in the SBA section. Ask what you would personally guarantee and what the monthly payment would be. If you plan to use retirement savings, ask a CPA about the rules for that first.

  4. Step 4: Have a franchise attorney review the FDD and agreement.

    Free: your state bar's lawyer referral service can name franchise lawyers, and many offer a short first consultation. Bring the checks listed above.

Research steps, not investment or legal advice.

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost (the Item 7 midpoint) is 23× the Automotive median ($366K).

Total investment$879K – $16.2M
2026 FDD p.46, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 46, Item 7As Incurred Employees, Suppliers Total (excluding Real Estate & Improvements)14 $879,300 to $16,249,000 …Quoted from the franchisor's filing; the figure on this page is rounded. Table text, cells in reading order; column headings may sit outside the quoted lines.
Excludes real estate (p.46)
Franchise fee$25,000
Verified · 2026 FDD p.38, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 38, Item 5The minimum initial franchise fee that will be required for a new franchisee (a franchisee who is not an existing Thrifty franchisee) is $25,000. …Quoted from the franchisor's filing.
Royalty6.0%
2026 FDD p.39, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 39, Item 6LC Franchise Disclosure Document - 2026 UC_8847229.1 ITEM 6 OTHER FEES Type of Fee 1 Amount Due Date Remarks Franchise Fee 2 Ranges from 6% to …Quoted from the franchisor's filing. Table text, cells in reading order; column headings may sit outside the quoted lines.
Ad fund0.0%Source: 2026 FDD, page 53
Working capital$20K – $500K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7 (fees and startup costs)

Do you qualify? The filing states no minimum net worth or liquid capital. Ask Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, LLC (Item 1: 8501 Williams Road, Estero, Florida 33928) and your lender what they require, and keep living costs for the first year outside the deal.

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$25K$500K
Training Expenses$3K$3K
Passenger Cars$750K$15.0M
Courtesy Vehicles$55K$350K
Equipment and Supplies$5K$25K
Insurance$5K$45K
Professional Fees$3K$10K
Computer System, Hardware and Software$11.5K$250K
Optional Software$1.5K$15K
Business License$100$500
Miscellaneous Installation Fees$200$500
Additional Funds – 3 months$20K$50K
Total initial investment$879K$16.2M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. The total row is the total as printed in Item 7. Actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 6 · what you pay once you are open

Ongoing fees

Thrifty Rent-a-car: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology feesComputer System/Approved Counter System purchase cost $11,500-$250,000 (Item 7); annual update/upgrade costs estimated $0-$500/yearSee the list
Renewal fee$25,000
Total fee loadbelow the Automotive median of 7.5% (lean)6.0% of sales

What do units actually make?

This FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation - a voluntary item - so unit sales aren't disclosed.

Avg gross salesNot disclosed
Median gross salesNot disclosed
Item 19 typeNot disclosed
Sample sizeNot disclosed

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19 (sales and earnings)

Items 6 (other fees), 7 (startup costs) and 19 (sales and earnings) · assumptions labeled

What you could make and lose: one unit

What one Thrifty Rent-a-car unit would ask of you, from the filing's Item 7 total and labeled assumptions.

How these figures are worked out
  • Loan (assumption): 80% of the $8.6M Item 7 midpoint is a $5.0M loan, capped at the SBA 7(a) program's $5.0M limit, paid over 10 years at 10.5%: $810K a year. SBA 7(a)-style terms on a long-term rate; your lender sets yours. Thrifty Rent-a-car's past SBA 7(a) loans averaged 6.3% at approval; 7(a) rates move with the prime rate, so 10.5% is a current-rate assumption, not this brand's history.

What you put at risk

Your own cash in: about $3.6M Assumption (the part the loan does not cover of the $8.6M Item 7 midpoint), plus whatever anything Item 7 leaves out (its notes say what). The loan is $5.0M.

