Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
RODEWAY INN logo
FV-02173FDD 2026Data Quality·Standard76%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Rodeway Inn Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 1990CEOPatrick S. PaciousWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average53/100

Rodeway Inn is a Choice Hotels economy-lodging franchise of budget roadside properties. Franchisees own and operate individual hotels, running front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance on Choice's systems.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A RODEWAY INN franchise requires a total initial investment of $109K – $702K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 4.0% charge-off rate across 339 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2026 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$109K – $702K
3rd pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
432
63rd pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
4.0%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$109K – $702K
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $25K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
8.5% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
4.0%
Avg 5.7%
below avg ↓
System Size
432 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
11.6%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
98 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $109K – $702K including a $25K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports average occupancy rate, average daily rate and RevPAR rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 4.0% across 339 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • LEGAL98 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Predecessor
Quality Courts Motels, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Director, President and Chief Executive Officer
Patrick S. Pacious
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
915 Meeting Street, Suite 600, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5B
vs $1.6B prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Patrick S. Pacious
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1939
FDD year
2026
States available
48

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 96% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$109K – $702KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 44 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund5.0% + 3.5%
Working capital$10K – $25K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Affiliation Fee$25K
Property Improvements$42K$326K
Insurance$3K$88K
Advertising$3K$40K
Brand in a Boxnot refundable$12K$30K
Opening Inventory of Supplies$10K$67K
Permits, Licenses and Government Fees
Immersion and Hospitality Training Feesnot refundable$3K$5K
Mandatory On-Premise Signs$20K$100K
Interior Design Waiver Feenot refundable$0$20K
Revenue Management Setup and Training Feenot refundable$2K$2K
Working Capital Required Before Operations Begin$10K$25K
Additional Funds for 3-Month Initial Period$10K$25K
Total initial investment$139K$727K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$109K – $702K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

RODEWAY INN: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$400
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$15K
Inventory (initial)$9K $62K
Total fee load8.5% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeaverage occupancy rate, av…
Sample size388

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for RODEWAY INN is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one RODEWAY INN unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $109K–$702K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$423K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Item 19 type
average occupancy rate, average daily rate and RevPAR
Sample size
388
vs category median 98 · large
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank3th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank3th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank63th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank57th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.5% — below the Lodging average of 10.4%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports average occupancy rate, average daily rate and RevPAR rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System contracting at -14.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

Only 22% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Rodeway Inn Compares

Metric
Rodeway Inn
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$406K
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
432
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units432Verified — printed on page 79 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-14.1%
Turnover rate11.6%

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
432
Opened
35
Last reporting year
Closed
50
Terminated
6
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
2
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.6%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
22.2%
Net growth (3-yr)
-14.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-14.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
35
Closed (3yr)
42
Terminated (3yr)
6
Non-renewed (3yr)
2
Transfers (3yr)
15
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
22
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
3.5%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
4.4%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
15.3%
Units that stopped operating
2023
472
Franchised units
2024
447-25
Franchised units
2025
432-15
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 13 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 13 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 4.0% charge-off
Total loans
339
Loan volume
$520.7M
Median loan
$1.4M
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
4.0%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
96.0%
5-yr charge-off
3.3%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
103
Defaults
7
Typical loan rate
5.6%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
6.3%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
792
0.7 per loan
Lender concentration
10%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 50% went to startups / new businesses, 50% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in hotels (except casino hotels) and motels, franchised businesses charge off at 6.3% vs 9.2% for independents — franchising is associated with 32% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Rodeway Inn charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Rodeway Inn charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 4 vintages from 2014 to 2017. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'14'15'16'17

Top lenders financing Rodeway Inn franchisees

Columbia Bank7 loans0.0%
Bank of Hope5 loans0.0%
TD Bank, National Association4 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 103 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
12
Loan volume
$8.7M
Charge-off rate
0.0%
Jobs created
57

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Rodeway Inn's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 15 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 8-year lending trend
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 4.0% — 75% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off4.0%
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation98 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Ten litigation matters but they are franchisor-wide Choice Hotels parent disputes, not Rodeway-specific, and financials are parent-level (net worth $181.2M, revenue $1.6B, net income $370M). No bankruptcy or going-concern; audited with Item 19. Negative net growth -14.1% is a secondary concern; not penalizing parent scale.

High confidence±3 pts
5561

Litigation (Item 3)

Three pending cases: (1) Norma Knuth v. Radisson Hotels International, Inc. - Class action in Saskatchewan alleging wrongful collection of undisclosed destination marketing fees; class not yet certified; anticipated dismissal pending; (2) Jai Sai Baba, LLC, et al. v. Choice Hotels International, Inc. - Approximately 90 franchisees alleging discriminatory, anti-competitive practices and violations of RICO, Sherman Act, Civil Rights Act, and state franchise laws; case stayed pending individual arbitration as of March 19, 2021; (3) T&T Management, Inc. v. Choice Hotels International, Inc. and Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Inc. - Licensee alleging breach of license agreement, breach of implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and misappropriation of guest data under Defend Trade Secrets Act; filed June 26, 2023; motion to dismiss filed November 6, 2023.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1544.2MYr 2: $1584.8MTotal: $1596.8MNon-royalty: $72.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures are consolidated for Choice Hotels International, Inc. across all brands, not Rodeway Inn-specific

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR10 suits but parent-wide (Choice Hotels), not brand-specific
  2. 02MINORParent-level financials: net worth $181.2M, net income $370M
  3. 03MINORNegative net growth -14.1%; audited, Item 19

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training57 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds2
Curable defaults5
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMaryland
Litigation count98
View Item 3 litigation summary

Three pending cases: (1) Norma Knuth v. Radisson Hotels International, Inc. - Class action in Saskatchewan alleging wrongful collection of undisclosed destination marketing fees; class not yet certified; anticipated dismissal pending; (2) Jai Sai Baba, LLC, et al. v. Choice Hotels International, Inc. - Approximately 90 franchisees alleging discriminatory, anti-competitive practices and violations of RICO, Sherman Act, Civil Rights Act, and state franchise laws; case stayed pending individual arbitration as of March 19, 2021; (3) T&T Management, Inc. v. Choice Hotels International, Inc. and Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Inc. - Licensee alleging breach of license agreement, breach of implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and misappropriation of guest data under Defend Trade Secrets Act; filed June 26, 2023; motion to dismiss filed November 6, 2023.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
47 hrs
On-the-job training
10 hrs
Training location
North Bethesda, Maryland
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
0 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
choiceADVANTAGE
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: choiceADVANTAGE

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

69 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 69 contacts · $49
Free preview
(585) 599-••••NY
Unlock all 69 contacts
(662) 528-••••MS
(949) 829-••••CA
(479) 430-••••AR
(209) 524-••••CA

FDD download

RODEWAY INN · FDD (2026) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a RODEWAY INN franchise?

The total investment to open a RODEWAY INN franchise ranges from $109K – $702K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do RODEWAY INN franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for RODEWAY INN is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the RODEWAY INN FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the RODEWAY INN FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is RODEWAY INN's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, RODEWAY INN has a charge-off rate of 4.0% across 339 loans, meaning 4.0% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many RODEWAY INN franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, RODEWAY INN has 432 total units in the United States, including 432 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 35 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is RODEWAY INN a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates RODEWAY INN as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent RODEWAY INN, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.