Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns logo
FV-02258Data Quality·Standard71%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingGAFranchising since 1977CEOChristopher GuimbellotWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
BAbove average53/100

This is an economy-lodging franchise operating budget motels under several brands including Scottish Inns and Red Carpet Inn. Franchisees own and operate individual properties, running front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance at value price points.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns franchise requires a total initial investment of $134K – $531K, including a $8K – $15K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 16.7% charge-off rate across 70 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2024 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$134K – $531K
5th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
N/A
Units
203
53rd pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
16.7%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$134K – $531K
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$8K – $15K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$90K – $175K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
N/A
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
25.0% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
16.7%
Avg 5.7%
above avg ↑
System Size
203 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
4.4%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
8 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $134K – $531K including a $8K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 16.7% across 70 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -8.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Hospitality International, Inc.
Parent company
Red Carpet Inns International, Inc. and Southern Scottish Inns, Inc.
Ultimate parent
Southern Scottish Inns, Inc. (controlling interest holder of RCII)
Predecessor
Scottish Inns Franchise Corporation (name changed to Scottish Inns, Inc. in 1981, then Hospitality International, Inc. in 1982)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President, Chief Executive Officer, Chairman of the Board of Directors
Christopher Guimbellot
Incorporated in
Tennessee
HQ
1726 Montreal Circle, Suite 110, Tucker, Georgia 30084-6809
Auditor
Simons & Associates, CPA's
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.9M
vs $1.9M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Christopher Guimbellot
Headquarters
GA
Founded
1977
FDD year
2024
States available
29

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 97% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$134K – $531KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$7,500Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Working capital$90K – $175K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$8K$8K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$90K$175K
Equipment, build-out, other$37K$349K
Total initial investment$134K$531K

Source: Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$134K – $531K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$90K – $175K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$8K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$25 per room
Ad fund
$15 per room
Total fee load
25.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$25 per room per month royalty component of the $40/room fixed monthly fee
Transfer fee$3K
Total fee load25.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $134K–$531K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $90K–$175K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$465K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 119 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 25.0% — above the Lodging average of 10.4%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -8.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns Compares

Metric
Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$333K
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
203
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units203Verified — printed on page 36 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-8.6%
Turnover rate4.4%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
203
Opened
8
Last reporting year
Closed
8
Turnover rate
4.4%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-8.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-8.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
8
Closed (3yr)
1
Terminated (3yr)
8
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
4
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
20
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
3.8%
Units that stopped operating
2021
210
Franchised units
2022
204-6
Franchised units
2023
203-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 11 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 11 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

C
SBA Lending Health
Average SBA lending record · 16.7% charge-off
Total loans
70
Loan volume
$68.0M
Median loan
$972K
average
Charge-off rate
16.7%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
47
Defaults
7

Vintage analysis

Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 25 vintages from 1993 to 2025. Rates range from 0.0% to 100.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%75%80%85%90%95%100%'93'00'08'15'20'25

Top lenders financing Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns franchisees

Business Loan Center, LLC7 loans50.0%
Wallis Bank3 loans0.0%
Small Business Loan Source, LLC2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 47 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 17 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans here charge off near the 16.0% national average.

SBA charge-off16.7%
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation8 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

203-unit hotel system with 7 franchisor-initiated suits (2021-2023) for trademark infringement and past-due fees, plus a concluded 1981 SEC enforcement action against an affiliate that predates current ownership. No Item 19 disclosure and negative net growth of -8.6%. Litigation count is moderate relative to system size but the declining unit base and old regulatory history stack multiple concerns.

High confidence±5 pts
5363

Litigation (Item 3)

1 case reference(s): 0 pending, 1 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Simons & Associates, CPA's

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.9MYr 2: $1.9MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR7 franchisor-initiated suits (2021-2023) across 203 units
  2. 02MINOROld 1981 SEC enforcement action against affiliate (low weight, pre-dates ownership)
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure; net unit growth -8.6%

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 119 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 25.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training11 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeSpecific location
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Curable defaults3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawGeorgia
Litigation count8
View Item 3 litigation summary

1 case reference(s): 0 pending, 1 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
11 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee selects site; Franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Sabre SynXis Central Reservations System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Sabre SynXis Central Reservations System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

12 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 12 contacts · $49
Free preview
(317) 882-••••IN
Unlock all 12 contacts
(610) 264-••••PA
(609) 652-••••NJ
(904) 824-••••FL
(828) 926-••••NC

FDD download

Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns · FDD (2024) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns franchise?

The total investment to open a Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns franchise ranges from $134K – $531K, with an initial franchise fee of $8K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns franchise owners earn?

Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns has a charge-off rate of 16.7% across 70 loans, meaning 16.7% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns has 203 total units in the United States, including 203 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 8 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Scottish Inns, Red Carpet Inn, Master Hosts Inns, Passport Inn, Downtowner Inns, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.