Personal guarantee. SBA 7(a) loans require a personal guarantee from anyone who owns 20% or more of the business. If the unit cannot pay, the lender can collect from you personally, which can include your savings and your home. The worst case is losing the cash you put in and still owing the rest of the loan.

Gross sales are not profit, and none of these figures is take-home pay until tax and every operating cost are paid. The assumptions are ours, not the filing's. Not investment advice.

Returns modelOne unit · several units · editable

Thrifty Rent-a-car makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. The return models need one gross sales figure to start from, plus the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions; nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · one unit

What would one Thrifty Rent-a-car unit leave you each year after the loan payment?

FDDFrom the filingNot set: this brand's filing does not supply it and we will not substitute one. Enter your ownYou overrode an FDD valueAssumed: our stated assumption, edit it
Gross sales · per unit, per year

Not disclosed in Item 19. Enter your own gross sales assumption

Gross sales, not profit: the costs below decide what is left.

Franchisor take · royalty + ad fund
Operating costs · you supply them

No Item 19 figures are on file for this brand. Enter your own costs from a lease quote, a payroll plan and calls with current owners.

Illustrative category typicals, not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to open

Item 7 midpoint of $879K to $16.2M

Item 7's $20K to $500K additional funds are already in the total

Financing · assumed SBA 7(a)-style loan

Left after the loan payment · per year

The unit's EBITDA minus the assumed loan payment. Before tax, depreciation and any cost your inputs leave out (insurance, accounting and legal, licenses, technology fees): not take-home pay.

Gross sales are not profit. Neither the filing nor a stated assumption on this page supplies annual revenue, direct costs, labor, rent / occupancy and other operating costs. Enter your own (a lease quote, owner calls) and the model runs on it.


Store EBITDA · annual
Needs the inputs above
EBITDA margin
Needs the inputs above
Total invested
$8.6M
Your cash in
$3.6M
Loan payment · assumed, capped at $5M
$810K/yr
Return on invested capital
Needs the inputs above
Payback
Needs the inputs above

Loan of $5.0M at 10.5% over 10 years, an assumption, not a quote. Return and payback are before tax, depreciation and the costs above. The loan usually needs your personal guarantee.

One unit only. An owner of several units also pays for shared services (managers, accounting, a head office), which the multi-unit model adds on top of these figures.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD · filed by Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, LLC

Financial performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who are you contracting with?

Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, LLC, owned by Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.

Item 1 (the franchisor) · who you're contracting with

The franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, LLC
Parent company
Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
The Hertz Corporation (via Hertz Global Holdings, Inc.)
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
Incorporated in
Oklahoma
HQ
8501 Williams Road, Estero, Florida 33928
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$9.4B
latest fiscal year in the 2026 FDD; $9.0B the year before

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

2 other brands on this site name The Hertz Corporation (via Hertz Global Holdings, Inc.) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

Thrifty is a vehicle rental franchise where franchisees operate rental counter/lot locations, managing customer reservations, vehicle maintenance, fleet acquisition, and daily rental operations. Franchisees typically employ staff to handle customer service, vehicle logistics, and administrative functions while paying 6-8% royalties on gross receipts to the parent company.

CEO
Gil West
Franchised outlets in
26 states and territories
Item 20 Table 3, at year end

Is the system healthy?

+15 franchised outlets between the first and last year-ends Item 20 prints (66 to 81, +22.7% in total, +10.8% a year compounded).

Franchised units81+221 company-owned (302 in all)
2026 FDD p.86, show the quoted text2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 86… Outlet Summary For Years 2023 to 2025 Outlet Type Year Outlets at the Start of the Year Outlets at the End of the Year Net Change Franchised 2023 67 66 -1 2024 66 73 7 2025 73 81 8 Company Owned 2023 198 205 7 2024 205 209 4 2025 209 221 12 Total Outlets 2023 265 271 6 2024 271 282 11 2025 282 302 …Quoted from the franchisor's filing. Table text, cells in reading order; column headings may sit outside the quoted lines.
Net change, latest year+8 (favorable)(+11.0%)
Turnover rate0.3%

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20 (outlets opened, closed and transferred)

Item 20 (outlet counts) · unit dynamics

The growth chart

Company-owned
221
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
27%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 rates and pipeline

Signed, not yet open
4
1 for every 76 open outlets · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast

Item 20 · franchised units at year end

Franchised units rose from 66 in 2023 to 81 in 2025

Axis does not start at zero.

