Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Ramada logo
FV-02098FDD 2026Data Quality·Excellent86%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Ramada Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingNJFranchising since 1989CEOGeoff BallottiWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

CAverage44/100

Ramada by Wyndham is a midscale hotel franchise of full- and limited-service properties. Franchisees own and operate individual hotels, running guest services and maintenance on Wyndham's systems.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Ramada franchise requires a total initial investment of $238K – $5.3M, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 11.8% charge-off rate across 406 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2026 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$238K – $5.3M
12th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subsetProjection
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
247
56th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
11.8%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$238K – $5.3M
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$126K – $192K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
8.5% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
11.8%
Avg 5.7%
above avg ↑
System Size
247 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
8.9%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
11 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $238K – $5.3M including a $35K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports Average Daily Room Rate, Occupancy Rate and RevPAR for 100 "Qualified Chain Facilities" (of 247 total) for 2025, plus RevPAR Index vs. midscale chain scale and CRS/Wyndham Rewards contribution — not a gross sales/profit financial performance representation.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 44/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 11.8% across 406 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • LEGAL11 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Ramada Worldwide Inc.
Parent company
Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC
Ultimate parent
Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.
Predecessor
Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
22 Sylvan Way, Parsippany, New Jersey 07054
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.4B
vs $1.4B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • WSSI

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Geoff Ballotti
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
1989
FDD year
2026
States available
45

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 73% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$238K – $5.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 48 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 27 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty + ad fund5.0% + 3.5%
Working capital$126K – $192K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

published investment is a conversion of an existing property. The same filing prices new construction separately at $9,625,641-$14,635,175.

Full Item 7 breakdown19 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Fee (inclusive of Application Fee)not refundable$35K$35K
Photosnot refundable$3K$7K
Training Tuitionnot refundable$6K$7K
Training Expensesnot refundable$3K$6K
Market Studynot refundable$5K$15K
Real Estate and Site Preparation
Architecture, Design and Engineering, Phase I Environmental, Permits, Licenses, Utility Deposits and Related Feesnot refundable$329K$673K
Facility Constructionnot refundable$7.6M$11.4M
Construction Contingencynot refundable$382K$568K
Technology Systemsnot refundable$70K$72K
Property Management Set-Up and Installationnot refundable$6K$22K
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipmentnot refundable$593K$1.0M
Signagenot refundable$20K$80K
Opening Inventorynot refundable$280K$322K
Insurancenot refundable$18K$65K
Grand Opening Advertisingnot refundable$3K$15K
Pre-Opening Wagesnot refundable$83K$149K
Miscellaneous Non-Tangible Asset Costsnot refundable$19K$37K
Additional Funds for 3 Month Initial Periodnot refundable$126K$192K
Total initial investment$9.6M$14.6M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$238K – $5.3M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$126K – $192K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Ramada: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$13K
Transfer fee$35K
Renewal fee$35K
Inventory (initial)$280K $322K
Total fee load8.5% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeADR, Occupancy Rate, and R…
Sample size100

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Ramada is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Ramada unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $238K–$5.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $126K–$192K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$2.9M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 reports Average Daily Room Rate, Occupancy Rate and RevPAR for 100 "Qualified Chain Facilities" (of 247 total) for 2025, plus RevPAR Index vs. midscale chain scale and CRS/Wyndham Rewards contribution — not a gross sales/profit financial performance representation.

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Item 19 type
ADR, Occupancy Rate, and RevPAR
Sample size
100
vs category median 98
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank12th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank3th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank56th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank79th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 128 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.5% — below the Lodging average of 10.4%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports ADR, Occupancy Rate, and RevPAR rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System contracting at -11.5% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Ramada Compares

Metric
Ramada
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$2.8M
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
247
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units247Verified — printed on page 94 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-11.5%
Turnover rate8.9%

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
247
Opened
5
Last reporting year
Closed
22
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
8.9%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-11.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-11.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Closed (3yr)
22
Terminated (3yr)
5
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
7
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Termination rate
1.1%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
10.2%
Units that stopped operating
2023
279
Franchised units
2024
264-15
Franchised units
2025
247-17
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 45 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

45

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

C
SBA Lending Health
Average SBA lending record · 11.8% charge-off
Total loans
406
Loan volume
$646.1M
Median loan
$1.6M
average
Charge-off rate
11.8%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
88.2%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
129
Defaults
36
Typical loan rate
6.1%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
7%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Ramada charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Ramada charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 35 vintages from 1992 to 2026. Rates range from 0.0% to 50.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%'92'97'02'07'12'17'22'26

Top lenders financing Ramada franchisees

First Western SBLC, Inc29 loans0.0%
Business Loan Center, LLC29 loans30.4%
U.S. Bank, National Association17 loans31.2%

Showing 3 of 129 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
227
Loan volume
$270.0M
Charge-off rate
28.1%
Jobs created
4,139

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Ramada's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 20 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 11.8% — 26% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off11.8%
Verdict score44/100 (higher is better)
Litigation11 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage44Verdict score 44/100
High confidence±3 pts
6268

Litigation (Item 3)

11 case reference(s): 1 pending, 0 settled.

Largest disclosed settlement: $403

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1429.0MYr 2: $1408.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 44 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGH16 litigation matters (parent/system-wide hotel chain)
  2. 02MINORHistorical FTC data-security settlement noted
  3. 03MEDNo bankruptcy, no going-concern, audited, Item 19 disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 128 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training66 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Territory typeprotected
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)2 years
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds3
Curable defaults1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNew Jersey
Litigation count11
View Item 3 litigation summary

11 case reference(s): 1 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
36 hrs
On-the-job training
30 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
SynXis or OPERA
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: SynXis or OPERA

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

234 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 234 contacts · $49
Free preview
868621••••
Unlock all 234 contacts
(305) 496-••••
(337) 367-••••
(615) 504-••••
(704) 506-••••

FDD download

Ramada · FDD (2026) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Ramada franchise?

The total investment to open a Ramada franchise ranges from $238K – $5.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Ramada franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Ramada is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Ramada FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Ramada FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Ramada's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Ramada has a charge-off rate of 11.8% across 406 loans, meaning 11.8% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Ramada franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Ramada has 247 total units in the United States, including 247 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Ramada a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Ramada as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 44 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Ramada, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.