Source and method
FDD Item 20, franchised outlets at each year end. Opened and closed are the latest year's counts.

Item 20 (outlet counts) Table 3 · franchised outlets at year end

Where current outlets are

Franchised outlets at year end by state, as the filing's Item 20 Table 3 counts them. Not a list of where the franchisor may sell new units.

Current outlets (count on the tile) · 22 states and Puerto RicoNo current outlet

81 franchised outlets at year end (Item 20 Table 3): 72 in 22 states, plus 6 in Puerto Rico and 1 in Guam and 1 in the Northern Mariana Islands and 1 in the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Government records

SBA loan data

Lenders charged off 21.4% of 28 resolved SBA 7(a) loans, above the 14.2% category median. 7(a) is the SBA's main small-business loan; a resolved loan was paid in full or charged off.

Loans on file
28
SBA 7(a) loans matched to this brand, incl. those still being repaid
Loan volume
$11.5M
Average loan
$409K
loan volume divided by loans
Charge-off rate
21.4%
6 of 28 resolved loans
Paid in full
78.6%
of resolved loans
Recent-loan charge-off
No recent loans
no SBA 7(a) loan approved since FY2011
Lenders
20
Average interest rate
6.3%
Jobs reported
277
on the 21 loans approved FY1999 on; earlier loans did not record jobs
Lender concentration
11%
top lender's share

Cumulative: every 7(a) loan matched to this brand in the SBA’s FOIA files, approved FY1991 onward. Historical lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Benchmark: the median Automotive brand charges off 14.2% (33 brands with a published rate, same cumulative window and source). This brand is 7.3 points above it.

The approval-year breakdown covers 14 of the 28 resolved loans and 3 of the 6 charge-offs (FY1997 to FY2003).

SBA 7(a) · charge-off rate by approval year

Thrifty Rent-a-car charge-off rate by loan approval year

None of these 4 approval years has 10 or more resolved loans, too few to draw a trend. Each year’s numbers are in the table below.

Show the numbers by year
YearResolvedCharged offRate
199740Too few
199931Too few
200032Too few
200340Too few
Source and method
SBA 7(a) FOIA loan records. Rate: charged-off loans over resolved loans (paid in full plus charged off) for loans approved that year; it moves as loans are resolved.
Loans on file
3
every non-cancelled 504 loan, incl. still being repaid
Loan volume
$907K
Charge-off rate
Not shown
too few resolved loans to judge (3 resolved; shown from 10)
Jobs reported
68

Cumulative: every 504 loan matched to this brand in the SBA’s FOIA files, approved FY1991 onward. Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Full SBA lending reportlenders · charge-off rate · trend

Lender network · SBA 7(a)

SBA Lending Report

Lender, state and yearly detail for Thrifty Rent-a-car from SBA 7(a) FOIA loan records.

Average SBA guarantee
73%
Average interest rate
6.3%
Lender concentration
11%
Jobs reported
277

Top 10 SBA lenders by loan count

LoansVolumeCharge-off
Wells Fargo Bank National Association
3$880KNot on file
ANZ Guam Inc
3$237KNot on file
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company
2$115KNot on file
The Huntington National Bank
2$300KNot on file
Bank of the Southwest
2$314KNot on file

A lender’s rate counts only its resolved loans, the loans that have finished (paid in full or charged off); a 0.0% often means few of its loans have finished. Under 10 resolved loans, the rate reads “Too few”.

Charge-off rate by state (top 10 by loans)

StateLoansCharged offRate
FL Florida30Too few3 resolved
GU 30Too few3 resolved
CA California20Too few2 resolved
CO Colorado21Too few2 resolved
CT Connecticut21Too few2 resolved
NM New Mexico20Too few2 resolved
PA Pennsylvania20Too few2 resolved
AK Alaska10Too few1 resolved
AZ Arizona11Too few1 resolved
IL Illinois11Too few1 resolved

Rate: charged-off loans over resolved loans (paid in full plus charged off), shown from 10 resolved loans. "Too few": under 10 resolved. The Loans column counts every approval in the window, including loans still being repaid.

SBA 7(a) loans approved per year

1992
1
1993
2
1997
4
1999
3
2000
3
2001
1
2002
2
2003
4
2004
2
2005
1
2006
2
2007
1
2009
1
2011
1

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA loan-level data, matched to the brand by FranchiseVerdict.

SBA 7(a) lending insight

A 21.4% charge-off rate means about 1 in 5 resolved SBA 7(a) loans to this brand was charged off. The approval-year chart above shows which years they came from.

What are the risks?

Main risk in the grade: transparency. The reasons are below.

SBA charge-off21.4% on 28 resolved loans approved FY1997 to FY2003
Litigation35 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Litigation case detail35 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Pending (2)

  • Dollar Rent A Car Incorporated and Thrifty Rent-A-Car System Incorporated v. Yunus Moolla, Imraan Moolla, The Trustees Of Safy Trust, and Springs Car Wholesalers (Pty) Ltd.

    pending

    Brought against a franchisee · filed 2022 · Court in South Africa (not named)

    “… Following the expiration of SAFY’s franchise agreement in December 2021 for the territories of South Africa, Botswana, Namibia and Mauritius, the franchisee continued operating both a franchise operation”Page 26 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, Inc. are now pursuing a separate damages claim, by way of action proceedings in court, against the SAFY parties. The parties attempted to mediate the damages claim without success and the action proceedings claiming damages remains active in court.”

  • Yunus Moolla, Imraan Moolla, SAFY Trust, Springs Car Wholesalers (Pty) Ltd and Hired by Black Woman v. Dollar Rent A Car Incorporated and Thrifty Rent-A-Car System Incorporated, Hertz International Ltd. and CFAO Mobility (Pty) Ltd.

    pending

    Brought against a franchisee · High Court of South Africa · 2023 - 098485, 2023/098485

    “… (Case No: 2023 – 098485, 2023/098485) in the High Court of South Africa.”Page 26 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “The parties jointly proposed an order to the court – the court issued an order by way of agreement to address return of Dollar Rent A Car Inc.’s and Thrifty Rent-A-Car System Inc.’s intellectual property.”

Concluded (4)

  • In Re: Franchise No Poaching Provisions, State of Washington

    concluded

    Government or regulatory action · filed 2019-11-08 · State of Washington (Attorney General; Order Approving Entry of Assurance of Discontinuance) · 19-2-29669-1 SEA

    “… (File No. 19-2-29669-1 SEA). On November 8, 2019 Thrifty Rent-a-Car System, LLC cooperated with the Attorney General of the State of Washington to submit an Order Approving an Entry of Assurance of Discontinuance in connection with the use of “No Poaching Provisions” in Franchise Agreements.”Page 36 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Liberty Representacoes e Servicos Ltda. V. Car Rental Systems do Brasil Locacao de Veiculos Ltda.

    settled

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2015-12-18 · Ninth Civil and Work Related Court of the District of Manaus/AM, Brazil · 0643614-93.2015.8.04.001

    “… (Ninth Civil and Work Related Court of the District of Manaus/AM, Brazil, Case No. 0643614-93.2015.8.04.001) On December 18, 2015, Plaintiff, the Thrifty licensee in Brazil, filed suit”Page 30 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “In November 2016, the case was settled with the reacquisition by the franchisor entities of the Thrifty licensee’s master franchise rights in Brazil for approximately 7 million Brazilian real (USD $2 million).”

  • Users and Consumers Union v. Express Rent a Car, et al.

    judgment

    National Court of First Instance in Commercial Matters Nr. 12, Buenos Aires, Argentina · File No. 92655/2011

    “… (File No. 92655/2011) The Plaintiff filed suit in the National Court of First Instance in Commercial Matters Nr. 12, Buenos Aires,”Page 35 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, Inc. was only found jointly liable with licensee for $857 USD in punitive damages subject to indemnification. The decision was appealed but in May 2021 the Court of Appeals upheld the decision and therefore finalized the judgment.” (page 36)

  • Yunus Moolla, Imraan Moolla, and Springs Car Wholesalers (Pty) Ltd v. Dollar Rent A Car Incorporated and Thrifty Rent-A-Car System Incorporated and CFAO Mobility (Pty) Ltd.

    dismissed

    Brought by a franchisee · High Court of South Africa · 2023-080290

    “… (Case No: 2023-080290) in the High Court of South Africa.”Page 26 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “In April 2024, the applicant (the SAFY parties) formally withdrew the remaining application and tendered legal costs (per court tariff). This application is now closed, and Dollar Rent A Car Inc. and Thrifty Rent-A-Car System Inc. are in the process of recovering legal costs (per court tariff) on taxation.”

Parent, affiliates, master franchisor and subfranchisor

Pending (5)

  • DRAC Systems Corporation v. Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group Canada Inc. and The Hertz Corporation

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · The Hertz Corporation, with Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group Canada Inc. · filed 2021 · Saskatchewan Provincial Court, Canada

    “… DRAC formerly held a license agreement entered into on March 11, 1998 for the Province of Saskatchewan for the Dollar and Thrifty brands.”Page 27 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “The matter is currently pending in the Saskatchewan Provincial Court in Canada and remains active.”

  • Wells Fargo Bank, National Association, as Indenture Trustee v. The Hertz Corporation, et al.

    pending

    The Hertz Corporation and certain subsidiaries · filed 2021-07-01 · U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware

    “… On July 1, 2021, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. (“Wells Fargo”), in its capacity as indenture trustee of a series of unsecured notes issued by the Company and maturing in 2022, 2024, 2026, and 2028 (collectively, the”Page 27 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “Hertz paid approximately $346 million, which was the amount that was not disputed by the parties, including the interest through the date of payment. There will be a hearing on Wells Fargo’s claim to some additional interest on April 9, 2026.”

  • Arquipélago Turismo S/A v. Car Rental Systems do Brasil Locação de Veículos Ltda.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · Car Rental Systems do Brasil Locação de Veículos Ltda. (a Hertz subsidiary; listed under the Parent Entities heading) · Brazil: first instance court; Sao Paulo Court of Appeals; Superior Court of Justice; Federal Supreme Court

    “… Following Hertz’s sale of its Brazilian business in 2017, Arquipelago, a former franchisee, filed suit against Car Rental seeking damages for the purported early termination of their franchise agreement.”Page 26 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “On July 31, 2025, the State Court of Appeals reaffirmed its prior ruling. Car Rental appealed back to the Superior Court in October of 2025.” (page 27)

  • Car Rental Systems do Brasil Locação de Veículos Ltda. and Hertz System, Inc. v. Pimentel & Pimenta Ltda.

    pending

    Brought against a franchisee · Car Rental Systems do Brasil Locação de Veículos Ltda. and Hertz System, Inc. (listed under 'Actions Brought by Thrifty or Parent') · 8th Civil Court of the Santo Amaro District, Sao Paulo

    “… Car Rental Systems brought an inhibitory action against Hertz’s former subfranchisee in Brazil post-termination for unlawfully continuing to use Hertz brands and trademarks in violation of the subfranchisee agreement.”Page 27 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “Following an appeal, the decision became final in January 2019. The matter is suspended while the prospect of a collection action remains pending. The situation remains unchanged. We are still awaiting the outcome of further asset searches aimed at identifying assets subject to attachment.” (page 28)

  • Localiza Car Rental Systems S.A. and Hertz System, Inc. v. Rovema Locadora de Veículos Ltda.

    pending

    Brought against a franchisee · Localiza Car Rental Systems S.A. and Hertz System, Inc. (listed under 'Actions Brought by Thrifty or Parent') · 4th Civil Court of the Santo Amaro District, Sao Paulo; Sao Paulo Court of Appeal

    “… Legal action was taken against a former Hertz subfranchisee in Brazil for the undue use of the HERTZ brand and name. The court granted an injunction to cease the use of the HERTZ brand and domain name and fixed a daily fine of R$ 5,000.”Page 28 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “The former subfranchisee appealed the decision on May 23, 2023 to the Sao Paulo Court of Appeal. This appeal was rejected on February 18, 2026 and we are waiting to see if the former sub- franchisee seeks a motion for clarification from the Sao Paulo Court of Appeal or appeals to the Superior Court of Justice. The matter remains active.”

Concluded (4)

  • People of the State of California acting by and through San Francisco City Attorney Dennis J. Herrera v. The Hertz Corporation, American Traffic Solutions, Inc., ATS Processing Services, L.L.C., American Traffic Solutions Consolidated, L.L.C., and PlatePass, L.L.C.

    settled

    Government or regulatory action · The Hertz Corporation (with American Traffic Solutions, Inc. and affiliates) · filed 2017-03-01 · Superior Court of the State of California, County of San Francisco · CGC-17-557336

    “… (Case No. CGC-17-557336) filed in the Superior Court of the State of California, County of San Francisco.”Page 30 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “The parties reached a formalized settlement during Q1 2019, with both Hertz and ATS agreeing to allocate fifty percent (50%) of the final settlement amount. Hertz’s allocated portion of the settlement payment to the City Attorney was $1,825,000.”

  • Jenhanco, Inc. v. The Hertz Corporation, et al.

    settled

    Brought by a franchisee · The Hertz Corporation (with Hertz Global Holdings, Inc., Dollar Rent A Car, Inc. and Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.) · filed 2015-04-23 · United States District Court of the Central District of California (removed from Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles, Case No. BC579568) · 2:15-cv-04191-ODW

    “… (Case No. 2:15-cv-04191-ODW) was brought in the United States District Court of the Central District of California. On April 23, 2015, Plaintiff, a Dollar licensee at the Salt Lake City airport, filed suit against Hertz Global Holdings, Inc. and The Hertz Corporation in the Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles (Case No. BC579568).”Page 31 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “Effective as of October 31, 2017, the parties resolved this dispute in a settlement involving the re-acquisition of the territory rights for the Dollar brand in Utah, the assignment of the agreements relating to the Salt Lake City Airport, and the acquisition of certain vehicles and other fixed assets, for an aggregate acquisition price of approximately $9,225,000.”

  • Federal Trade Commission. (File No. 8923190)

    concluded

    Government or regulatory action · Dollar (Dollar Rent A Car) · Federal Trade Commission · 8923190

    “… On December 18, 1991, Dollar signed an agreement which was filed with, and accepted by, the Federal Trade Commission on March 29, 1993. The agreement contains an Order to cease and desist certain acts and practices which occurred during 1989,”Page 36 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “The Order requires Dollar to disclose to customers the amount of all mandatory charges, not reasonably avoidable, in connection with any representation relating to the price of contemplated rentals.”

  • More Automotive Products, Inc. v. Dollar Rent A Car, Inc.

    dismissed

    Brought by a franchisee · Dollar Rent A Car, Inc. (listed under the Parent Entities heading) · Federal court in Puerto Rico; U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Florida; binding arbitration

    “… On February 22, 2024, Dollar terminated its franchise relationship with More Automotive, a franchisee operating in Puerto Rico, for various violations of the franchise agreement.”Page 27 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome: “The former franchisee filed separate lawsuits in federal court in Puerto Rico and the Middle District of Florida, which were both dismissed. The matter was then sent to binding arbitration. In October 2025, the plaintiff dismissed the arbitration.”

This list shows 15 of the 35 matters Item 3 discloses; the rest are in the filing.

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before your own operating costs.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (check the terms)
Initial trainingNot extracted

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12 (territory), 15 (owner participation) and 17 (renewal, termination and disputes)

Contract and territory detail

Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Franchisor can competeYes
Non-compete (years)1 year
Non-compete (miles)100 mi
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice180 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFlorida (state where franchisor headquarters is located)
Governing lawFlorida

Items 10 (financing), 11 (training and support)

Training and operations

On-the-job training
16 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee proposes, franchisor reviews/approves within 30 days
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Approved Counter System (6 approved suppliers)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 (initial fees) & 11 (training and support)

Franchisor support

Yes: Site selection assistance

Item 20 (outlet counts) · call current owners

Franchisee contacts

Who can you call before you sign?

13 current outlets listed

Each record has a phone number and state. No franchisee names or cities. 31 records: 13 current outlets + 18 former owners (terminated, transferred, not renewed or otherwise left). From the filing's Item 20 (the outlet list); the FDD itself is the free source. Our list covers 13 of the 81 franchised outlets Item 20 counts at year end; the owner exhibit prints the rest without a usable phone number, or omits them.

For your own due-diligence calls only. Not for telemarketing, marketing lists, or automated or prerecorded calls or texts.

The list is not offered for this brand yet. The FDD's Item 20 exhibit lists the owners.

Free preview
(614) 239-••••OH
31 contacts on file
(970) 549-••••CO
(314) 966-••••MO

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to open a Thrifty Rent-a-car franchise?

Per the 2026 FDD, the total investment to open a Thrifty Rent-a-car franchise ranges from $879K to $16.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $25K – $500K. This is the Item 7 total in the Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD): the startup costs the franchisor lists, such as build-out, equipment, inventory and working capital. The filing says these totals do not include real estate.

What do Thrifty Rent-a-car franchise owners earn?

Thrifty Rent-a-car makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Thrifty Rent-a-car?

Thrifty Rent-a-car is franchised by Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, LLC. Its parent company is Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is The Hertz Corporation (via Hertz Global Holdings, Inc.). Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Thrifty Rent-a-car FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. The Thrifty Rent-a-car FDD does not make an Item 19 financial performance representation, so this page shows no earnings figure.

What is Thrifty Rent-a-car's franchise failure rate?

There is no published franchise failure rate. What is measurable is Thrifty Rent-a-car's SBA charge-off rate: 21.4% on 28 resolved loans approved FY1997 to FY2003. Put plainly: 1 in 5 SBA 7(a) loans to Thrifty Rent-a-car owners charged off (6 of 28 resolved loans, approved FY1997 to FY2003). The SBA charge-off rate is the share of a brand's resolved SBA 7(a) loans to its franchisees that the SBA wrote off, including purchased guarantees. Resolved means paid in full or charged off; active loans are excluded because their outcome is not yet known. It is a lending outcome, not a count of closed businesses. A franchisee can repay and close, or default and keep trading.

How many Thrifty Rent-a-car franchise locations are there?

Per the 2026 FDD, Thrifty Rent-a-car has 81 franchised units and 221 company-owned (302 in all). In the latest year, the number of franchised outlets grew by 8 (9 opened, 1 closed).

Is Thrifty Rent-a-car a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict gives Thrifty Rent-a-car a B Verdict grade (Second tier) with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Helped by unit growth (+15 franchised outlets between the first and last year-ends Item 20 prints: 66 to 81, +22.7% in total, +10.8% a year compounded) and scale. Held back by transparency (Item 19 declines to disclose financial performance). The “Why a B” section on this page lists all six dimensions and any adjustment. Speak with current franchisees before making any investment decision.

Other Automotive franchises

Similar investment first, then by grade

This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.